We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location, value and service of any other hotel in Rome”
Review of Hotel Prati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Prati
Ranked #530 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
boston, ma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best location, value and service of any other hotel in Rome”
Reviewed 2 October 2009

This is a hidden gem...just a block from St. Peter's, very friendly staff and beautiful rooms...would could go back in a heartbeat

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniemacBoston_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    104
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
48
85
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, PA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

I had booked a room at a different hotel in the area, but after we arrived at that hotel and waited several hours for our room to become available, we were taken to "a different room." It turns out that the room was not only different, it was at a different hotel, the Hotel Prati. We were exhausted and laden with luggage for a 3 week trip, and tings looked pretty sad at first, but Fabio and Luigi patiently put us up.

After a long nap, life began to look better. So much better that we didn;t go back to the 1st hotel as we were supposed to, but stayed at the Prati. And I would stay here again anytime! Yes, the rooms are small, but it is a 2 star hotel, and I didn;t come to Rome to stay in my room. The bath is small but well equipped. The shower is fantastic. The small bars of soap worked fine, as did the envelopes of shampoo. The linen towels did their job. And the beds are fantastically comfortable. The air conditioner works beautifully, and there is a nice cross ventilation if you choose to turn off the air conditioner and sleep with the windows open. We were lulled to sleep by the sounds of the city.

The location is perfect. We are within easy walking distance of Vatican City, Castel San Angelo, and the Burgo. The Piazza Navonna is not far by foot.

The desk staff are patient (beyond belief!), diplomatic, friendly and helpful. They delight in helping me with my Italian, and really rescued us from a very difficult situation.

We found the hotel by accident, but I would come back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

I spent 7 excellent days at Hotel Prati. A number of things stand out from this experience. First to be highlighted, was the very warm and professional service from the entire staff. I always felt at home and well supported when I need guidance or assistance. Second, the room was very pleasant, exceptionally clean, and cozy (but well designed to make the most of limited space.) It had comfortable beds, towels refreshed daily, a great air conditioning system, a nice audio system for the rooms, sound proofed windows (which I know worked well as I was on the first level.) The Internet connection is free, and the hotel provides two comfortable lounge areas as well as a work center with two computer stations.
This hotel is an excellent value for the money, has a lift, is in a very convenient and safe location just a few blocks to public transport, the Vatican, and good shopping streets. A number of coffee "bars" are quite close where one can have breakfast, and some very good restaurants are steps away.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We spent 2 nights here last week for the Champions Leauge final. This hotel has an excellent location. Its central position means you can walk to some of the major historical sites: Vatican, Piazza Navona, Castel Sant' Angelo. There is a good shopping area close by and plenty of smaller restaurants and pavement cafes for breakfast and late night ice creams, wine and beer. The nearest metro is Ottaviano and the hotel is on a main bus thoroughfare.
The rooms are very compact, with the smallest bath/shower rooms but it was adequate enough for our purpose. The air conditioning worked efficiently and the shower was powerful (if a little cramped). The bed was comfortable and the rooms were spotlessly clean. The hotel has recently been revamped. The hotel does not provide breakfast but there is plenty of choice from nearby cafes. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. We were a party of 5, requiring 3 rooms and they were able to place us all on the same floor. Email correspondence with the hotel was prompt and they were very accommodating with our requests. Best to book directly with the hotel rather than through a third party.
This is a great central city tourist hotel and excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights in may 09. Newly renovated, clean and friendly hotel. The staff are co-operative and professional. Located very close to Vatican and near the Metro. Good food around the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kolhapuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, KY
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2008

We found the Prati a good value. It is very, very clean. It is only a few blocks from the Vatican and within walking distance of most of the sites of Rome. Good dining is a fairly short walk away. Super friendly and helpful front desk staff. Excellent Internet connection with two terminals. The operative word for the hotel is small, though. The elevator holds two - if they are embracing. The rooms are fairly small. The baths appear to be newly renovated, but they are small and lack a place to put toiletries, etc. The shower stall is very small.

A couple of caveats - the only toiletry supplied was a small bar of soap. Also, they supposedly have hairdriers at the desk. However, we were only able to get one for 1 of 3 showers. Recommend adopting a hairstyle that doesn't require drying or bringing your own.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Difficulty with hairdryers
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Skeddadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington D.C.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2008

I gave this hotel above average, b/c of the location, staff and free internet in the lobby. The rooms were very clean... a little small, but thats to be expected in a big city. The bathroom was very new and clean. The price was the selling point for this hotel, but in our trip to Italy... this was one of the better hotels... just mins from the Vatican city. I would stay here again and recommended it to travelers on a budget. Also, the rooms have windows that completely lock out any sound from the busy streets... definitely a plus if you would like to sleep in.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The floors are concrete... it would have been nice to have carpet.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nevada17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#253 of 1,261 in Rome
586 reviews
Prati
Hotel Gerber
Hotel Gerber
#369 of 1,261 in Rome
315 reviews
Prati
The B Place
The B Place
#571 of 1,261 in Rome
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Dei Consoli
Hotel Dei Consoli
#486 of 1,261 in Rome
788 reviews
Prati
Hotel Silla
Hotel Silla
#517 of 1,261 in Rome
134 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Adriatic Hotel
Adriatic Hotel
#513 of 1,261 in Rome
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prati

Property: Hotel Prati
Address: Via Crescenzio 89 | Nuovo Prati SrL, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#258 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Prati 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Prati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prati Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing