We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lived up to expectation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Matisse Colosseum

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Matisse Colosseum
Ranked #2,691 of 3,762 Rome B&B and Inns
bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lived up to expectation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2009

really good value for money accomadation (E90for 2 night for 2 of us. They lik cash on arrival). More like a 6 bedroomed appartment than hotel, was on 1st floor of large old building and near too all the sights around the Roman forum and colosseum . Room was plain ,clean and comfortable with ensuite (room 22). It had full lengh window which opened fully and overlooked via Cavour(used ear pluggs so didnt get woken too early). Had 2 single beds which were compact but comfy. It had a help your self 24hr. breakfast bar in a comunal area which was great when you got back from sight seeing hungry. Didn't see any staff during our 2 night stay but they gave us their tel. no. on arrival and told us to ring or leave a note in the message book if we needed anything - we didn't. 2 good resteraunts near by Osteraria da Nerone, via Delle Terme Di Ditto, the other at top of Via Serpenti.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deano09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    11
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL!!! We arrived the evening of October 31, 2009 to Matisse Colosseum B&B. When we rang the doorbell, no one answered for thirty minutes. When someone finally answered the door they told us that they had no room available. We showed them our reservations (we already paid the deposit which we are presently trying to get back) but they said one of the properties was shut down and the other one did not have room. We had to find another hotel, carrying our luggage around, and obviously we had to pay much higher price for another hotel without a reservation. We were traveling with our extended family so we needed to find a hotel with 4 rooms, so they had a place to stay when they arrived the next day. It was a nightmare. On November 1st, when we walked by Matisse Colosseum, it was shut down by the authorities (there were police cars everywhere and the entrance was closed off). I was a horrible experience and nearly ruined our vacation. Avoid the headache and don’t book here.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AgBH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

My husband and I, along with my in-laws, stayed at Matisse for 3 nights.
I've never stayed at a B&B before, but the good reveiws and reasonable prices is what attracted us to Matisse. Roberto is very nice and so's the lady that cleans the rooms.
The rooms are clean and spacious. They have breakfast all day. Its nothing special but was fine. A/C worked great which was a big plus. There were no phones/tv's in the rooms, which I guess is typical with B&B's. Overall we had good experience at Matisse.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lana81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLV
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Matisse for 3 nights and although we just go back , i am sure that in my next visit in Rome, i will return to Matisse. The B&B's location is perfect because it is close to all the main attractions in Rome (only a short walk from the Coliseum, piazza Venezia and more). The room and also the bathroom were clean and conferrable.
When we arrived, Roberto the owner, welcomed us and gave us his great recommendations what to do and explained us how to get there.
next to the roomes there is a kitchen and food for brakfast; shch as: cornflakes, frash bread, milk, coffe, jams and more.
Listen to his recomodations and i am sure that you wold thank me for having a wonderful time in Rome.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BozerMaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raanana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

Me and my girlfriend stayed at matisse in the middle of september 2009 for 3 night.
we heard a lot about matisse from family who already stayed there in the past, and every word was true.

Matisse location is just great, close to every "attraction" in roma by short walk. the rome is clean, the bathroom is new, every day the housekeeper change towels and cleanning the room.

Matisse have a nice dining room who serve all day long: coffe, yogurt , cornflakes, bread&toast. croissant and more...

In summary we really recommend to stay there when you come to rome, enjoyment is promised.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vil8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

Roberto is a great host and the rooms are clean and spacious. The location is only a short distance from the Colosseum and we couldn't ask for a better place to stay. This was the second time we stayed here and the experience was flawless!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottB_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

This was my third stay at the Matisse Colosseum. I am always satisfied. The location is superb, within walking distance to every major site in Rome and conveniently located near the train station for further travel. The staff is great, Roberto makes you feel like a close friend, helping with every detail. I am planning on staying at a Matisse property next year when I head back to Rome.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearoso8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Rosetta
Hotel Rosetta
#398 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Monti
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#594 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Monti
Chroma Octho
Chroma Octho
#1,490 of 3,762 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Ferraro
Hotel Ferraro
#983 of 3,762 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Monti
Colosseo Studio Suites
Colosseo Studio Suites
#943 of 1,290 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Monti
Nakissa Inn
Nakissa Inn
#607 of 3,762 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matisse Colosseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matisse Colosseum

Property: Matisse Colosseum
Address: Via Cavour 266, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,691 of 3,762 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matisse Colosseum is modern elegance at its best. Marble floors humbly illuminate the entry and charming breakfast room, allowing guests to greet the day in serenity. Luminous guestrooms and spacious private bathrooms enable guests to revel in true comfort. Located in the epicenter of ancient Rome, guests are just steps away from the grandeur of the Colosseum, and the ruins of the Imperial and Roman forums. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing