We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Marco
Ranked #442 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed here as a couple in October 2012, and were suprised by the size of the room, and how light and airy it was. The bathroom was also a good size, however lacked a bath which would be useful after a long days walking, and there was certainly room. The double bed was two singles, but made up using a double sheet which meant they didnt fall apart into two.

Its in a good location- 5 mns walk from termini, from which you can get the train from the airport for 14 euro.

We booked this hotel via jet2 as a package but it worked out cheaper than many of the other surrounding hotels, and having stayed at the Hotel Luce nearby i can say this one was far superior.

Breakfast- at 8am breakfast was good- abundance of sweet pastries, bread, croissants, three types of cereal, meats and cheese, as well as a hot plate with hot dogs,bacon and egg in. However at 7am (when we were told it opened) we found there was NOTHING left, therefore felt this was a let down, as not sure why other guests were allowed in earlier. I assume they only replenish on the hour or so. Coffee was good! orange 'juice' vile- some sort of concentrate.

The room- light and airy with shuttered windows and double glazing that kept the noise out. The TV-one CNNn channel which ceased to work and wasnt really fixed which we were annoyed about. Also the WiFi doesnt work. The minibar or fridge wasnt cold. That said as a base when in Rome it was adequate although a kettle might have been nice. The shower was very good with no shortage of hot water.

Staff- rude! no hello how are you or anything, and she walked off mid sentance as we checked out, breakfast staff also snappy. Also passports are held for duration of stay just behind desk in plain sight- which wasnt always manned when they went off to sort something out, which we felt wasnt too secure.

Lift is tiny and being claustrophobic i didnt use it, and didnt seem to ever be available, taken up by people going to the first floor,

The city tax was payable when we arrived which we were never informed of.

We would stay here again simply for the location and knowing it was a decent bed to come back to.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillies83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    206
    92
    38
    34
See reviews for
105
217
34
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Stayed for four days on a short break. The hotel has seen better days but it's central location, five minutes from Termini, and the excellent staff make it well worth a visit. Yes the lift is tiny and slow, the shower had a mind of it's own but breakfast was adequate and the staff could not have been more helpful. In particular Anastasia in reception. Free wifi is a real plus. We had a great time, notwithstanding the 24 hour public transport strike and saw all the sites we wanted to visit

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Delap044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Great hotel in a good location near the Termini station and could get the tour bus there leaving every 20 minutes. We found the staff very friendly and always answered our queries their English was brilliant which helped us as our Italian is not great !! Breakfast was very good lots of choice and always hot. Would definitely recommend for a cheap central location. Rooms were modern and bathroom was new clean towels each day and a fridge in the room. Hairdryer not great though! Lots of choice to eat or have a drink near the hotel. Weather was great as well !

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We arrived very late at night but registering at reception was straight forward and helpful. Rooms are basic with welcoming air conditioning and everything is clean with the beds being comfortable. We stayed 3 nights while in Rome then returned for 2 nights after our cruise. We slept peacfully at night with no disturbances. The breakfast included gave plenty of choice.

The people on reception were very helpful and understanding. Nothing was a trouble. We always went to the bar area late in the afternoon for drinks and chatted with the girls on reception. They printed off information for us and also our airline online confirmations. I went to the reception one day to find about twenty people checking in and returned in 30 minutes to find they had all been dealt with and my query could be done.

The Hotel is convienently located to Termini Station and there are plenty of restaurants close by.

Room Tip: If a couple advise you wish a double otherwise the beds ar made up as singles
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This hotel is situated in a good position close to the city and walking distance to the railway station. The room was only small but clean with a shuttered window opening out to a lovely view. There were lots of places close by to eat and the area was clean and friendly. No clock or hair conditioner in the room though but I would definately stay there again. We LOVED Rome.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santos, SP
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The hotel is very close to Castro Pretorio Station e not so far from Termini, what is a good point.

The breakfast isn't bad, but without fruits or an apparatus to warm cheese in the bread. They can improve the breakfast with low investments.

The room is old but very clean. There are several options in the cable TV.

The staff is not friendly specially at the front desk.

The elevator is for only two people. I was in the 6th floor and was always scared using it.

If you will stay one or two nights in Rome it can be a huge option, but if you are looking for comfort avoid the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thirdstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We just had to walk to reach the hotel from Roma termini, indeed close-by . Hotel is nice and quaint however my initial experience with the hotel receptionist was quite shocking !. The lady could barely handle pressure of handling 3 client who are peacefully standing in a queue to collect their room keys.they had serious issues with room check-in process , they would not let guest enter their rooms until 2 pm even if the earlier guest had vacated before 10 am. Was a bit peeved by their service at that moment .
The rooms were standard , ok decor,clean sheets .bathrooms were clean.
There are many dining options close-by . access to Roma tourist locations was very convenient through metro line 5 mins away from Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dolly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#935 of 1,257 in Rome
884 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Corot
Hotel Corot
#586 of 1,257 in Rome
402 reviews
Esquilino
Windrose Hotel
Windrose Hotel
#342 of 1,257 in Rome
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Galles
Hotel Galles
#704 of 1,257 in Rome
427 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Andreotti
Hotel Andreotti
#274 of 1,257 in Rome
920 reviews
Esquilino
Milani Hotel
Milani Hotel
#451 of 1,257 in Rome
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marco

Property: Hotel San Marco
Address: Via Villafranca 1, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#309 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marco Hotel
San Marco Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing