We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Domus Livia Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Domus Livia Suites
Ranked #297 of 3,664 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine, United States
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Domus Livia was perfect for our two-day stay in Rome. It was fairly inexpensive, yet the service, cleanliness and location were excellent. Additionally, we (4 persons) rented the larger room (1 Queen, 2 Singles). The room was plenty large to accommodate the four of us on our short trip. We would certainly stay at Domus Livia the next time we are in Rome.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domuslivia, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
We are very glad that you have really enjoyed your stay at Domus Livia. Thank you for posting such a good feedback on your experience, I think it is going to be very useful for our TripAdvisor followers. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    142
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
92
160
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poland
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Everything was perfect: location, staff, cleanliness ...
Very close to the Termini, we had no problem of finding the hotel. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was big enough, clean, serviced daily. Breakfasts were adequate with delicious coffee. We do not have any negative comments. We loved Rome and Domus Livia. We hope to come here again. Greetings for Susan, Marisa and a man (we do not know the name) who waited for us on our arrival despite the late hour (he was very polite). Domus Livia - We thank you for your guidance and for a very nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domuslivia, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Thank you very much for posting your candid and corteous feedback on TripAdvisor, we appreciate it. We are very happy that we made your stay in Rome a wonderful experience and we are looking forward to your return. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

By Rome standards, this hotel was very good value. The location is good, not too far from the Termini but on a nice shopping street. We had a room at the back and it was very quiet apart from one night when there was loud music coming from outside. It is also worth noting that Domus Livia is just one section of a mixed use city building with apartments, other hotels, offices and a bank within the building.

The air-con was great and not noisy. The beds were two singles pushed together which isn't ideal for a couple but the sheets and blankets were all double which was better. Plus there were extra pillows in the wardrobe which was great. The bathroom was kept clean throughout and the shower was brilliant - plenty of pressure and lovely and hot.

The breakfast was nice, although all the bread rolls were white, with no wholemeal. With a lovely selection of jams, Nutella and Philadelphia it made a good start to the day. Although when we didn't eat our yoghurts and put them in the mini fridge for later the cleaners removed them. Which I thought was quite mean spirited. They couldn't take them to give back another day (you would hope) so they must have thrown them away which is very wasteful.

The staff were friendly and very helpful, especially for getting information and making phone calls on our behalf. There was a problem on the first day with wi-fi but the guy at reception re-set the box and then we had a reliable connection for the rest of our trip (we were there for 6 days).

This hotel only has six rooms so it was a little odd that on two occasions when we returned back to the hotel at around 3/4pm they still hadn't finished cleaning our room, although we only had to wait about ten minutes.

It was good having a flat screen TV but unfortunately there were no British channels, although one was a radio channel with a mix of Italian and English songs which was fine for having on in the background.

I would recommend this hotel as a good base for seeing the sights and if I ever visited Rome again I would stay a second time, for the same price.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are larger but those at the back are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManUniGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My family stayed in two rooms of the Domus Livia establishment recently (late August 2012), and we have to say that we couldn't have been happier with the set up. First of all, the rooms are scrupulously clean and well kept. Secondly (and of major importance to a lot of us), they are in a secure building which is very safe and near impossible to burgle. Every must-visit sight is within 10 to 15 minutes walk (the Vatican is slightly further, but no trouble to get to, with a bus right outside the door that takes you there within 15 minutes also). There's shopping and restaurants all along the street, and the neighbourhood is relatively safe to walk about at night. Shower and air conditioning (crucial in August) was great. Lastly, the service and help we received from the reception staff was fantastic – so helpful and friendly, and much more personally attentive than at the usual hotel. Thank you Domus Livia for a great stay. The Ross Family.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domuslivia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
We cannot thank you enough for your very kind feedback on your recent stay with us.We're really pleased to read that you had a great time here. Thank you for your kind comments. Hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, OH
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed at the Domus Livia with my wife and 2 kids ages 11 and 13 in a deluxe family room with a double and two twins on two separate occasions over two weeks for a total of four nights. Overall the Domus met our needs and on the plus side it is conveniently and centrally located to all of Rome's key attractions. We walked to the Spanish Steps, Villa Borghesse (park), the Colisseum, the Trevi Fountain and all of the key Piazzas. We also walked to the main Rome Train station only 10min. walk away with our bags and luggage. Another plus is the folks who work here. Suzanne is wonderful and made us feel really at home; providing a map with a walking tour plus when I told her we were going to Venice, she indicated she is from there and also provided me a typed one pager with tips on Venice! We flew in from the U.S. overnight and arrived about 9:30am and Suzanne was able to get us into a room right away, which was a big plus. Also on one of our mornings we had an early morning tour and on another we were departing early and they arranged to have our breakfast brought in to accommodate our schedule as the fresh continental breakfast is only provided at 8am on. In lieu of the fresh breakfast they can provide some pre-packaged breads and pies the night before, which were still really good and Suzanne even was still able to provide us a bag of fresh croissants when we were checking out and we were eating croissants and maintaining fine memories of Italy on the flight back across the pond. The two rooms we stayed in were fairly quiet as you are on the fifth floor and I think this is the top of the building, so you can't hear anyone walking above and at times I wondered if we were the only ones at the Domus because it was so quiet, but we did see other folks checking in and out. The overall biggest bonus of the Domus is the location and it's friendly helpful english speaking staff. There was also a very friendly doorman who manages the lobby of the mixed use building, which provided another layer of security beyond Domus secure fifth floor lobby. The only negatives is it is on the fifth floor and you have to take a small slow un-air conditioned "lift" - elevator up (these are quite common in Italy) and on our second set of nights we had a completely different room (#5 which was better because it over looked the back of the hotel and was really quiet) than the first except it did have a small water leak from the AC unit over the arched hallway to the bathroom and unlike the first room the hall closet did not lock. I was just glad it was working very well cutting through the August Roman heat and the staff did provide some extra towels to keep the floor dry which was not a big deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domuslivia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Herewith we would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosenDomus Livia for your recent stay. Thank you for your very kind and useful review.We do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Roma. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Nice welcome, nice room and very well located.also good breakfast.we were given very useful touristic information, large room with our 3 kids, baby bed was lended for free, located only 15 min (walking distance) from Colisseum, roman forum, etc...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marylenearnoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domuslivia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Domus Livia.Hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our B&B, not HOTEL in the future .Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed at the Domus Livia with my wife and 2 kids in one of their deluxe room (double and 2 singles). Room was comfortable and cool (despite being 40 degrees outside). We found the service great - the reception staff were very helpful and breakfast was just right. The location is a short 10-15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain/Spanish steps, and a 15-20 minute walk to the Colosseum and Pantheon, and bus stop or metro terminal just up the road for the Vatican/St Peters. We would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domuslivia, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at Domus Livia. We're happy to read that you enjoyed your time here and you were satisfied with our service. Our regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Floris Hotel
Floris Hotel
#220 of 1,257 in Rome
295 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#204 of 1,257 in Rome
944 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#58 of 1,257 in Rome
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Domus Romana Hotel
Domus Romana Hotel
#316 of 1,257 in Rome
819 reviews
Esquilino
Welcome House
Welcome House
#882 of 3,664 in Rome
177 reviews
Esquilino
Esedra Inn Rome
Esedra Inn Rome
#787 of 3,664 in Rome
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Livia Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Livia Suites

Property: Domus Livia Suites
Address: Via Nazionale 230, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #297 of 3,664 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Livia Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classy residence (First class auth.n.6329) with competitive prices in the historical center of Rome.A new concept in hospitality, as an alternative to the traditional hotel accommodation or to the simple bed & breakfast. In a strategic position among the Colosseum and the famous Spanish steps, at only 400 meters from Termini station…in a prestigious 19th century building, in a luxurious residence, with a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Domus Livia Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Livia Rome
Domus Livia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing