We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good quality/price ratio”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Marco
Ranked #451 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Lisbon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good quality/price ratio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Well located, near train/subway stations, comfortable, spacious rooms, mini bar, friendly staff

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    201
    88
    37
    33
See reviews for
102
213
33
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We found Hotel San Marco to be a great, value hotel. The staff was informative and accomodating. The location was extremely convenient and we were able to walk to virtually all of the sights in Rome. This small hotel was exactly what I expected based on their website, online reviews and room rates. I would definately recommend and stay again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingWithTots999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Pros:
- location - in the city centre, only few steps from Castro Pretorio metro station;
- free Wi-Fi.

Cons:
- very small room with small windows. We were unlucky to have a patio view room. The patio is like a well and there is a feeling that no daylight comes inside the room.
- limited breakfast (not enough before a busy day in Rome, I stayed hungry after eating it).

All in all - nothing special but it could be an option if you have a good rate here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyagywonok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
u.k
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Some reviews claim you get what you pay for well beware because with this hotel that's not always the case. We paid to stay here and, like a few previous reviews, on arrival we were told to move to a different hotel. After an initial greeting we were ignored for some time by several hotel staff before we were given a map and told to go back the way we had just come from. No explanation was given and before we could protest further our bags were taken from us and we were escorted to the other hotel.
The hotel had been paid beforehand by the tour operator for our room. As it now seems this is not a one off there is no reason to think they are not selling rooms twice on a regular basis and making a good profit from dumping guests with cheaper properties.
The hotel we were given instead was also feautured by the company we booked this through but we decided to pay a bit extra for the San Marco. Had we have known we were going to end up in a cheaper property I would have at least like to have chosen it and benefited from saving the money! To make matters worse we had to pay an extra tax when we checked out of the cheaper hotel making it even more expensive than it should have been.
While I never saw past the reception area I would not recommend the San Marco to anyone. They seem to have no regards for their clients if they see an opportunity to make more money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank tink01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Bare bones, but you get what you pay for in Rome. This is a fantastic location, just off the spanish steps and the room was clean and the room was a decent size. Everything in the room was funtional and they had a nice terrace to sit outside and drink wine. No thrills but a very safe bet if you are saving money but dont want to sacrifice cleanliness or location.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiandAaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Before booking our hotel in Rome we spent hours on the internet going through all the hotel on various websites and in the end booked Hotel San Marco due to its location (which is less than a 5 minute walk from the train station) and the price. We weren't particularly expecting much from the hotel with the price of it compaired to many of the others in Rome but when we arrived we were plesently surprised. Our room was clean and very spacious with a seating area to watch tv, a dressing area and a resonably big bathroom. Although the hotel was in the middle of a big city once inside the room it was reasonably quiet and a massive bonus of this hotel was that each room has an individual air conditioning unit which can be controlled by the occupants rather than by the hotel.

The location of San Marco can't be faulted, there are several small restaurants on the streets around the hotel so we never walked more than 10 minutes when going out for our evening meals and all of the food we had was very nice. If you don't mind walking most of the bigger tourist attractions can be walked to or both of the metro lines pass through the railway station so everything is easily accessible.

There are a few downsides to the hotel though, the carpet in the main stairway was exceptionally dirty. Luckily we went up to our room for the first time in the lift, otherwse i think this would have completely put me off staying there, so i would advise everyone to always use the lift! The breakfast isn't great, it only really comprises of cereal, bread, jams, cheese, ham and scrambbled egg. Some fresh fruit or yougurts which might have been nice. There is only 1 mirror in each room, located in the bathroom which isn't great if one of you wants to be getting ready to go out whilst another one of you is in the shower. One other slight problem we had is that you only get supplied with 1 pillow each rather than the usual 2, so we didn't find the bed particularly comfortable. Our towels weren't changed the whole time we were there. One of them had a dirty mark on it which i dont think was from us and although i kept leaving the towel outside the bathroom door or in the bath it was never changed for a clean one!

As i said at the start of my review we risked booking a cheaper hotel because we knew that with to much to see in Rome we wouldn't be in our room for much of the time and overall i think the risk payed off. There were several things about the hotel which could have been improved on but our actual room was good enough for what we needed. I think if i went to Rome again i probably would stay in Hotel San Marco as we definately thought it was reasonable for the price.

Just as a slight aside about Rome, it can be very expensive when you buy things like bottles of water and ice-creams so we found that it was always worth going slightly off the beaten track to find the reasonably priced supermarkets. As an example we payed 2.5 euros for a standard small bottle of water near the colluseum and 8 euros for a standard ice cream cone near the spanish steps whereas from a supermarket we managed to get a bottle of water for 50 cents. Also if you're planning on going to the vatican museum its well worth prebooking your tickets on the vatican website. When we arrived there just after 9am the entry que was huge but because we'd booked our tickets we walked straight in!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BoothEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

We booked online with this hotel based on the information they provide on their website.
When we checked in, a non English speaking lady escorted us to our room which turned out to be kn the 5th floor of an apartment block around the corner from the hotel on a different street! They told us to return to the San Marco hotel for the breakfast but we sleep in the apartment building. When I questioned them on this, they said quite rudely that it's VERY clear on the website and I would have been aware I was booking in the separate building. I was not aware and it was only printed in the tiny fine print.
Wi fi only worked at the bar area at San marco.
NO HOT WATER FOR OVER 24 HOURS!
So the hot water in our room when off twice, once for more than a whole day! The 1st time it was quickly fixed as someone in a different room complained, 2nd time we realized it was gone again, picked up the phone to call reception at san Marco round the corner - PHONE didn't work! Walk round to San Marco to complain, NO hot water again, they rudely raised their voices at us (the 2 clowns on the desk) and said it would be fixed later, they did not seem at all concerned and wanted us to go away. Finally later that day water was fixed so we could wash, my husband had 1 cold shower while there. Breakfast was pretty good. Staff have terrible attitudes (you're just a tourist not a welcomed guest) room very basic, AC worked etc.. Good location for the sights, one metro stop from train terminal and 3 stops from colosseum and the forum.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GemandNath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Andreotti
Hotel Andreotti
#259 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Adriatic Hotel
Adriatic Hotel
#494 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Esquilino
Astoria Garden
Astoria Garden
#375 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#875 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Corot
Hotel Corot
#589 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#373 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marco

Property: Hotel San Marco
Address: Via Villafranca 1, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#309 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marco Hotel
San Marco Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing