We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Overnight Stay”
Review of Hotel San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Marco
Ranked #465 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Overnight Stay”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This hotel is situated in a good position close to the city and walking distance to the railway station. The room was only small but clean with a shuttered window opening out to a lovely view. There were lots of places close by to eat and the area was clean and friendly. No clock or hair conditioner in the room though but I would definately stay there again. We LOVED Rome.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    209
    93
    38
    35
See reviews for
105
219
37
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santos, SP
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The hotel is very close to Castro Pretorio Station e not so far from Termini, what is a good point.

The breakfast isn't bad, but without fruits or an apparatus to warm cheese in the bread. They can improve the breakfast with low investments.

The room is old but very clean. There are several options in the cable TV.

The staff is not friendly specially at the front desk.

The elevator is for only two people. I was in the 6th floor and was always scared using it.

If you will stay one or two nights in Rome it can be a huge option, but if you are looking for comfort avoid the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thirdstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We just had to walk to reach the hotel from Roma termini, indeed close-by . Hotel is nice and quaint however my initial experience with the hotel receptionist was quite shocking !. The lady could barely handle pressure of handling 3 client who are peacefully standing in a queue to collect their room keys.they had serious issues with room check-in process , they would not let guest enter their rooms until 2 pm even if the earlier guest had vacated before 10 am. Was a bit peeved by their service at that moment .
The rooms were standard , ok decor,clean sheets .bathrooms were clean.
There are many dining options close-by . access to Roma tourist locations was very convenient through metro line 5 mins away from Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dolly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Good location, could walk to most attractions, front desk staff were very helpful although we had to get over a bit of a language barrier as we only speak english and some staff only had broken english if any. Having said this we specified english speaking hotels when booking the trip. Our room was over a restaurant who cleaned up their bottles at 2am every morning, so a wee bit noisy. Our room was good - tv, small fridge, free wifi - bed was very hard. Breakfast was delicious a fantastic choice of cereal, cold meats and cheeses, cooked eggs, bacon, fruit juices etc - very yummy. The lift was tiny, so be prepared to go up one at a time with your luggage, we managed to fit two in at a time (with our luggage) but it wasn't easy :) also no tea & coffee making facilities in the room (but this may just be standard in Europe)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Rome was our last destination in the Europe tour ( France - Switzerland - Italy). We had three rooms booked months in advance at San Marco. However, on arrival, we were told there was NO third room available! We had to literally argue our way through to get the required no of rooms. upon check in we realized that the bathroom of one of the room was stinking badly and the basin was out of water. We were in a generally nice mood and would not have cribbed but the front office manager was really rude. He made it look like it was our fault...almost! He refused to act on the situation and after a lot of argument agreed to even come up and inspect the room. After this initial issue, we thought the rest of the stay would be smooth, but the AC in two rooms was not working! there was a control panel in the room but the AC vent was empty...Again the manager said that NO hotels in entire Rome had AC...it was unbelievable as the third room AC was working just fine! The staff at the Bar was also equally rude. We needed some hot water. But they told us we can give you hot water but not the kettle/ any vessel to carry it in. They simple did not understand hospitality or even the fact that we were actually paying for our stay and not staying there free of cost.

The breakfast was more than pathetic. Most of the bread was not even fresh. The three days we stayed there, we did not have breakfast even though we were booked on Bed & Breakfast basis.

If the keep the staff behavior aside, the hotel is quite nice...value for money.
Rooms are spacious enough. Metro station is near by and many eateries at a walking distance.

But I am sure Rome out of all the places has hundreds of better options for hotel that offer the above plus hospitable staff.
Considering we dropped a coin at the Trevi fountain ...! and will definitely return to Rome, we are certain that we will not stay at San Marco again and wouldn't advise anyone else to.

Room Tip: Don't Stay here...Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nsgMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

After flying all the way from Australia via Dubai,we arrived late afternoon in Rome to discover that the room we had payed for a MONTH ($856.00 A Dollars) before and which had been confirmed was not available..HUH!..They then panned us off to another hotel the Milani which after travelling around the world I would rate as the biggest dump ever.My wife was in tears and the stress was unbelievable...We did not stay at the Milani and were lucky to find an apartment courtesy of a local restaurant owner ....@ 70 Euros /Night...San Marco ..your incompetence and off handed attitude was breathtaking and I will spread the word

Room Tip: Do not book hotels through a travel agent as they cannot guarantee that you will get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casino
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Can't really comment on the physical qualities of the San Marco, as when we arrived, a young lady at reception with poor English, managed to get the message through that they had no room for us, [despite a booking made months prior], and we were shunted off to another Hotel -- as has happened to others.
Just before borading the cab, the receptionist expressed, what appeared to be, thanks for not puting on more of a performance, which suggests that she has had to deal with this type of rubbish on a regular basis.

While the replacement Hotel,[the Portamaggiore] was OK, with a quite pleasant "roof top" bar, it was in a much less convenient location, and made our prior plans, as to navigating around Rome obsolete, as well as, seeing Rome was our last stop neccessitating a re organisation of our transfers to the airport
So, if you want to have somw certanty about having a room when you arrive in Rome, avoid the San Marco

Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank snub3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Piemonte Hotel
Piemonte Hotel
#363 of 1,261 in Rome
797 reviews
Esquilino
Windrose Hotel
Windrose Hotel
#331 of 1,261 in Rome
616 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Corot
Hotel Corot
#590 of 1,261 in Rome
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#968 of 1,261 in Rome
910 reviews
Esquilino
Milani Hotel
Milani Hotel
#551 of 1,261 in Rome
725 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Galles
Hotel Galles
#740 of 1,261 in Rome
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marco

Property: Hotel San Marco
Address: Via Villafranca 1, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#309 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marco Hotel
San Marco Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing