We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“too small”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Welrome Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Welrome Hotel
Ranked #566 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Gilgandra, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“too small”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

Easy to find hotel located 10 mins walk from Termini Station. We booked soley on tripadvisor comments but must say we were let down this time. The location was perfect , we only used public transport once while in Rome , we walked everywhere. Mary , the owner , was very obliging and helpful. The only let down was the size of the room. We didn't have enough room with 2 cases to move around the room without stepping over the cases. The "Trevi"room amenities were fine but just too small. We travelled for 5 weeks through Europe and this was by far the smallest.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    72
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
74
169
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

Welrome hotel is located centrally in Rome - the hosts are lovely - they make sure you get breakfast every day (pastries in a little package for your room) and are very forthcoming with local information. The hotel is small and quiet - the room has all the basics and the price is reasonable for Rome. Mary is very maternal and caring to ensure you have the best stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

The basics were thoroughly covered; easy to get to, clean neat room, good proximity to sights... BUT what made Welrome a truly unforgettable and highly recommended hotel is the wonderful advice, assistance and warmth from Mary and Carlo. We will definitely stay with them when in Rome again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VivCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

Everyone before me has said it all - this hotel is gold and made even better by two wonderful hosts. We've been to Rome many times & without them we still would have had a great time but Mary & Carlo were the icing on the cake and made this stay even more wonderful. Every morning, every evening one or the other were ready to help with whatever query you had, thank you so much. We look forward to returning and would have no hesitation in booking at the Welrome again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BazinBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

Stayed for 5 nights and booked the Welrome hotel after reading reviews on this site. All has been said before - it is a great little hotel.

Ok its not situated on the Via Venito, but the area is fine and plenty of places to eat out nearby. Plus it is very reasonably priced. We walked all over Rome from the hotel, but the metro is only a 5 minute walk away. Despite this being our 5th trip to the eternal city we still found plenty of places to explore. Plus Mary gave us invaluable advice on places to eat, shop and visit

The room was very clean, little fridge for some wine, beer or storing a little food if you wanted to make a snack. Kettle, tea and coffee available as well. Plus an in room safe to store valuables.

Recommend this hotel highly - if you want the Via Venito its a short stroll away, otherwise save your money and stay here!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoshinDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

Mary & Carlo are wonderful. The location was great - room was nice. Only complaint was the noise from the hotel across the street but if you close the windows you won't hear much. We had so much fun in Rome even though one day poured. Close to everything and Babbo's is great for dinner right across the street. We will stay here again when we come back to Roma!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodySmith5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

Mary is just wonderful and made our stay very special indeed. The hotel is just so small, so central to whatever you wanted and sooooo ideal in Rome. We loved it and would stay there anytime we go to Rome.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard3150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Katty
Hotel Katty
#520 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#894 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel il Papavero
Hotel il Papavero
#973 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#440 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Hotel San Pietrino
#568 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#256 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welrome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welrome Hotel

Property: Welrome Hotel
Address: Via Calatafimi 15-19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#75 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#303 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Welrome Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing