We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed second visit!”
Review of Hotel Centro Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Centro Roma
Ranked #505 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Michigan
Level Contributor
185 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Disappointed second visit!”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We booked this hotel becuase we had stayed here before and it is in a great location near Repubblica metro station..... but we would probably not book again without the guarantee of staying in an upper level room.

The 1st room we had was on one of the upper floors and was ok for a historic 3 star hotel in the city center & close to transport. This time, our room was on the lower level (down a few stairs and then back up) and it was really not a good stay. The carpet on the steps leading up to the room was in horrible shape, almost black with dirt!

The shower was so small, you couldn't even turn around in it and it did not even have a shelf to put any kind of shampoo or soap. I am not a large person and this was ridiculous in size!!

I had to put my soap and shampoo on the sink outside the tub and reach for it each time. We were only there for 2 nights, so we did not complain... but having to stay a week would be unacceptable.

Very disappointing stay :~(

Room Tip: Make sure you get an upper level room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelLover985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    217
    90
    39
    18
See reviews for
124
189
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We recently stayed at The Hotel Centro in Rome for four nights and found it to be comfortable, clean, well-priced, and very well located. Over the course of our three weeks in Italy and many different hotels I thought this hotel was one of the best we stayed in. Our room was quiet and spacious and the hotel staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2SeattleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

A great value. Great location being near the Termini train station as well as a metro stop and the main bus lines on Via Nationale. There are also plenty of great restaurants within a very short walk.
The staff was extremely helpful and provided several great suggestions for transportation and restaurants. Don't hesitate to ask them. They do offer a private shuttle to/from the airport. It was 60 euro for 4 of us, so not much more than the train.
They do have free WiFi, just ask for the password.
The rooms are small and basic, but comfortable and quiet. Overall it was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: The WiFi works best in the lobby, so if you stay over it (on the second floor), you have a better ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cartrek1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for five days. The location is great and the cost reasonable.. It is a very short walk to Piazza della Repubblica with its huge central fountain, the historic Santa Maria degli Angeli, which was formerly Emperor Diocletian's baths, a street market, the Roma Termini station and pick up points for tour buses. A Metro station for the underground is in the piazza. The reception and breakfast room staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Of course, the breakfast is free and more than adequate. The immediate neighborhood has a number of good, moderately priced restaurants. A McDonald's, convenience stores, fruit stand, are all just steps away. For the hardy walker, Santa Maria Maggiore is about a 20 minute walk away and its bell tower can be easily seen to aide in orientation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louis_McCall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

i was here with my partner in september and wow! Was it close to attractions... Yes!! Plenty of restaurants and shops to choose from. we could easily manage walking to trevi fountain and collesseum, great public transport at your fingertips! Yes it is a 3 star but who cares who sleep, shower and eat breakfast. Room was a good size and bathroom was also good. No problems here, will stay here again!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I visited this hotel for 4 days with a friend. It is situated close to Termini Station, McDonalds, good restaurants and even clothing shops. Also close to this Hotel you can find a ticket booth and a bus stop for visiting most of the attractions around Rome. I was very delighted and happy with the service over-all, and mostly with the Hotel Front desk receptionists, which one of them was very helpful in guiding us to the best shopping mall and good nightlife, even more he did give us good advices and suggestions. The rooms were tidy and comfortable for two people, it even had a little refrigirator full of beverages(you have to pay afterwards). Cleaning services were efficient and done everyday. The morning breakfast was good ranging from cold cuts to sweet pastry. I surely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PawleyMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Visited August 2013:

A group of 4 of us arrived from termini station and it is very very close! Maybe a 5 min walk from termini. We checked in smoothly no problems at all. We had a double standard room. Internet does not work in the rooms only downstairs at reception which was a slightly inconvienent. The beds were comfy and no problems sleeping: nothing was heard from the streets outside to which many people were complaining when I was reading reviews. Clean sheets, clean room, no bugs, ac works, tv works (nothing in english) and a working phone! The bathroom was also very clean and we were impressed: no mold or stains anywhere! We thought these bathrooms were newly renovated because they were that nice! Good water pressure, and hot water. Breakfast was provided included the same thing everyday:buns, cheese, cold cuts, pastries, coffee and very limited selection of fruits which was usually gone if you decided to sleep late. The rooms are not that small! We fit comfortably with no problems with all our luggages!

Rooms were cleaned everyday with no problems. We did not get a safe and decided to keep everything important on us at all times like passports and phones.

OVERALL: A really good hotel which I reccommend staying in! We will definetly be staying here again if ever coming back to Rome.

***When staying in Rome, there are pickpockets everywhere however if you take care of your bags and always have your eyes on it you will be okay! Nothing was taken from us thankfully. Beware in the metro and buses as it gets so tight you won't even know if someone is robbing you!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tremo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#216 of 1,256 in Rome
1,191 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#419 of 1,256 in Rome
616 reviews
Esquilino
Corona Hotel
Corona Hotel
#389 of 1,256 in Rome
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#211 of 1,256 in Rome
933 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#237 of 1,256 in Rome
1,461 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Dorica
Hotel Dorica
#350 of 1,256 in Rome
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centro Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centro Roma

Property: Hotel Centro Roma
Address: Via Firenze 12, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #505 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centro Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Centro Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centro Roma Hotel
Centro Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing