We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No comfort; Not cozy”
Review of Roma CentrArte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Roma CentrArte
Ranked #3,121 of 3,765 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Hard to find, located on deadend street. Bait and switch rooms not as they appear on Internet. Owners were mean spirited and unaccomodating. Construction on building during my stay (dusty/dirty entrance) booked for three nights but only stayed one night because the service and atmosphere was so negative. Didn't feel like a place I wanted to lay my head and rest. Found a lovely room at The Opera Hotel around the corner and slept like a baby.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gailisinjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 10 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

This is a B&B with an excellent location, very close to most of the main attractions. This is about 10 min walk from termini and has some very good restaurants around.

its a little difficult to find this place, but with a google map, pretty peaceful.

My partner and I stayed in room #1, with the washroom down the corridor. This was a compact room with a snappy italian breakfast in the room.

The hostess and her family were very helpful during our stay, especially when we lost our wallet and had to take her help to block the cards and make alternate arrangements. Its a good clean place to sleep over, and have a good walk over to any of the attractions.

travelled in oct 2011

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiniPooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We spent 4 nights in a one bedroom apt in march. This apt was perfectly located within ten minutes walk to termini station, and 10-15 mins to most attractions. The apt was on the top floor but unfortunately we could not see over the stone balcony to the main street below! There was no chairs for balcony anywayThe bedroom was large and spacious, a double bed and plenty of storage with extra bedding supplied. The living/dining room had a large sofa that pulled into a double bed and they also supplied us with a single fold up bed. The kitchen was fully fitted with full size cooker, fridge and washing machine! It was very handy having the kitchen to cook food and make tea/coffee. There was a well equipped supermarket around the corner, which sold almost anything, and had delicious bread! Our only real gripe is the bathroom! It was located off the bedroom, so one had to enter the bedroom to use the loo! Not very practical at night, when someone is sleeping, and no privacy! The staff were very helpful when we arrived, we had organised transport, and they were there on time. They did not come to clean but I would imagine if you were staying longer they would? I would stay here again mainly because of the location, and convenience of self catering, but expect no frills!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabethDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We spent three nights in the one bedroom apartment in June - the purpose for our trip was purely sightseeing so we literally wanted somewhere clean to dump our bags and be able to get a good night's sleep and this really fit the bill! Perfectly located within five minutes walk of Roma Termini, 10 minutes from the Spanish Steps and 20 minutes from the Colosseum.

We had two in the main bedroom and two on the sofa bed and it was perfectly comfortable. Only downside was that the apartment wasn't very well sound proofed and the air conditioning wasn't particularly powerful, so it wasn't the best night's sleep (but this is written by the person sleeping on the sofa bed!).

Good value for money and perfect for the purpose.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ld92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

a 3 room only hotel which the room number 2 being very small and completely impracticle. the reason is that a mezzanine level has been built in the room so the upstairs resulting room has a ceiling so low that noone can stand in it and the double bed placed there is placed such as one of the sleeper cannot sit upright in it with no reading light upstairs either. the metal narrow spiral staircase that leads up to the mezzanine level is very dangerous and so narrow that a lugage cannot be hauled up it. breakfast is unacceptable and made of a jar of nescafe, a UHT pack of milk and tetra pack of juice, a pack of slice bread which was not replaced in the 5 days we stayed there (no toaster and no plates, no butter), a jar of jam, a few packs of commercially plastic wrapped croissants which we were told could be warmed up in the microwave oven placed in the common corridor.... not exacly the sort of breakfast you look forward to when you wake up in Rome. otherwise a good quiet position though access is difficult . friendly staff and the management does try to be helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Okay so when we first got to this place the lady asked to be paid up front so know that in advance. She is so sweet! She took our bags and carried them around the corner which seemed a little shady but then she took us to this HUGE apartment on the top floor of this building looking out onto Via Nationale. It has a great bed and bathroom and a full kitchen and a great patio. This place made our experience so local we felt like we actually lived here. There is a grocery store conveniently down the street and you can save so much money doing this. The poor lady who owns the place dealt with all of my phone calls and us blowing a fuse and took care of EVERYTHING for us. Just have her number in your phone and you are solid. This place may seem expensive but its the same price as any hostel in town really. Great location too, would recommend to anyone. Oh and don't freak out but breakfast doesn't exist, its only called a B&B in Italy if you own less than 6 rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephaniekroll21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2008

The prize is a bit high, but not if you compare with the other B&B and related to the period the year (end of May).
The location is BRILLIANT! 5 minutes by walk from the tube station, 10 minutes from Roma Termini Station and minutes from "Altare della Patria" (Piazza Venezia) and not more than 20minutes to the other most important attraction of Rome.
The rooms are really nice, "warm" and comfortable, in particular the one in two levels, really nice for couple that stay there for quite “long” period. One of the room has a bathroom not inside room, it’s in the next door but only for you.
The breakfast is not English, it’s the typically Italian one with coffee, milk, juice and marmalade, so for me was perfect!
The owner are fine, they don’t create any problems. They just want you pay in cash, but I paid after 3 days so I could take out money form the cash machine in different times.

My judgment is EXCELLENT

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mack81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,273 in Rome
7,028 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#454 of 1,273 in Rome
301 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#106 of 1,273 in Rome
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#221 of 1,273 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#74 of 1,273 in Rome
1,455 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roma CentrArte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roma CentrArte

Address: Via Modena 32, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,121 of 3,765 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £53 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few meters from the Palazzo del Quirinale, in a strategic point of Rome's historic center, its proximity to museums, historical sites, ancient Roman ruins, famous squares and typical places of Rome, in an elegant building of 1600, there are two elegant apartments and bright with stunning views of the monuments, churches and the rooftops of Rome, are visible from the apartment is the largest dome of St. Peter that Quirinale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Roma CentrArte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing