We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place”
Review of Welrome Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Welrome Hotel
Ranked #550 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a lovely place”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed four nights in Welrome in May 2012. Very convienient with Supermatkets and railway close by. Easy walk to Trevi and various metro. 15 minute walk to Borghese.

The room was clean and comfortable with good facilities. A small fridge was a boon and Mary even supplied tea and coffee. In the morning she would provide orange juice and croisants. It made our stay very pleasant.

Mary is amazing! She just knows everything a tourist needs to know and is very pleased to tell you about her city. we used all her recommendations for restaurants and how to get to places. I can not speak highly enough about how wonderful she is.

I thoroughly recommend this hotel. It has so much character that the rooms have names, not numbers. (we stayed in Colosso). Should we return to Rome, we will stay here again.

We're in our early 50's, travelling from NZ and spent six weeks in Europe. In terms of hotels, this owas out highlight.

Room Tip: Jst ask mary
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    73
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
75
170
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Although the rooms are very small, the service is excellent. We stayed 4 nights before a cruise and were very pleased with the location, just a few blocks from Termini. The rooms have a hot pot with tea/coffee and each morning the Mary left us croissants, which were delicious. She also advised on local restaurants, sites to visit, etc. Both she and her husband were excellent hosts and we felt like honored guests staying with them.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We chose this hotel based on location and reviews from TripAdvisor and we were very happy during our week-long stay in early April. Our room (The Spagna) was furnished simply, but was large and the beds were very comfortable. The best aspect of the hotel are the hosts (Mary and Carlo) who because of the limited number of rooms, treat each guest as if they were staying in their own home. Carlo, with his background in art history, took time every night to share his knowledge and enthusiasm about some of the pieces we would be seeing in the museums we had planned to visit the next day. They are clearly involved in the neighborhood as Mary walked me to the laundrymat one night (I wasn't sure there would be time to do my laundry before they closed) and the owner greeted her kindly and stayed open for me to complete my wash.
They gave excellent directions and the location is perfect, being close to Termini, but in a very safe neighborhood. We would definitely stay there again and will recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We traveled to Rome in early May for our honeymoon and had a wonderful stay at the Welrome Hotel. The hotel is very conveniently located a few blocks from Termini station and is in walking distance of almost every major sight in Rome. There was a grocery store very close by and lots of restaurants and cafes nearby. The hotel itself is fairly basic but the service is outstanding. The owners are always ready and willing to provide recommendations or tell you how/when to tour an attraction. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aliasblackhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haliburton, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I arrived in Rome alone after my friend had to cancel going on this trip. I felt very apprehensive navigating the streets on my own, but Mary went through the directions multiple times till I felt confident. The breakfast croissants filled with your choice of chocolate, strawberry or cream were very decadent. I live in the country so the noise of a city would normally be difficult for me to sleep but by closing the thick windows I couldn't hear a thing and slept like a baby. The air conditioning and bar fridge worked well. The location was wonderful for catching buses and the subway as you could always look for a bus going to the Termini and know you were close to your hotel. The location felt safe as well, even in the evening. Wouldn't hesitate staying here again. Hope I have the opportunity. Thank you Mary and Carlo.

Room Tip: I was facing the street and had no problem sleeping but I use ear plugs. If you are a really light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wolvesmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey, WA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

If you are visiting Rome for the first time or need help deciding what to do when you get there, stay at this hotel! Mary and Carlos are amazing hosts and will help you decide what to see and when. They are a wealth of info on everything from the museums to the best gelato stands. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from Termini rail station (there is a bus shuttle from the airport to Termini), it is about a 15-20 minute walk to the Colosseum, 10 minutes to the Galleria Borghese, and 45 minutes to the Vatican (there are busses and the metro at Termini, much quicker). The room was comfortable, with a large bed, a TV, hair dryer, etc. There are only 6 rooms here I think, which gives it an almost B&B feel. There many shops and restaruants nearby. Will stay here again if I go back to Rome.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkGoCougs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Mary & Carlos are the best hosts at Welrome! Every morning I awoke to the most wonderful chocolate croissants and juice. The room was large and very clean. A short walk from the train station. Every time we needed directions Mary or Carlos were happy to help us and share their knowledge of beautiful and historic Rome. Very wonderful accommodations for a very fair price.
Mary & Carlos are two of the kindest people in Rome!

Room Tip: This hotel has a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#892 of 1,256 in Rome
99 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Katty
Hotel Katty
#511 of 1,256 in Rome
215 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel il Papavero
Hotel il Papavero
#976 of 1,256 in Rome
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#453 of 1,256 in Rome
289 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#370 of 1,256 in Rome
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welrome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welrome Hotel

Property: Welrome Hotel
Address: Via Calatafimi 15-19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#82 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#303 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Welrome Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing