We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic little haven to escape the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Happy Village & Camping
Ranked #703 of 1,089 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic little haven to escape the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week at The Happy Village and can't speak highly enough of it. Situated in a lovely bit of countryside, we booked a transfer for ease via suntransfers.com at £40.

We rented a bungalow/chalet for two adults and one child, we had a double room, bathroom and bedroom that would sleep three. It was basic but clean and comfortable giving us a great base to explore rome from whilst providing the option to relax away from the city's hustle bustle at the lovely pool and restaurant. Next time I think we'd opt for the more expensive option simply to have access to a kitchen and lounge area.

If you go expecting a 4* spa you'll return disappointed. Let's be honest, this is basic accommodation but they do it so well.

Cannot speak highly enough of the staff, very friendly and happy to do anything to make your stay a good one. The mini bus to the local train station to Rome is a great touch and runs until around 10pm, it was never late and reception will provide you with a timetable on arrival for all your transport needs.

Food at the restaurant is decent, basic Italian stuff and fairly priced with good service. You might need some entertainment for any young children as there is only so far table tennis goes! The pool is lovely and clean, never too busy and a day on the sun lounger shaded by a parasol is a great reward after traipsing around Rome.

Thanks to everyone at The Happy Village for making our week as good as it was, we'd certainly return to stay once again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank maccadrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    59
    46
    31
    43
See reviews for
68
84
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We booked a chalet for two and requested a small bed for our three yr old daughter. We were given a double bed which the three of s would share. The general cleanliness of the chalet was fine however it was never serviced during the four days we were there meaning we bought our own toilet roll etc. also the duvet never had a sheet with it which isn't the best either. The facilities were quite good with the pool being the highlight although it also was unclean throughout the day and the lifeguard did very little apart from remind people to wear their swimming caps.

Although this is a camping village you would expect the service to be a lot better as the restaurant is also a public restaurant. We travelled from riccione in the east and found the cleanliness and service there far superior than that in the Rome region. I would imagine that the facilities would be OK for a camping holiday but nothing more.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPjan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Galway
Level Contributor
216 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We chose this site because it was nearer to Rome where we wanted to visit. The site itself was lovely with pristine facilities. We were situated on the same level as the restaurant and bar which was unfortunate. There was a birthday party on for some young child which was terribly loud and went on very late. The noise was deafening and the poor gentleman who was doing the entertaining hadn't a note in his head bless him. I wouldn't mind the music was lovely but the piano was out of tune and he was too. If you plan on staying here take a pitch on the lower level outside the entrance if you can, they are bigger and away from the noise of the bar. They ran a minibus for free into the Metro which was nice.

Room Tip: Stay away from the bar area it's too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M-P7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

My friend booked this place through expedia and because of some issues with his card the reservation was cancelled. Although the lady saw that on the computer she wouldn't honor our reserved rate and because we arrived on the last shuttle we had to stay there for a night that was not worth the price. The wifi is 4 euros for 2 hours and it may or may not work regardless if your in the wifi area or not! Restaurant does not allow you to bring any outside drinks or food! Last shuttle is at 9:30 so you have to be back from the city relatively early!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Red_Rose91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The site was miles away from the train station with a shuttle bus running at 8.30am, 10.30am then 5.30pm, 7.30pm & 9.30pm if you don't make them you are stuck. Local bus ends at 7pm. The staff were very unhelpful. The website claims to sell tickets for travel and visits but they don't. The superior bungalow was filthy, not equipped properly, the lights didn't work. The swimming pool was filthy, the shop had nothing. My children hated the place. Would never go there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JMJ-OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

When arriving it became apparent the cheap price was because i has booked a 'basic' room! which was basic- perfect for a group of mates who literally needed somewhere to kip!

after upgrading to one of the lovely bungalow caravans you'll see on the picture this place was amazing!!

there is a beautiful restraraunt on site- gorgeous food & staff! we were fortunate enough for a full italian night with a band and dancing as is was off-peak season!

the staff were amazing- especially gabrielle, the main waitress and the owner- could not have been more welcoming and treated us like loyalty!!

the free shuffle bus is alwaaays on time to an from Prima Porta train station where you easily catch the train straight into Rome centre!

the bungalow was warm- clean- modern- amazing shower- big mirror- tv(italian)- plug sockets etc etc. really nice!

i would recommend this place to another couple if they didnt mind the 40 min journey into Rome- which really didnt bother us!! :-) xxx

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JessicaBxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to try save some money and for what we paid it was alright.
Positives - the free shuttle bus was always leaving on time and was at the train station early so we didn't had to wait in the dark in a dodgy looking town.
The restraunt bar has good and cheap food. Especially the pizza massive for like 7 euro.
Friendly staff aswell

Negatives. Paid 4 euro for wifi that last two hours. Which is ridiculous to start with but in the end it didn't work at all. At least they refunded our money
Our bungalow seemed clean enough however it also seemed really damp. All our stuff was Damp by the time we left.
Also it takes a good 35-40 minutes to get to Rome termini which I didn't mind but if we don't like the travel I wouldn't stay here. Oh and remember that the train you get to the shuttle bus it only stops if u press a button

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Jonico
#624 of 1,290 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Monteverde
Ponte Bianco
Ponte Bianco
#1,069 of 1,290 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Aurora Garden Hotel
#892 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scheppers Hotel
#1,040 of 1,290 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Camping Tiber
#112 of 1,089 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Camping Village Roma
#46 of 1,089 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Village & Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Village & Camping

Property: Happy Village & Camping
Address: Via del Prato della Corte 1915, 00123 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #703 of 1,089 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Village & Camping 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Shuttle Bus from Happy Camping to the nearby Metro station of Prima Porta, which allows to reach the old city center (Piazzale Flaminio) in just 18 minutes. Completely new bungalow with or without bathroom with or without kitchen. All with small private garden. Swimming pool for adults with fully equipped solarium + supervised swimming pool for children (open from May to September). Bar with porch and T.V. room, market, pizzeria and panoramic restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Happy Village & Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Village And Camping
Happy Village & Camping Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing