We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant stay and great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma
Ranked #300 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay and great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at the Milton Roma for four nights from the 14th of September this year, we booked this through Last Minute.com as a mystery Hotel, I couldn't actually believe it when we received the email confirmation which revealed the hotel as I had stayed here for business a couple of years previously, I assured my partner it was a clean & comfortable hotel, with a great location right across the road from a tube stop, and a good breakfast, it is also possible to walk to the Colloseum from here,

Unfortunately on check-in my partner was not as impressed as me and did not think it was worth its 4 star status (referring to it more as a Business style Hotel, which it is but also caters for holiday makers as well), I disagree with him, yes the rooms are quite small but we had a double bed (I had emailed the Hotel in advance to make sure this was possible) and an average sized but very clean bathroom,

The room was a little dark though (even on a sunny day) as there were tree's outside which pretty much covered our windows, also due to the nature of the windows (they are above head height) and being on the second floor I couldn't see where we were but we were definitely on the roadside of the busy cross-roads that the Hotel is situated on as we could hear a lot of traffic noise in the evenings/night time and from quite early in the morning (not much chance of a sleep in!) this wasn't too bad but I must admit after 4 nights I had kind of had enough of the noise,

The maids came in everyday to make the beds and replace the towels, great service, one thing we really, really did miss was no facilities to make a hot drink in the morning, maybe this is a British thing but it is a comfort when we first wake to be able to have a cup of tea, I missed that a lot!!! I am not sure if better rooms have this facility or not?

I also need to mention the shower, there seemed to be something very wrong with the tempreture, one minute it would go cool, the next scolding hot which didn't make for a relaxing experience!!! I would have complained but it was only four nights, any longer and we would have asked to move rooms,

I particulary rate the buffet style breakfast at the Milton, there is plenty of choice including some hot items and it is constantly replenished by the pleasant dining room staff, I wouldn't say it was of a very high standard/quality, but its a good start to the day, when the drinks machine stopped working, I only had to ask once and they looked at it right away :-) my partner struggled to make himself a boiled egg (that is what the raw eggs are for on the table) as the machine you sit them in never seemed to have enough water in it, so even after leaving your egg for 10-12 mins it was still quite raw, shame...

The only slight downside to the Hotel is the surrounding area, there is nothing wrong with it at all, but its a shame there isn't many other places to eat, there was only one night when due to the rain we wanted to stay close to the Hotel and there was no choice really within walking distance other than one place where we didn't particulary have a very good meal :-( there are a few cafe bars/take-away places but not many with sit in dining, which I feel would be greatly received/utilised in there was,

All the staff are very friendly at the Milton though and I would definitely stay again due to its location and price :-) we love Rome so we will be back!

Room Tip: If possible I would ask if you are able to have a room that is not on the main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    642
    273
    96
    44
See reviews for
224
651
112
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

we had a room on the street with a nice view. the location was good and the price was very reasonable. the staff went above and beyond to help us with restaurants, and transportation. i would defintely stay there again.

Room Tip: we had a room on the street with a nice view. the location was good and the price was very reasonab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1robert63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

My husband and myself have just returned on Friday 20th September, it was not our first stay in
Rome, this hotel made our trip that much more enjoyable. Anything we asked for it was never any
problem. Antonio is a very pleasant member of staff, we had most dealings with him. That said
everyone else was pleasant. The hotel is spotless and location great. Would definitely return if
we return. We had an early start one morning and a lovely on the go breakfast was left for us. We
give out a thumbs up!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernie539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMilton, Direttore at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest....our Receptionist Antonio, all the Staff and I, we all thank you for this wonderfull Comment and really hope to see you again at Milton Roma in the future! Warm regards....Chiara Mencarelli (hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is a four-star hotel that feels at times like a 3-star one
on paper it has everything a better hotel may have, but on the ground some things feel quite cheap, especially for the quite high price one pays for them (although not bad in this aspect relative to other places in central Rome).
The room is not small, but not big. it is clean, and has good amenities - on paper.
in reality the TV has 5 or so channels, all in Italian only (i.e., no TV - not good), and perhaps the biggest problem is the shower. The bathroom is spacious - except, for the shower itself which takes up too little of the room and is a little too small. It is nice looking, with bidet and everything, but the water, oh the water. The handle allows you to set something like an "average" temperature - but this varies much and often, so you can get scolding hot water one second, and quite cold ones the next, without apparent reason or order, and for long stretches of time
The room is very clean, the staff helpful, the breakfast is a buffet thing but again feels cheap - what's the use of 6 types of bread if ALL of them are stale? the use of raw eggs I am yet to fathom etc.
Locality - they say 500m to the Colosseum on the net, which becomes 650m when you arrive, not a bad estimate (I would have guessed 750-1000 and may be wrong). Conveniently there is a metro stop and a tram, as well as several buses just outside the hotel, literally within 30m from the door. So overall, four rather little stars... but nothing too bad (except maybe for the shower)

Room Tip: higher floowr - our 1st floor room was very noisy when a window was opened
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uncshai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMilton, Direttore at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear customer, thank you for pointing out the kindness of our staff and the cleanliness / comfort of our rooms instead .... I'm sorry that you didn't appreciate the different qualities of our Italian bread, always fresh every day!!! But as we say in italy << On the tastes do not argue>> .... and for raw eggs, there was a sign and a nice "machinery" to cook soft-boiled according to the degree of cooking that one prefers .... Yours sincerely, Chiara Mencarelli - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

This was our first stay at the Hotel Milton but not our first trip to Rome. The hotel is in a good location and is two stops away from the Termini Railway Station. The metro station is opposite the hotel. Service was efficient. The first floor bedrooms were rather small but very comfortable with complimentary water. The breakfast was very good with an excellent choice of quality items, served for a long time period and was one of the best we have had in Italy.The hotel is in a converted monastery and is a modern boutique style hotel. Many sights such as the Colosseum,Forum,Trivi Fountain, etc are within a comfortable walking distance.Sleep quality was very good. There is minimal street noise despite the hotel being on a main avenue with trams,etc. There are a few restaurants, gelatia's, shops,etc within a few minutes walk.I would recommend the nearby gelatia for superb ice cream. Overall, a good quality hotel and good value for money.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheshireDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMilton, Direttore at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Desiré, thank you very much for your good comment about our Hotel! We hope to see you again at Milton Rome. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We had a lovely time in Rome which was enhanced by our stay at this hotel. Check in staff were friendly, polite and efficient. Our room on the third floor was nicely furnished albeit on the compact side. The bed was especially comfortable, everything was very clean and there is a handy safe in the wardrobe. The breakfasts are lovely with a lot of choice and were a great start to the day. There was always plenty of waiting staff each morning clearing tables and replenishing food. The reception desk always had a staff member available to help with any queries which was nice. The hotel was also handy for the metro as there is a subway entrance across the road. Overall, a good place to stay in Rome.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C_D599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMilton, Direttore at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for your good comment talking about our confortable beds, about the cleaness of the room, about the Good breakfast, about our << friendly, polite and efficient Staff>> ...Hope to see you again at Milton Roma. Warm regards, Chiara Mencarelli, hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Young couple in our 20s -This hotel is great in all aspects. Great location, great rooms, great staff! We only used the metro a couple of times as mostly walked everywhere. However the metro is right across from the hotel and you can get off at all the stops that are nearest the main atattractions. As we walked mostly everywhere we seen a lot more than on the general tourist routes although we did have very sore feet. Only a few restuarants round about the hotel all well recommend! Amazing experience, would return in a second.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 88pb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMilton, Direttore at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you very much for your good comment! We only do our best to make our clients happy...... See you very soon. Warm regards, Chiara Mencarelli (Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Hotel President
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Hotel Artdeco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma
Address: Via Emanuele Filiberto 155, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#160 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#238 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Hotel Milton Rome is a beautiful 4-star hotel in the centre of Rome offering an ideal location for exploring the eternal city: the Coliseum is within a 10 minute walk and the Basilica of St John Lateran is only 5 minute away. The hotel Milton is immersed in a residential area dotted with shops and restaurants, where guests can experience the real taste of the capital lifestyle. Rome stands for history, culture and ever-lasting charm and the hotel Milton, with its an amazing architectural style, stands perfectly in the wonderful atmosphere inspired by the wonderful buildings that line up the Viale Manzoni and the Viale Emanuele Filiberto. The previous building was a XVIII monastery, completely refurbished and equipped with all the facilities of a modern 4-star hotel in Rome, such as free Wi-Fi and private car park (with fee). The hotel Milton Rome offers 91 elegant rooms equipped with all comforts such as LCD tv, Mediaset Premium tv channels, free Wi fi, minibar, polychrome marble bathroom with bathtub or shower box. The disabled rooms of the Hotel Milton Rome together with many disabled facilities make this 4-star hotel the perfect base for an easy and extremely comfortable stay in Rome even for our disabled guests. The hotel Milton central position is even more comfortable for tourists because the Manzoni metro stop is in front of the hotel! Rome best sights are very close at hand and you can get to the Spanish Steps, the Piazza Venezia, the Vatican Museums and S. Peter’s Basilica in a few minutes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, BookAssist, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milton Roma Hotel
Hotel Milton Roma
Milton Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing