We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,782)
Filter reviews
1,782 results
Traveller rating
509
784
318
111
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
509
784
318
111
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manzoni metro station garden bar shower curtain minute walk from the colosseum classic room the hotel staff hotel is located pastries breakfast room breakfast was excellent bus stop mini bar city tax street noise double room cold meats trip to rome
Filter
Updating list...
491 - 496 of 1,782 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is a lovely, clean hotel which is very close to the Underground and easy to get to from Termini. The beds are comfy and the bedlinen is good quality. Just 10 minutes walk from the Coloseum and some good eating places.

Its situated on a main road and a bit noisy at the front of the hotel (sirens at 2pm in the morning, even though there is no other traffic noise).

The staff where friendly and helpful. Breakfast is self service and there is a wide variety of food. The bar is REALLY expensive though, we had one drink there and ate the nibbles before going elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask if there are some rooms away from the front and the traffic noise
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my family enjoyed stay in this hotel. Close to everywhere. Coliseum, Vatican City and metro . my kids love the delicious breakfast. Helpful people also very honest. Love this hotel and absolutely will be my first choice for my next vacation. Also I strongly recommend to my close friends.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank patitokdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Milton Hotel has a good location next to Manzoni metro station and maybe a 20 minute walk to the Colosseum.

Breakfast was very good, except that the cooked food (egg, bacon, sausages) was cold as the metal holders were not plugged in
The room was fine, well equipped and well-maintained with a comfortable bed, but it was noisy as our room overlooked the main road, even though windows were double-glazed. We saw that the hotel had taken a delivery of new windows and this could make a huge difference if they are effective at silencing the road traffic.
There was an in-room safe, which I would regard as an essential item these days; although preferably one that can take a laptop, which this one didn't.
The bathroom was well-equipped, with bidet and toiletries.
The room was initially too hot and I was told, when I raised this with Reception, that the air-conditioning was not turned on in the hotel (it was February); only the heating system was on, so we actually had the window open despite the noise as this was preferable to being overheated!
There was a kettle, cups and teabags in the room.

Room Tip: Until the windows at the front are fixed - get a room at the back
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Hotel was very easy to find, just 2 stops from Termini station and location was good, just a short walk to the Coliseum. Room was a good size, small but adequate bathroom with bath and shower.....water temp very dodgy...cool one minute and hot the next!. I think we had a recently refurbished room with laminate flooring rather than carpet. No kettle or tea and coffee which is poor for a four star hotel and after hours of sightseeing, a drink in the room would have been really nice. TV stations very poor, about 10-15 channels and only English one is CNN with one French and one German channel, all others Italian. Large bed and the room was very clean, cleaned daily with fresh towels etc. The big down side was the noise from outside.....we had a room at the front of the Hotel on the corner and it was extremely noisy with traffic and tram noise all of the time and the hotel literally shook when large vehicles and trams went by!. We managed to sleep with the use of ear plugs and the fact that we were so tired after hours of walking, but they really need to consider some extra glazing as the windows are wooden and old and don't provide any noise insulation. I would suggest that you ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you are a light sleeper. Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice and plenty of it.....we did not eat again until late evening as we were so full ! The staff in the restaurant were nice but the guy on the reception desk when we arrived and left was not exactly the engaging sort and was not at all welcoming. Not sure that I would class this hotel as four star, more like a good three star but we paid a good rate when booking...(no where near the £98 a night current price I have seen), so for the money, I wouldn't complain but if we went back to Rome, we would choose a quieter hotel with more facilities such as a restaurant and room refreshments.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkPrice145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at the Milton the first week in January, after needing a much needed post Christmas break, and were not disappointed!

We were asked upon arrival the type of room required (two females travelling together) and were given a fabulous little twin room at the end of a corridor on the second floor. The room was ample for what we needed it for. Bathroom was fantastically equipped too. Only thing we felt the room was missing was a kettle!

The location is absolutely fantastic, within 5 minutes walking distance of the Colosseum and the Roman Forums. A metro station directly opposite the hotel doors, you can get to just about anywhere in Rome in half an hour.

The hotel staff were friendly and welcoming, and really could not do enough for us.

Only downside is the walls are thin, so you do hear a lot of whats going on, but after a couple of glasses of fine Italian wine after all of the sightseeing, you've really no issues in sleeping!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews