We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medium hotel but very noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma
Ranked #296 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel is conveniently located just in front an underground station, have medium sized room (have a very good breakfast, I liked an excellent "ricotta") but it is very very noisy.
In spite of the double window glazing, at around 6am the tram starts going and you will hear perfectly the nice sound of the steel wheels on the steel track while the tram turns at moderate speed. This, and other traffic noise goes on till over midnight.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on via Emanuele Filiberto on the tramways,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UnEspertoViaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 383 of 1,565 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for four nights during April.

First off, the location of the hotel is good, A metro line runs right outside the hotel and takes you to the centre within a few minutes. The hotel itself if fairly simple, breakfast but no other meals served and a basic bar. Facilities are ok, but it would struggle to justify its four star rating when stacked up against hotels in the UK or US. The breakfast was alright, reasonable choice of cold foods with possibility of toast and boiled eggs. Room reasonably spacious, bed relatively comfortable.

This review would have been a 2 or 3 rating had we only stayed for one or two nights.

The safe in the room says it is the size of a laptop - it is definitely not. My 10" tablet only just went in. To get it in it had to go in at an angle with the case removed. The safe would have been ok to put your wallet in to keep safe or a few bits and bobs, but don't count on it for a laptop or decent sized tablet or netbook, it won't go in.

The rooms are not individually air conditioned. The control on the wall is just for show. If you set the temperature to cool it just flashes and nothing happens. The day we checked in the temperature in our room was 32 degrees. After 30 minutes with the window open it dropped to 28. When we complained we were told that if we put the air conditioning on the fan setting it would provide air conditioning. It didn't, it just provided an extremely noisy fan. Our first night was spent in a room at 25 degrees with the window wide open, and really noisy traffic. The next day we complained, and were told that the air conditioning was in fact broken and that an engineer was coming to fix it. When we returned we checked and it still did not work. We complained again and were told there was no manager on site and we would have to speak to him in the morning. After refusing to move unless something was done, finally we were promised an engineer would come. We went out for dinner. When we returned we were told it was fixed. We put the control onto air conditioning, still flashing. However, we found out the the air conditioning is in fact centrally controlled and the fan just blows the air conditioning into the room. So the temperature was around 23/24 degrees with the fan on full pelt.

Traffic noise is bad, but the windows seemed to cope with that once they were closed.

Had we only stayed the first two nights and not demanded the air conditioning was fixed this rating would have been much lower. On reflection, the air conditioning being broken was probably something outside the hotel's control, although I notice another review about a month ago saying the same thing.

We wouldn't return, but the hotel was close to things we wanted and the room was ok. Probably its a 3.5 out of 5, but lets give it the benefit of the doubt.

Room Tip: Stay on a lower floor if you are worried about the air con, the temperature on higher floors was muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just a word of advice, this is not a 4 star hotel by any standard. It was clean, two stops from the main train station and several good restaurants are nearby, but don't think for one second this is a glamorous and world standard 4 star hotel. Having stayed in many hotels and hostels around the world, I would say this hotel is only a step up from a private room in a youth hostel. The room are incredibly small, the breakfast is adequate without being great. Unfortunately, when you book a 4 star hotel you expect the same as you would in North America or Australia. This simply isn't the case. For the price I paid, I would recommend that for a small amount more, try and book into one of the chain hotels as they are more close to a 4 star hotel than this place. Overall the hotel was average and for the money spent I was very disappointed.

Room Tip: Look at another hotel in the city. If you are spending all this money to travel to Europe make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Friendly staff, clean rooms with a comfy bed, good breakfast (already missing the fresh orange juice) and great location. Metro station directly opposite, for when your feet can't carry on. The metro is surprisingly easy to use, much easier than the London tube. We only needed to use this to get to The Vatican, otherwise we would still be trying to find it now...

Walk in the opposite direction to the touristy parts to find good food at reasonable prices. The further away the better!

We both fell in love with Rome and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshineladyxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just returned from Rome after spending 5 days there. This hotel was in a fantastic location for all the attractions and we walked to them all.
STAFF
On arrival, the man at reception continued a telephone conversation whilst checking us in, we did think this was a little rude but he was pleasant enough when he managed to get off the phone. He did then take another call and made no apologies for again being rude.
The staff were okay but did not seem to speak much English.
ROOM
Our room was sufficient and the big windows kept out most of the traffic noise although the air conditioning was not good and if you opened the window for more than 5 minutes, you were in danger of carbon monoxide poisoning from the extremely busy road below.
The room was a bit small and the shower was too small for my tall, broad husband who ended up washing at the sink all week because he couldn't fit in it.
There is no information for sights etc or hotel information which they could maybe consider supplying.
The TV has no English speaking channels at all. I usually like to hear the news when we are getting ready but the free wifi made up for that and we found the broadband speed quite fast.
Our room was boiling hot at night and we didn't really get a good sleep although the beds were very comfortable. The air conditioning did not really do anything to cool the room.
We did return from an 11 mile walk twice at 4pm hoping to have a wee rest on two days to find the room had not yet been cleaned and we had to go across the road to the Roma Lazio so that we could relax for a few minutes to give her time to do her cleaning.
The room was very clean and we got new towels every day and new toiletries.
They didn't fill the tea and coffee every day but brought some of our own so no problem. We had to supply our own milk but again this was not a concern as the milk kept really well in the fridge and was delicious.
There was one day when they were doing work in the rooms which left a lot of white dust on the floor which was not washed but just hoovered and the white dust stayed there for 3 days.
The room has a free safe which is really good.
Remember the city tax which you pay on checkout. 3 euros per person per night.
BREAKFAST
The breakfast was sufficient and catered for all tastes although the hot food was sloppy scrambled egg, fatty bacon and hot dog sausage, was never very warm and not greatly tasty. The time for breakfast is great and starts at 7 am which was fantastic especially if you plan to go out early. We found that this was the way to see the sights without waiting in huge queues. Go to the Colosseum for 8.30 am and you will just about get in right away at 9am. Go to the ticket booth at the Roman Forum and you can buy a ticket that will get you into the Forum, Palatine Hill and the Colosseum over two days for 12 euros per person. Great value and really worth the visit.
Guided tours are more expensive.
Watch out for pickpockets although we had no problems with that.
The street vendors pester you constantly and are all over the city .
There is a lot of graffiti all over even in the Vatican City and they do not clean up after their dogs, so you need to watch where you are putting your feet. The pavements are quite uneven at times too.The parks are unfortunately filled with what seems like vagrants drinking alcohol and urinating wherever they please, so this was not very nice to walk through.
The roads are an absolute nightmare to cross as when the green man lights up and you think it is safe to cross a car comes whizzing around the corner as their lights are also at green.BE CAREFUL AND KEEP YOUR WITS ABOUT YOU AT ALL TIMES.
We spent some of our free time just watching the traffic from our hotel room as this was an entertaining past- time. Loads of ambulances and police cars flying all around the streets at all times of the day and night. I have asthma and the traffic fumes were very choking. My husband said his chest got sore too and he is very healthy. I had to use my inhaler frequently due to the fumes from all the cars.
We were very glad to return home
SUMMARY
Glad we went to Rome for the experience but would never return. Maybe should have stayed 3 days instead of 5 . This hotel was good overall but needs a few adjustments to make it brilliant but we would still recommend staying there for a short break.

Room Tip: ask for one away from the road and as big as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R50NLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Was very impressed with Hotel Milton Roma. The Hotel was easy to find, located outside the Metro station and very close to the Collosseum (15 minute walk) I managed to book a flight & hotel package through BA.com and given the cost of return flights alone, thought it was fantastic value. Room was spacious and whilst it was located above the main junction, the traffic did not disturb our sleep. Breakfast was very good, lots of variety and fresh coffee available on request - which was great. The staff were very helpful and full of recommendations. The reception team were able to recommend a partner restaurant 15mins away one evening which we thought was fantastic, good quality food and not at all overpriced. Would stay here again and happily pay a little more if this was not available in a package deal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just spent 2 days at the hotel Milton Rome - location is excellent right next to metro station so easy to get anywhere and 10 minute walk from Collosseum. Rooms average, beds good ,but might need ear-plugs due to traffic. Breakfast variety good. Staff helpfull and friendly. Lots of cafes and bars nearby. Supermarket some 15 min walk.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outimaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel President
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma

Address: Via Emanuele Filiberto 155, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#161 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#238 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £69 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Hotel Milton Rome is a beautiful 4-star hotel in the centre of Rome offering an ideal location for exploring the eternal city: the Coliseum is within a 10 minute walk and the Basilica of St John Lateran is only 5 minute away. The hotel Milton is immersed in a residential area dotted with shops and restaurants, where guests can experience the real taste of the capital lifestyle. Rome stands for history, culture and ever-lasting charm and the hotel Milton, with its an amazing architectural style, stands perfectly in the wonderful atmosphere inspired by the wonderful buildings that line up the Viale Manzoni and the Viale Emanuele Filiberto. The previous building was a XVIII monastery, completely refurbished and equipped with all the facilities of a modern 4-star hotel in Rome, such as free Wi-Fi and private car park (with fee). The hotel Milton Rome offers 91 elegant rooms equipped with all comforts such as LCD tv, Mediaset Premium tv channels, free Wi fi, minibar, polychrome marble bathroom with bathtub or shower box. The disabled rooms of the Hotel Milton Rome together with many disabled facilities make this 4-star hotel the perfect base for an easy and extremely comfortable stay in Rome even for our disabled guests. The hotel Milton central position is even more comfortable for tourists because the Manzoni metro stop is in front of the hotel! Rome best sights are very close at hand and you can get to the Spanish Steps, the Piazza Venezia, the Vatican Museums and S. Peter’s Basilica in a few minutes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, BookAssist, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milton Roma Hotel
Hotel Milton Roma
Milton Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing