We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't fault this hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma
Ranked #310 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can't fault this hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Friendly staff, clean rooms with a comfy bed, good breakfast (already missing the fresh orange juice) and great location. Metro station directly opposite, for when your feet can't carry on. The metro is surprisingly easy to use, much easier than the London tube. We only needed to use this to get to The Vatican, otherwise we would still be trying to find it now...

Walk in the opposite direction to the touristy parts to find good food at reasonable prices. The further away the better!

We both fell in love with Rome and will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshineladyxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    634
    272
    96
    44
See reviews for
220
645
112
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just returned from Rome after spending 5 days there. This hotel was in a fantastic location for all the attractions and we walked to them all.
STAFF
On arrival, the man at reception continued a telephone conversation whilst checking us in, we did think this was a little rude but he was pleasant enough when he managed to get off the phone. He did then take another call and made no apologies for again being rude.
The staff were okay but did not seem to speak much English.
ROOM
Our room was sufficient and the big windows kept out most of the traffic noise although the air conditioning was not good and if you opened the window for more than 5 minutes, you were in danger of carbon monoxide poisoning from the extremely busy road below.
The room was a bit small and the shower was too small for my tall, broad husband who ended up washing at the sink all week because he couldn't fit in it.
There is no information for sights etc or hotel information which they could maybe consider supplying.
The TV has no English speaking channels at all. I usually like to hear the news when we are getting ready but the free wifi made up for that and we found the broadband speed quite fast.
Our room was boiling hot at night and we didn't really get a good sleep although the beds were very comfortable. The air conditioning did not really do anything to cool the room.
We did return from an 11 mile walk twice at 4pm hoping to have a wee rest on two days to find the room had not yet been cleaned and we had to go across the road to the Roma Lazio so that we could relax for a few minutes to give her time to do her cleaning.
The room was very clean and we got new towels every day and new toiletries.
They didn't fill the tea and coffee every day but brought some of our own so no problem. We had to supply our own milk but again this was not a concern as the milk kept really well in the fridge and was delicious.
There was one day when they were doing work in the rooms which left a lot of white dust on the floor which was not washed but just hoovered and the white dust stayed there for 3 days.
The room has a free safe which is really good.
Remember the city tax which you pay on checkout. 3 euros per person per night.
BREAKFAST
The breakfast was sufficient and catered for all tastes although the hot food was sloppy scrambled egg, fatty bacon and hot dog sausage, was never very warm and not greatly tasty. The time for breakfast is great and starts at 7 am which was fantastic especially if you plan to go out early. We found that this was the way to see the sights without waiting in huge queues. Go to the Colosseum for 8.30 am and you will just about get in right away at 9am. Go to the ticket booth at the Roman Forum and you can buy a ticket that will get you into the Forum, Palatine Hill and the Colosseum over two days for 12 euros per person. Great value and really worth the visit.
Guided tours are more expensive.
Watch out for pickpockets although we had no problems with that.
The street vendors pester you constantly and are all over the city .
There is a lot of graffiti all over even in the Vatican City and they do not clean up after their dogs, so you need to watch where you are putting your feet. The pavements are quite uneven at times too.The parks are unfortunately filled with what seems like vagrants drinking alcohol and urinating wherever they please, so this was not very nice to walk through.
The roads are an absolute nightmare to cross as when the green man lights up and you think it is safe to cross a car comes whizzing around the corner as their lights are also at green.BE CAREFUL AND KEEP YOUR WITS ABOUT YOU AT ALL TIMES.
We spent some of our free time just watching the traffic from our hotel room as this was an entertaining past- time. Loads of ambulances and police cars flying all around the streets at all times of the day and night. I have asthma and the traffic fumes were very choking. My husband said his chest got sore too and he is very healthy. I had to use my inhaler frequently due to the fumes from all the cars.
We were very glad to return home
SUMMARY
Glad we went to Rome for the experience but would never return. Maybe should have stayed 3 days instead of 5 . This hotel was good overall but needs a few adjustments to make it brilliant but we would still recommend staying there for a short break.

Room Tip: ask for one away from the road and as big as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mapron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Was very impressed with Hotel Milton Roma. The Hotel was easy to find, located outside the Metro station and very close to the Collosseum (15 minute walk) I managed to book a flight & hotel package through BA.com and given the cost of return flights alone, thought it was fantastic value. Room was spacious and whilst it was located above the main junction, the traffic did not disturb our sleep. Breakfast was very good, lots of variety and fresh coffee available on request - which was great. The staff were very helpful and full of recommendations. The reception team were able to recommend a partner restaurant 15mins away one evening which we thought was fantastic, good quality food and not at all overpriced. Would stay here again and happily pay a little more if this was not available in a package deal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just spent 2 days at the hotel Milton Rome - location is excellent right next to metro station so easy to get anywhere and 10 minute walk from Collosseum. Rooms average, beds good ,but might need ear-plugs due to traffic. Breakfast variety good. Staff helpfull and friendly. Lots of cafes and bars nearby. Supermarket some 15 min walk.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Outimaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

For the price you can not beat this hotel. Even though it is further from the historical center , the metro is across the street, so ten minutes from Spanish Steps.. Good breakfast too.

There is a great coffee place across the street and if you like to walk the Colliseum is about one mile down the street

The staff is very friendly

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

just cam back from a few days in Rome at Milton hotel. overall we enjoyed our stay. and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. hotel is clean and has solid service. we got the best room in the hotel I think number 129. with a surprising big balcony. metro station is 50m from entrance. breakfast was great. unlimited fresh orange juice is included

Helpful?
1 Thank aces99
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This hotel is located in a good position but I am afraid that our experience was disappointing.

The receptionist on our arrival was exceedingly helpful and she gave us some very good information which helped us organised our time in Rome.

On arrival in our room, there was only one cup, one plastic cup in the bathroom and one pair of complimentary slippers......nothing dramatic here but mildly irritating in a 4 star hotel. An extra cup was brought following our request.

Breakfast on our first morning- the toaster in the dining room was not working
Breakfast on our second morning- the toaster, the hot plate and the egg boiler were not working
The toaster was repaired by day three but the other items never worked. Cold scrambled eggs, cold bacon and cold sausage are not particularly appetising. There was a fair range of other breakfast foods available which was helpful but after the first day only natural yoghurt was served. Our final morning in the breakfast room was completely over-shadowed by a full blown shouting argument going on in the kitchen which included the door between the kitchen and the dining room being slammed shut.

On our second day we returned to our hotel to discover that they had removed the towels but had not replaced them. Another trip to reception and a set of towels was then brought to the room but the poor staff member was embarrassed when he realised that there were two of us in the room and he had only brought towels for one. He returned shortly afterwards with another set.

On arrival we were assured that there was free internet but the signal to the room was so poor that it never worked unless you were down in the reception and using the laptop that they supply in one corner.

The room and en-suite bedroom were kept clean and was pleasantly decorated. The room was a little small for a double but with only one hard backed chair in it, you had to sit on the bed to watch the tv. Tea and coffee were available in the room with a kettle but no milk was provided, however, the room had a minibar/fridge in it which proved useful and the nearness of a local supermarket meant it was easy to buy milk and more tea and coffee supplies. The bed was very comfortable and the room had air conditioning which was not needed in early April but I am sure would be required in the summer months.

Overall, I would say that this hotel is really more of a 3 star than a 4 star. We managed fine and had a great time in Rome.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Hotel President
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universo
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Hotel Artdeco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma
Address: Via Emanuele Filiberto 155, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#237 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Hotel Milton Rome is a beautiful 4-star hotel in the centre of Rome offering an ideal location for exploring the eternal city: the Coliseum is within a 10 minute walk and the Basilica of St John Lateran is only 5 minute away. The hotel Milton is immersed in a residential area dotted with shops and restaurants, where guests can experience the real taste of the capital lifestyle. Rome stands for history, culture and ever-lasting charm and the hotel Milton, with its an amazing architectural style, stands perfectly in the wonderful atmosphere inspired by the wonderful buildings that line up the Viale Manzoni and the Viale Emanuele Filiberto. The previous building was a XVIII monastery, completely refurbished and equipped with all the facilities of a modern 4-star hotel in Rome, such as free Wi-Fi and private car park (with fee). The hotel Milton Rome offers 91 elegant rooms equipped with all comforts such as LCD tv, Mediaset Premium tv channels, free Wi fi, minibar, polychrome marble bathroom with bathtub or shower box. The disabled rooms of the Hotel Milton Rome together with many disabled facilities make this 4-star hotel the perfect base for an easy and extremely comfortable stay in Rome even for our disabled guests. The hotel Milton central position is even more comfortable for tourists because the Manzoni metro stop is in front of the hotel! Rome best sights are very close at hand and you can get to the Spanish Steps, the Piazza Venezia, the Vatican Museums and S. Peter’s Basilica in a few minutes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookAssist, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milton Roma Hotel
Hotel Milton Roma
Milton Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing