We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,769)
Filter reviews
1,769 results
Traveller rating
506
779
316
109
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
506
779
316
109
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanzoni metro stationgarden barshower curtainminute walk from the colosseumthe hotel staffhotel is locatedpastriesbreakfast roombreakfast was excellentexcellent locationbus stopmini barcity taxstreet noisedouble roomcold meatstrip to rome
Filter
Updating list...
488 - 493 of 1,769 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Milton Hotel has a good location next to Manzoni metro station and maybe a 20 minute walk to the Colosseum.

Breakfast was very good, except that the cooked food (egg, bacon, sausages) was cold as the metal holders were not plugged in
The room was fine, well equipped and well-maintained with a comfortable bed, but it was noisy as our room overlooked the main road, even though windows were double-glazed. We saw that the hotel had taken a delivery of new windows and this could make a huge difference if they are effective at silencing the road traffic.
There was an in-room safe, which I would regard as an essential item these days; although preferably one that can take a laptop, which this one didn't.
The bathroom was well-equipped, with bidet and toiletries.
The room was initially too hot and I was told, when I raised this with Reception, that the air-conditioning was not turned on in the hotel (it was February); only the heating system was on, so we actually had the window open despite the noise as this was preferable to being overheated!
There was a kettle, cups and teabags in the room.

Room Tip: Until the windows at the front are fixed - get a room at the back
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Hotel was very easy to find, just 2 stops from Termini station and location was good, just a short walk to the Coliseum. Room was a good size, small but adequate bathroom with bath and shower.....water temp very dodgy...cool one minute and hot the next!. I think we had a recently refurbished room with laminate flooring rather than carpet. No kettle or tea and coffee which is poor for a four star hotel and after hours of sightseeing, a drink in the room would have been really nice. TV stations very poor, about 10-15 channels and only English one is CNN with one French and one German channel, all others Italian. Large bed and the room was very clean, cleaned daily with fresh towels etc. The big down side was the noise from outside.....we had a room at the front of the Hotel on the corner and it was extremely noisy with traffic and tram noise all of the time and the hotel literally shook when large vehicles and trams went by!. We managed to sleep with the use of ear plugs and the fact that we were so tired after hours of walking, but they really need to consider some extra glazing as the windows are wooden and old and don't provide any noise insulation. I would suggest that you ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you are a light sleeper. Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice and plenty of it.....we did not eat again until late evening as we were so full ! The staff in the restaurant were nice but the guy on the reception desk when we arrived and left was not exactly the engaging sort and was not at all welcoming. Not sure that I would class this hotel as four star, more like a good three star but we paid a good rate when booking...(no where near the £98 a night current price I have seen), so for the money, I wouldn't complain but if we went back to Rome, we would choose a quieter hotel with more facilities such as a restaurant and room refreshments.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkPrice145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at the Milton the first week in January, after needing a much needed post Christmas break, and were not disappointed!

We were asked upon arrival the type of room required (two females travelling together) and were given a fabulous little twin room at the end of a corridor on the second floor. The room was ample for what we needed it for. Bathroom was fantastically equipped too. Only thing we felt the room was missing was a kettle!

The location is absolutely fantastic, within 5 minutes walking distance of the Colosseum and the Roman Forums. A metro station directly opposite the hotel doors, you can get to just about anywhere in Rome in half an hour.

The hotel staff were friendly and welcoming, and really could not do enough for us.

Only downside is the walls are thin, so you do hear a lot of whats going on, but after a couple of glasses of fine Italian wine after all of the sightseeing, you've really no issues in sleeping!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Happy to recommend this central Hotel. Clean to a very high standard and breakfast very good. Kettle in room but did not supply, Tea, coffee etc. So brought from supermarket. A little noisy but
after sightseeing, your too tired to notice. All staff very friendly and Antonio in reception, made every effort to help make this short break very comfortable. Metro right outside and great to get about. 3 Day pass 16.50 Euro per person, can be obtained from any newsagents, as at the Metro station you have to have the right money. Only two main lines A and B, so very easy to use. Had a fantastic time in Rome, even saw the Pope on St. Valentines Day, a service for couples to be, promoting Marriage. We have been married for 39years and also recommend it, enjoyed the free concert, wonderful singers, musician's, dancers and the Pope was so friendly and warm, not like I had imaged. The Pope was the highlight of our break.
Weather clear blue skies, more like summer temperature. Food excellent, always go where the Italian's eat and you will never be disappointed.
Places we feel a must to see:- The Vatican, St. Peters Boscillia, Museum and of course the beautiful Sistine Chapel, (Audio available and just punch in the number and you hear music of the time with information about the room and artist etc.) Colosseo (recommend guided tour and ask to go underground, very interesting and you get to hear how life was back then.) San Giovani in Latereno (mother of all churches). Santal Maria della Victtoria (both of these are outstanding, but we also went in many others, too many to mension, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Pizza Noavona, Castel Angelo. As you can tell our break was non stop, started early in the morning and did not get back to early evening, but when in Rome! Could not miss seeing as much as possible. Hope to go back soon and would stay at this Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if possible.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellajoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Milton for three nights on our first trip to Rome.

Having read previous Tripadvisor reviews we asked for an internal room which was quiet and spacious with a large comfortable bed, tea/coffee making facilities and a mini bar/fridge safe and hairdryer.

The breakfasts were excellent with a choice of scrambled/boiled eggs, bacon, sausages, home made breads and cakes, fruit juices, cereals, yoghurt, fruit, cheese, ham etc...!!

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the hotel is in an excellent location...the centre of Rome is within walking distance (on our first night we had a lovely supper in a local restaurant then strolled down to the colosseum and kept on walking and exploring this magical city, ending up at the Trevi fountain). if you don't fancy the walk the metro station is just opposite.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again if ever I am lucky enough to visit in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuliaK2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews