We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well at least the location was good and it was clean ... but ...”
Review of B & B Suburbe Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B & B Suburbe Roma
Ranked #1,335 of 3,692 Rome B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Well at least the location was good and it was clean ... but ...”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The bad:

80 Euros a night for either freezing cold water or steaming hot water (nothing in he middle); no AC in 36C weather; the cleaning stuff did not understand english and the owners weren't to be found so we couldn't really complain; the elevator didn't work; Had to wait outside for an hour when we checked in before the cleaning staff let us in (poorly organized). The kicked was in the middle of the night there are large recycling bins with glass bottles that get picked up right outside the room at 3am ... so hopefully you are really really deep sleepers otherwise you are scr*wed.

The good:

Great location if the garbage bins were not right outside your door and get picked up at 3am making lots of noise. Clean.

Room Tip: I would try another place ... anywhere but here ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    37
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
20
44
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto-ish
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The GOOD:
Very clean room, modern looking bathroom, and located right beside a lively little piazza with a view right over a beautiful fountain. There are three restaurants/cafe's in the piazza and the location is very good for seeing the sites of ancient Rome. We rented a scooter and there was always free parking available at the front of the building.

The BAD:
1. There is no front desk and nobody was there to meet us and let us into the building.
A buzzer at the front door is the only way to let them know you've arrived. We tried to telephone them but it was no use since clearly, nobody was in the office. We arrived at the agreed upon time (after email confirmation over a week earlier) and waited for about an hour before by chance, another B&B owner in that building was nice enough to call the cell phone of the lady working there. She showed up without a word to us, sitting on the floor as we were. Her name was Maria and she spoke limited English.

2. There was NO AIR CONDITIONING in any of the rooms or the tiny little front office. We were there in the middle of August and let me tell you, it was HOT and the rooms are on the fourth floor (even HOTTER). She tells us the a/c is broken and brings in someone to look at it but then they both leave without a word to us and we're left just assuming that it couldn't be fixed.

3. At times there was NO COLD WATER. Yup! Only hot or scalding hot. We were able to take ONE cold shower in the middle of the night to cool us off, then it was nothing but hot after that. What are you supposed to do with scalding hot water in 37 degree weather?? I read other reviews that said there was only cold water and no hot. So basically, you will either get hot OR cold water but rarely both in equal amounts.

4. At 3am, the garbage truck comes to dump the 6 bins of recycling right outside the building. If we had a/c and were able to close the very impressive looking windows, it might not have been quite so loud. But we had no a/c and it was loud. And they came to dump the bins both nights that we were there, both times at 3am.

5. There is NO BREAKFAST. Maria said the cappuccino machine was broken and we could just have instant Nescafe using tap water and the little kettle in our room. There's also some pre-packaged biscuits and cookies of unknown age. Being in Italy for probably the only time in my life, I'm not going to drink tap water nescafe and old broken biscuits for breakfast. On expedia there is a picture of a cute little kitchen which one must assume is for breakfast...but we never saw this room.

If it hadn't been so hot, I would have said this B&B is good for folks just looking for a central location and a place to sleep. But we didn't get any sleep here and the service was so terrible we're a little upset that we paid full price for NO breakfast, NO air conditioning, and NO cold water. Another strange thing, is that the cleaning lady comes in the morning and just sits in the office waiting for you to leave the room so she can clean it.

Had the owner been around it might have been a different story. It's a shame because this cute little B&B could have been great.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blissful78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We were four staying in the two bed apartment. Both the main bed and pullout were very comfortable and we had a well equipped kitchen that we used a couple of times. With a small shop right in the square outside as well as a few restaurants it was perfect for self catering.

The hotel was in a great location, 15 minutes from the station and with the Colosseum virtually at the end of the road there really wasn't anything to complain about.

Unfortunately it was pot luck whether or not we got any hot water over our 4 night stay as the apartment and 2 double rooms share the same small boiler. It's a hot country but a hot shower is still needed!

Also, our bed sheets were not replaced over the four days and the room only cleaned once as far as we could tell. The back door was also left open by the maid a few times which I didn't feel comfortable about having all my travel money stowed inside.

In summary I would recommend this as a good value, very central, and reasonable quality apartment with little to complain about.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oli_Sparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed here actually back in Sept 2009. Great place with great service. You do have to walk up stairs for those who are not physically able to climb stairs. Walking distance to many places to eat. Noisy meeting place at the fountain, but the newer windows block out the sound when closed. Very safe place.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room at the left end of the hall. Quiet with great bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yohalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Two couples stayed September 2010, rennovation nearly complete , not a problem for us . Love the position , so close to everything Collosseum on your doorstep. Blend in with the locals at the Piazza right next door for a sundowner or meal, or just a coffee and newspaper.
Ennio very friendly and helpful, we will be back . Jim Denise Grant Lynne

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcroeser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Amazing location! You can see the Colosseum from the doorway! Underneath the window there is a Fountain which is the life of the party! Great big room with a high ceiling and state of the art bathroom, prompt cleaning service, fresh towels, delicious continental breakfast, unlimited coffee, tea and Nutella. Safe, clean, private. the train is right behind the building. The only negative was getting the suitcase up to the 4th floor, but the owner was so nice he carried it for me. You can't find a better deal in all of Rome!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madparik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

I can't believe what have read about this B&B, we have stayed here 3 times in the last 4 years and have never had a problem. In Marc h there was a bit of building work going on but not much to bother about.

The rooms are basic but comfortable and the bathrooms are very modern and clean. We have stayed in both rooms overlooking the piazza and both were good. This year was the first time we had been with the double glazing fitted and this makes a huge difference.

The location of the B&B is spot on, turn left out of the front door and the Colloseum is in front of you about a 5 min walk, the forum is also 5 mins away.

There are some good restaurants nearby that tend to be cheaper than the ones near the main attractions. The bar in the piazza is great with a mix of age groups chilling out by day and night. The piazza is a meeting point for the locals which makes it quite buzzy with a friendly atmosphere and no hint of trouble.

All in all a great B&B in a great location.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marvic140908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Piazzetta de' Monti Suites
Piazzetta de' Monti Suites
#826 of 3,692 in Rome
19 reviews
Monti
Nerva Accomodation
Nerva Accomodation
#78 of 3,692 in Rome
546 reviews
Monti
B&B Room To Rome
B&B Room To Rome
#1,151 of 3,692 in Rome
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Cibele Bed&Breakfast
Cibele Bed&Breakfast
#112 of 3,692 in Rome
208 reviews
Monti
Hotel Ferraro
Hotel Ferraro
#1,063 of 3,692 in Rome
108 reviews
Monti
Cavour Forum Suites
Cavour Forum Suites
#881 of 3,692 in Rome
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Suburbe Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Suburbe Roma

Property: B & B Suburbe Roma
Address: 3rd Floor Via Dei Serpenti 164, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,335 of 3,692 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — B & B Suburbe Roma 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your B & B Suburbe Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b & b Suburbe Roma Hotel Rome
Bed And Breakfast Suburbe Roma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing