We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can't beat the price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Domus Livia Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Domus Livia Suites
Ranked #275 of 3,762 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“You can't beat the price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

A lovely small hotel right in the heart of Rome, very walkable from the bus stop, main station and subway. Only like 20 steps from restaurants, beautiful buildings, Safeway supermarket, etc.
The guy at reception treated us as royalty, if I lived in Italy I will pay him a fortune to come and work for me! He was super friendly, helpful and sincere. The woman that did the morning shift, was also a pleasure to talk too.
We felt 100% at home here. It's a very small hotel, not too modern and slightly dated, but comfy and very clean.
The room is large; the bed a little bit hard to my liking but definitely good enough, with a small tv with like a million channels but only 1 or 2 in English lol! (But who goes to Rome to watch tv?)
The bathroom is a bit small but everything you need and a nice little shower.
A wonderful breakfast consisting out of orange juice; fantastic fresh crosans and nice bread with jams and butter and Nutella, and your choice of coffee. It is delivered right to your room and served till 11 am, ideal!
Via Air Canada's website we paid a laughable 100 Dollars per night for this gem in Rome, what a bargain! Everything considered, it's worth more than double that!
We will never stay anywhere else when we're in Rome again, that's for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrGoodTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domuslivia, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
We are proud that you chose our B&B for your stay, but now that we know that you had a pleasant stay , we are more than delighted.
Thank you so much for your valuable remarks referring our services, room, breakfast and facilities did meet your satisfaction.
We really hope to serve you again in the near future!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    141
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
92
160
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
128 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

Very impressed with our stay here. We were in room 3 which overlooked the street below. It had sound proof windows, free wifi, huge high ceilings. The entrance hall is impressive too. The only slight thing is the beds are a bit hard which didnt bother me but my wife was a bit uncomfortable. Breakfast in bed is a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drummingboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domuslivia, Public Relations Manager at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for your high rating.We truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We just returned from a week long stay in Roma. Domus Livia came up as part of a package deal on Orbitz. I had a dreadful experience one time booking this way, and ended up in a 8X8 foot room with a metal cot and a bare light bulb hanging from the ceiling, but Domus Livia turned out to be a treasure. The accomodations are basic, but certainly include everything needed. Who wants to spend their time in a hotel room when visiting Rome anyway?

The set up is a bit unusual, and if I had not read the experiences of another reviewer, I might have had difficulty finding the hotel/B&B. It is located in a section of a larger building that seems to house apartments, another hotel, etc. I was a bit concerned when the shuttle dropped us off, as Via Nazionale is a busy, noisy street. The room, however, turned out to be virtually soundproof, and we couldn't hear a sound from the outside.

This is not a Sheraton or a Hilton. If you want an on-site restaurant, bar, porter service, exercise equipment, a virtual mini-kitchen in the room, etc., stay at a Sheraton or a Hilton. But it has some features you won't find in any Sheraton or Hilton I've ever visited.

The room was quiet and spotlessly clean. The antique furniture was a pleasant change from the mass produced appointments found in most hotel rooms. The location is perfect from the standpoint of getting around. Piazza Venezia, many of the ancient ruins, the Jewish ghetto, Trevi Fountain, and many other sites are only a 10-15 minute walk. Buses run right outside the hotel, and the underground is only a couple of blocks away.

The staff are the real stars, however. Marisa and Susanna took a sincere interest in us, and it seemed that there was nothing they would not do to help us and make us comfortable. They even made our reservations to visit the Borghese Gallery prior to our arrival. It was like being cared for by family. Breakfast is delivered to your room, but we had to depart early on our last day before they arrived (the desk is staffed from about 8 a.m. - 8 p.m.) so Susanna appeared the night before we left with a tray containing everything we needed to put together a quck meal for ourselves before the shuttle picked us up.

I threw the coins in the fountain, am ready to get back to Rome as soon as I can, and am comfortable having the issue of where I will stay already decided.

P.S. Tarverna Barberini, a short walk down Quattro Fontane, the street right beside the hotel, turned out to be an excellent restaurant, along with several others nearby.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank insalatamista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domuslivia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
We cannot thank you enough for your very kind feedback on your recent stay with us.Our priority is everyday to satisfy our guests, we are glad you liked our concept,our staff and our room. We truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahone Bay
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

Domus Livia is a great place to stay. Very well situated, unique style of small hotel (or is it a B&B?!)with breakfast served to your room. All staff friendly and helpful, especially Susanna- a wealth of info! The room is very spacious (at least 12 foot ceilings!) super clean, nicely decorated and well laid out. The mattress is typical Italian, shall we say "ultra firm"? It is walking distance to most major attractions, erstaurants are nearby, yet it is very quiet for sleeping with the windows closed. We will look forward to staying here again soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polartraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domuslivia, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
We thank you a lot for your great comment. We are glad to know that you loved your stay at Domus Livia again.We will be pleased to welcome you always for your next trip in Rome.Our kind regards to all of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

great location only 5mins walk from central station. Busy road with plenty of shops/restaurants. close to metro to get to Vatican. This small B&B was very clean 7 tidy. breaksfast served in your room was quite a treat! What makes this place was the lovely couple that run it they were so helpful recommending different eateries/coffee shops/metro/train info etc -Would stay again! Please be aware this hotel is one of several positioned on a floor of a huge building but if you follow their directions you will easily find it!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitten196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domuslivia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review and your high rating. I am happy to read that you had spent a nice time at Domus Livia. Thank you for your recommendation. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

Bed and breakfast? Maybe this type of accommodation could have an own category. They have renovated some cosy rooms to a flat in the city, all visitors have own room and bathroom. Only difference to a hotel is that the breakfast is served to the room. Really good value for money!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hanni l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domuslivia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
We're really pleased to read your review. Thank you for your nice words about our B&B .Do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Roma. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

verry good things:
- Location: on Via Nazionale, a 5-minute walk from Termini / str Marsala, where SITBusShuttle and Teravvision buses arrive from Ciampino/Fiumicino.
- Connections with the city: a 2-minute walk from the metro station Republica, very close to the hotel on Via Nazionale stop buses 40 express, 60, 64, 70, 170 that connect hotel to Piazza Venezia, Piazza Argentina, Castle San'Angelo, Bocca della Verita .
- Shops / restaurants: 2 minutes away from the hotel in the right side it's a Despar store, on the left it's a Mc Donald's. Near are many restaurants, pizzerias.
- WiFi: works pretty well.
- Rooms no1 to 5 overlooks the front of the hotel on Via Nazionale. Room no 6 overlook the back.
- The ladies at the reception: Susanna and Marisa are a real treasures. Very friendly and nice, can give information on transportation, restaurants, tours, shows, museums.
- Room / bathroom were very clean.
- Breakfast is brought into the room (juice, coffee, yogurt, rolls, butter, jam, croissants).
Mattress too hard for me

Room Tip: Room no 6 overlook the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domuslivia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
We thank you a lot for your great comment. We are glad to know that you loved your stay at Domus Livia again.We will be pleased to welcome you always for your next trip in Rome.Our kind regards to all of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Gea di Vulcano
Hotel Gea di Vulcano
#324 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#62 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Esquilino
Floris Hotel
Floris Hotel
#232 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#212 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#208 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Esquilino
Welcome House
Welcome House
#847 of 3,762 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Livia Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Livia Suites

Property: Domus Livia Suites
Address: Via Nazionale 230, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 3,762 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Livia Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classy residence (First class auth.n.6329) with competitive prices in the historical center of Rome.A new concept in hospitality, as an alternative to the traditional hotel accommodation or to the simple bed & breakfast. In a strategic position among the Colosseum and the famous Spanish steps, at only 400 meters from Termini station…in a prestigious 19th century building, in a luxurious residence, with a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domus Livia Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Livia Rome
Domus Livia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing