We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, loads of noise and no electricity!!”
Review of B & B Suburbe Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B & B Suburbe Roma
Ranked #1,320 of 3,743 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 July 2010

When we turned up at the suburbe B&B we were quite taken aback with the fact that it looked like they were undergoing renovation. Well.... as we climbed the stairs we knew that there were most certainly renovating the place. The room was ok. Tv did not have any English Channels, and the worst of it all... when we returened in the evening after going out for dinner on the first night, we opened the main doors and the whole building - apart from the bedroom area was in total darkness. Woke up in the morning, and spoke to one of the assistants, who said that they were hoping to get the lights fixed. Funningly enough, the lights in the hallway and the stair cases leading to the other floors were on and 10am in the morning?!?! Second night - again we returned and there was NO Electricity again! We had to use the light from our mobiles to go up the stairs..... it was pitch black, wires hanging out of the walls, and the place was in a mess. The 3 nights we were there, three was no electricity at night. We never got to meet the manager to complain about this. I do not usually take time out to review hotels, but felt the compelling need to do so on this occassion. Before booking, I would recommend you find out if there are still renovating the place, I think the manager was deceitful with the fact he did not mention the place was undergoing major renovating after we had communicated via e-mail prior to arriving there. the work they builders were doing woke us up at 7.30 in the morning, you could not have a lie in even if you wanted to. It was horrible to say the least, with dust coming into the rooms from outside the wooden shuttle windows
This might be a lovely place when the place is decent and habital, but right now I would not recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nubs80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2010

The location of the B&B and the landlord Ennio are great.

Upon arrival at the B&B, we were greeted by a construction site as the building was undergoing renovation.

We stayed at the apartment as we were travelling with young children. The apartment was sufficient for the four of us however there was a serious lack of housekeeping. There was a thick layer of dust on the stove, on top of the chairs, airconditioner and the carpet showed traces of breadcrumbs. On top of that, the housekeeping lady was respectful enough to ring our doorbell at 0900hrs on a Sunday morning to ask us if we have seen any boxes of shoes! This was the most absurd thing that I have ever came across.

We were thankful for the double glazed windows as it minimised the noise from the Piazza below. Even though the double glazed windows were in place, we could still hear the noise at 0400hrs.

I would recommend this B&B due to it's location and the individual rooms however not the apartment.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank Pickles30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Stayed at Suburbe for long weekend. great place.
First easy to get to. Bus from airport to main train station (termini) then you can either metro to Cava stop (2 stops down) or walk straight down via cavour road about 10mins and take right into Via dei serpenti, b & b just down on right - if you go past square youve gone too far.
The room was good - much better than expected - your not getting 5 star but the bathroom was new,clean,modern. The free coffee and snacks and use of fridge was great.
The location was fantastic, right next to the plaza, where you can sit with the locals and drink,eat,snack. Ok it is noisy, but we didnt mind the hussle of it all, it added to it. When you shut the window you cut out most of the noise. There are shops,convenience shops all at hand. You can see the Colosuem from the front door, and its all very central and easy to get around.
I did alot of research before going, and found accomodation in Rome is expensive, but this B&B was so good for the money.

If I was going back to Rome, I would definately stay there again, and recommend it to everyone.

Its a must.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lavenderips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Myself and my partner stayed here for 3 nights. We found it to be good. We had a nice welcome and breakfast was provided (they bought bread, ham, salami, cheese and yoghurts and placed in the fridge in our room). We were in a larger room/apartment. We had a bedroom, then the bathroom then the good size kitchen room which also had a sofa. The coffee machine made great coffee (also provided).

Location is EXCELLENT. We walked everywhere from here (Vatican, collesium (just 5 mins by walking), spanish steps and everything in between.

Overall I would definitly stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polmanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

I spent ten days at Sub Urbe with my partner, including christmas eve and christmas day. We had the opportunity to meet with Ennio at the beginning of our stay, but after that our only contact was with Argentinia, who is very sweet but speaks no English or French, only Italian and Romanian (I believe). We had no contact with the other guests. Though the building is nondescript, the B&B is very comfortable. There are no "hotel style" services available, like concierge or room service. I believe the cost of our room was 89 euro per night, because we were visiting in the off-season. We did not pre-pay. No discount for cash payments, and they accept Visa and Mastercard (no American Express). There is free wireless internet in the rooms.

We had the large room, which overlooks the square. It has a king size bed, flatscreen TV (Reception is good, but the only english channel is the BBC) and a full bathroom. The Bed is plush and comfortable, though it's comprised of two small beds pushed together, so they can drift apart if you're not careful. The bathroom is very modern and clean but not well heated, the tile flooring gets cold at night. Rain-style shower, the pressure is unimpressive but it gets you clean. It's a little small (what I gather is standard in Europe) but serviceable. (Far too small for two people to "save water" by showering together.) The heating in the bedroom was adequate, but the room was still a little cool for our tastes- then again, we were visiting from New Orleans, where the temperature was 85 degrees when we left!

The location has to be seen. I was amazed at how close we were to everything! You leave the front door of the building and the Colosseum is on your left. Amazing shopping just steps away. An easy walk to the Forum Some restaurants in the area are very touristy and should be avoided (avoid any place that accepts american express), but some of the quieter restaurants are just outstanding. As well, there are many local shops (like Delis) that serve sandwiches and pizza al taglio. Once you've had a fresh prosciutto or cappicola sandwich, with tomato, basil and mozzarella, you'll be hooked.

As the other reviews have said, there's a shared fridge with juices available, as well as a shared cappuccino machine for coffee. The breakfast coupons provided can be redeemed for a Cornetto and Cappuccino across the square at a Cafe. Our room had a kettle with teas, and various chocolates and cookies which were replaced daily as we noshed through them. For christmas eve, Argentinia left us small bottles of Champagne (excuse me, Prosecco!) and Panettone cake. It was a thoughtful and unexpected gift.

I speak french and english and managed to get by with a phrasebook. We had a great time exploring rome. It's an enchanting and romantic city, and our room was wonderfully cozy. Nothing was open on christmas day, except for a Chinese restaurant nearby, it was eerily calm and quiet. We would have loved to gone to the Vatican for christmas day, but it was cold and rainy and the subway wasn't running.

We had an amazing time in Rome. Milan is next on our list of italian cities to visit, but if we ever return to rome I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Sub Urbe. I would recommend it to anyone who is independent and doesn't need handholding. It's a good value, the price is very reasonable for a clean, modern room in a great location.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ungarsfragile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

We stayed here at Easter and found it a great little place which we would definitely recommend to others.

I'd booked it based on the reviews on here and after spending hours trawling the internet searching for a reasonably priced place to stay - which seem to be few and far between in Rome!

This fitted the bill perfectly.

The location is ideal - you can actually see the Colosseum from the main road, so it has a real wow factor when you arrive. We found it was a great base for exploring the city as we were handy for all of the main attractions and the main train station and bus station were within easy walking distance - it took us about 15 minutes to get there, but you'd probably want to take a taxi if you have heavy luggage, rather than try to negotiate your way through the busy streets and speeding mopeds!

The owner was really friendly and welcoming and even carried our cases up the three flights of stairs for us. He gave us recommendations for restaurants and places to go and a handy map which we put to good use seeing the sights. He isn't based in the hotel full time and there is no reception as such, but he gave us his mobile number in case we needed to contact him.

The hotel is in a pretty little square, which has a fountain and a few cafes and small shops and is very atmospheric. In the evenings you can sit and listen to the sound of the water trickling and the babble of the locals sitting around chatting and having a drink. It's quite a lively place at all times of day and night.

Some of the previous reviews have mentioned that it was noisy, but the owner was at great pains to point out to us that he has had new windows fitted since then, which keep the noise out. We certainly didn't have any problems. In fact it was quite nice to sit with the windows open listening to the sounds coming from below.

We were in the double room which looked out over the square. The room itself was very clean and quite modern, especially the bathroom which had a great shower with plenty of space to move about in. There was a flat screen TV and air conditioning, although we didn't use it as the weather was not too hot.

For breakfast we were given vouchers to use at one of the cafes in the square for a croissant and a cappuccino, which suited us nicely. There was also a kettle in the room and tea, coffee and herbal teas and some sweets and chocolates. They even had a little bowl of Easter eggs in the room for us as it was Easter when we were there, which we thought was a really nice touch.

In the reception area there is a coffee machine which you can use at any time and a fridge stocked with fruit juices, milk and yogurt which you can help yourself to.

In all it was a great find and I would highly recommend staying there. The only issue would perhaps be the stairs, as the hotel is on the third floor and there is no lift. But having said that, I am not the fittest of people by any stretch of the imagination but coped with them fine.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

The place is great. The room is large enough, clean. The wireless net was good. The last day we meet the owner and he was asking us about the noise from the outside in the room as he recently installed sound proof windows. You can't hear outside noise if the window is closed. In the room there was a table with kettle (for tee or coffee), tee bags, some coffee bags and some snacks. We took a lot of small chocolate :)

Don't expect a big breakfast, it's a some kind a ticket and with that you can eat croissant and some hot drink in small restaurant down stairs.

The rooms are on the 3rd floor without a lift so if you have one big suitcase (28KG) it's a big thing.

Our friend was in other hotel and she was not happy at all, she liked our place more, it was closer and in better position, bigger than the room she stayed as well.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend my friends to stay there as well.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ICT_conrtactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#456 of 1,270 in Rome
299 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,270 in Rome
6,966 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,270 in Rome
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#227 of 1,270 in Rome
665 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#355 of 1,270 in Rome
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Suburbe Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Suburbe Roma

Address: 3rd Floor Via Dei Serpenti 164, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,320 of 3,743 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £70 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — B & B Suburbe Roma 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your B & B Suburbe Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b & b Suburbe Roma Hotel Rome
Bed And Breakfast Suburbe Roma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing