We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location - but some problems”
Review of B & B Suburbe Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B & B Suburbe Roma
Ranked #1,263 of 3,644 Rome B&B and Inns
Norway
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice location - but some problems”
Reviewed 25 July 2007

Went with my family and spent nearly a week there. I had contact by e-mail with the owner and he arranged a car to pick us up at the airport. The driver could only speak italian and when we arrive the hotel the owner was in vacation and the couple that checked us in only speaked italian. We got at bit frustrated because there was so many things that we want to ask about since it was the first time we was in Rome.

Location is great and we walked a lot. We even got a car one day and drove to Pompeii. But the driving in Rome is hard because you must watch out all the schooters and other cars, they drive like crazy many of them.

Do not expect too much of the breakfast because it is a croisant and a cup of coffie at a bar, but ther is a lot of nice resturants nearby and one of them (at the corner direction Colosseum) has great pizza. I would recomand an ordinary taxi and not the pickup service the owner arrange, because it is more expensive and the morning we were going back at the airport the car showed up nearly 20 minuts later than ordered.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — A bit noise from the street
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Biunna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    37
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
20
44
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2007

We arrived quite late at the Sub Urbe B&B but Ennio the owner was still there to meet us and show us to our room.

The B&B is on the top floor of a corner plot on Via Serpenti, about 500 yards walk from the Coliseum.

Our room overlooked the small piazza with fountain and faced the white marbled church front.

Room facilities included a kettle with biscuits etc for a snack. Large walk in drench shower with WC and bidet in smart white against a dark grey tiled floor and walls gave the en-suite bathroom a clean and modern feel.
The bed was huge and comfortable, the room also had assorted rustic furnishings and whitewashed walls with wooden floors and a nice high ceiling.
A modern integrated A/C unit kept the heat down on those hot summer nights. You'll want to keep the windows closed as the square can be quite noisy late into the night. Refuse collections with revving trucks emptying the street lined skips and street sweepers rolling glass bottles down the fountain steps during the early hours kept us awake now and again.

Guests also have access to a shared fridge with fruit juices and your own storage space (to keep your beers cold) if required.
Breakfast is a coffee and a croissant (cornetto) at the local cafe in the square.

If you don't want to venture too far there are many restaurants and bars nearby including a host of Indian curry restaurants dotted around! There are a few Gellato (ice cream) bars and a kebab place nearby also. Bars and restaurants close around midnight locally.

You are within easy walking distance of many of the local attractions and a longer stroll to anywhere else, 40 mins to Vatican, 30 mins to Trevi Fountain for example. You can take the local No. 170 small bus, which stops just around the corner, up to Piazza Popolo and walked along the higher park edge gardens to get a great view of Rome before descending the Spanish Steps.

Talking about steps, the Sub Urbe is not really suitable for anyone with problems climbing them, there are 60 steep stairs to negotiate every day!!

The B&B will probably offer to book a car for airport pick up - it is cheaper to get a taxi. Our car was 40 mins late and charged 10Euros more than a cab. Also best to make your own arrangements getting back to airport, as again the booked car failed to turn up and resulted in a 1km dash to the nearest rank to pick up a taxi.

A comfortable and friendly little B&B out of the major tourist heart of Rome but within an easy walk of attractions.

  • Liked — Lovely bathroom, decent location
  • Disliked — Noise outside, car booking service did not meet expectations
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2007

Went to rome with 2 kids aged 6 and 9. Had apartment with 2 double beds. Arranged to be collected from airport. Host extremenly friendly and helpful. Apartment beautiful with lovely outdoor roof terrece. Very convient location. Perfect for our short stay (2 nights).

  • Liked — Good quality and friendly
  • Disliked — Steps up to room.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandanGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2007

nice b&B in a central location. very friendly host who organised airport transport for us. air-con and hot water didn't work first night but ok after that. lovely big room with very modern bathroom although the towels were not changed each day. the square outside was nice to sit in and enjoy people watching but was noisy if you wanted to go to bed early. great location and good value for money we thought alhough not having a lift was a pain.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the noise
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yozza4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2007

My cousin booked this apartment for four of us (two couples) i was a bit dubious of what to expect as it was such a good price. I read a couple of reviews to get an idea. Upon arrivel my expectations were exceeded. It was a lovely apartment, modern & clean. It over looked a square and a cafe/ bar (take your ear plugs if staying Sat night!) and was a little noisey on the Sat night, but the other two were fine and i slept well. It is a great base for exploring the sights of Rome. Two points though, it didn't really suit two couples as the shower room had no door !! so was a little akward when we were all getting ready to go out for the night & the front door felt a little unsafe as it was a bit rickety, and should have been replaced when renovating the apartment. It is a good location for Cavour 313 (superb wine bar round the corner!) and a Trattoria called Silvanos (i think) that was recommedmed by Ennio, the apartment owner. The restaurant was superb, not glam but good Roman cookig. All in all, top place to stay if on a slight budget, and would def go back . Ennio was friendly when we caught up with him on our last day. Thoroughly recommendable.
Ciao!

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — nowt
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniferj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2007

I have to say that finding accommodation in Rome was one of the hardest taks I could do. Every hotel that seemed like it would be good tended to have a bad review. Then I came across the BB Suburbe Rome, and I had to write a review. We went to Rome for a short break to celebrate my partners birthday. As soon as I booked the accommodation the owner (Ennion) was in touch with me to clarify arrangements. He offers a pick up service from the airport (40 euros) which decided to do as it saves hassels of trying to explain where you are staying to a taxi driver. The building that the B+B was in was a little tired looking and there were quite a few stairs to climb, but I was prepared for this after reading the reviews about it on this site. When we arrived Ennion had actually given us the apartment (we had only booked a room, but he must of had it available) he had also organised for a birthday cake and bottle of wine for my partners birthday. The accomodation was very clean and the bathrooms were amazing - the bedroom had a large comfy double bed and a flat screen television. The view from the room was amazing
- it was over looking a lovely square, and made you feel like you actually lived in Rome rather than staying in a very tourist area. The location of the accommodation was amazing - as soon as you walked out your door you could see the Colloseum and everything was just a short walk away. If you are looking for accomodation with an excellent host and need somewhere to rest your tired feet after a long hard days sight seeing then this is the place for you. I actually spoke to a lady at the airport who had booked a 5* hotel, and she said that it was the worst hotel that she had stayed at - I am just glad that we stayed at this B+B. I would go back to Rome and stay here again - if you are used to the home comforts of a hotel and you like that kind of thing, then this might not be for you? We tend to book apartments directly with owners so this tends to be the accommodation we like to go for.

  • Liked — The view of the square and the location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pink21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2007

Date: 5th Jan, 2006
Irish couple (28, 30)

We just came back from a 5 night trip to Rome and stayed in B & B Suburbe Roma. We had a really enjoyable trip and we were delighted with our accommodation choice. Although housed on the 3rd floor (with no lift!)in a very old building which was not very impressive from the outside we were more than happy with the room. It was clean and newly decorated with a very mod bathroom and flat screen tv. It also had a kettle and we had use of a fridge in the reception area. The B&B is very near the colesseum which you can see from the street. Breakfast consists of coffee and a croissant in a cafe in the piazza round the corner and we also had a supply of fresh fruit left in the room. The owner, Ennio Stani, was extremely friendly and helpful having collected us at the airport on arrival (upon request for a fee) on New Years Eve even though our flight was 7 hours late! We also got him to taxi us back to the airport at 7.30 am on departure.
All in all we enjoyed our stay in b&b Suburbe Roma and would have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation to any of our friends or family who are thinking of visiting.

  • Liked — The shower!
  • Disliked — The entrance
  • Tips/Secrets — Enjoy the sights
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Aeneen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Cibele Bed&Breakfast
Cibele Bed&Breakfast
#115 of 3,644 in Rome
206 reviews
Monti
Piazzetta de' Monti Suites
Piazzetta de' Monti Suites
#957 of 3,644 in Rome
17 reviews
Monti
Nerva Accomodation
Nerva Accomodation
#88 of 3,644 in Rome
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Ferraro
Hotel Ferraro
#1,246 of 3,644 in Rome
104 reviews
Monti
B&B Room To Rome
B&B Room To Rome
#1,125 of 3,644 in Rome
18 reviews
Monti
Zefiro Home B&B
Zefiro Home B&B
#224 of 3,644 in Rome
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Suburbe Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Suburbe Roma

Property: B & B Suburbe Roma
Address: 3rd Floor Via Dei Serpenti 164, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,263 of 3,644 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — B & B Suburbe Roma 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your B & B Suburbe Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b & b Suburbe Roma Hotel Rome
Bed And Breakfast Suburbe Roma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing