We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”
Review of Hotel Centro Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Centro Roma
Ranked #577 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Very disappoined, shower tiny and did not drain well. Noisy. Breaksfast, avoid at all costs especially the plastic wrapped cheese slices, cockroaches seem to like?
Might be OK if you want to be close to train station for one night but not that close to all else

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simonp1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

We had a great stay at this hotel. Staff very gracious. Let us tour both the upper floor room and the downstairs room. Upper floor had a very nice balcony with a view but we needed more space. Traveling with two grown teenage boys. We stayed in the downstairs 2 bedroom with 2 baths. Worked great for us. In the evening could walk right outside our room to what we called our living room with couches and big screen TV. We could access the internet in that area and felt like we had lots of room. Breakfast area located close by also. We walked around all of the city from this hotel.

Room Tip: See my review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank apat432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is the hotel I stay at, and recommend to friends and business associates, on where to stay while visiting the beautiful Eternal City of Rome. Be it a couples stay, family, business or group. The folks here at Hotel Centro are very friendly and always ready to assist with great places to see, where to eat, etc.

Centrally located(hence the name), across the street from the "Teatro Dell' Opera" (Rome Opera House) 10 min walk to the main train station (Roma termini), 5 min walk to the Republica Metro stop and a 25 min walk to the city center...you can't beat that!

Sebastian

Room Tip: near great places to eat typical Roman food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sebastian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We booked this hotel becuase we had stayed here before and it is in a great location near Repubblica metro station..... but we would probably not book again without the guarantee of staying in an upper level room.

The 1st room we had was on one of the upper floors and was ok for a historic 3 star hotel in the city center & close to transport. This time, our room was on the lower level (down a few stairs and then back up) and it was really not a good stay. The carpet on the steps leading up to the room was in horrible shape, almost black with dirt!

The shower was so small, you couldn't even turn around in it and it did not even have a shelf to put any kind of shampoo or soap. I am not a large person and this was ridiculous in size!!

I had to put my soap and shampoo on the sink outside the tub and reach for it each time. We were only there for 2 nights, so we did not complain... but having to stay a week would be unacceptable.

Very disappointing stay :~(

Room Tip: Make sure you get an upper level room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravelLover985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We recently stayed at The Hotel Centro in Rome for four nights and found it to be comfortable, clean, well-priced, and very well located. Over the course of our three weeks in Italy and many different hotels I thought this hotel was one of the best we stayed in. Our room was quiet and spacious and the hotel staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2SeattleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

A great value. Great location being near the Termini train station as well as a metro stop and the main bus lines on Via Nationale. There are also plenty of great restaurants within a very short walk.
The staff was extremely helpful and provided several great suggestions for transportation and restaurants. Don't hesitate to ask them. They do offer a private shuttle to/from the airport. It was 60 euro for 4 of us, so not much more than the train.
They do have free WiFi, just ask for the password.
The rooms are small and basic, but comfortable and quiet. Overall it was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: The WiFi works best in the lobby, so if you stay over it (on the second floor), you have a better ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cartrek1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for five days. The location is great and the cost reasonable.. It is a very short walk to Piazza della Repubblica with its huge central fountain, the historic Santa Maria degli Angeli, which was formerly Emperor Diocletian's baths, a street market, the Roma Termini station and pick up points for tour buses. A Metro station for the underground is in the piazza. The reception and breakfast room staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Of course, the breakfast is free and more than adequate. The immediate neighborhood has a number of good, moderately priced restaurants. A McDonald's, convenience stores, fruit stand, are all just steps away. For the hardy walker, Santa Maria Maggiore is about a 20 minute walk away and its bell tower can be easily seen to aide in orientation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louis_McCall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#460 of 1,272 in Rome
631 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#204 of 1,272 in Rome
1,005 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#226 of 1,272 in Rome
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel California
Hotel California
#280 of 1,272 in Rome
949 reviews
Monti
Hotel Picasso
Hotel Picasso
#496 of 1,272 in Rome
302 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#211 of 1,272 in Rome
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centro Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centro Roma

Address: Via Firenze 12, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #577 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £48 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centro Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Centro Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centro Roma Hotel
Centro Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing