We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure if I would recommend.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel San Valentino
Ranked #388 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I stayed here 3 nights and I have to say of all the hotels I stayed in Italy this was my least favourite. The price was right and one of the reasons I booked it, great location, easy walking distance to many attractions, the staff were all helpful, but there was just something off about the hotel. They request you turn your hotel key in when you leave for the day, but they have them hanging in plain view behind the desk and many times the desk was not manned - so I was unsure of the security. The hallway had loose tiles, and the room was extremely dated and I have never seen such a small TV in a hotel - 12" (I know that a TV isn't important when you are in Rome, much more important things, but it was just very odd). My room faced the street and you could not sleep with the window open as it was a very busy street and it was too early for the air conditioning so it was a bit uncomfortable.

If a friend asked my if I would recommend this hotel, I would not expressly say not to stay here as my experience wasn't bad, but would advise of the above and probably recommend the first hotel I stayed at in Rome.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms that face the street if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelgirl_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

Discovered after fiasco at original hotel. This hotel was very friendly and quiet. Air conditioner especially cold. You can park in front of the hotel all day for €4.00. 3 minute walk to subway, multiple ATM, 2 churches. Nice restaurant and good breakfast. A second cappachino is not free but worth the small cost. Staff very helpful with directions, parking, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyman96ll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We ordered rooms through a local agency at San Valentino, Ezio Street in Rome.Although the public areas are quite similar to what is shown on the web - the rooms were not: very old and run down furniture, the curtains would partly fall off and here and there black spots in the shower. At least the towels and bed sheets were clean. We were very disappointed and when we asked if we can upgrade our rooms we were told in a very unfriendly manner that there is nothing that can be done. This is actually a pity because the location of the hotel is rather good (25 min. walk to the main sites) and the area is nice with restaurants and shopping possibilities.
We were also very surprised when told that we can only have one cup of coffee for breakfeast.For every further one we would have to pay.

Room Tip: Rooms on floor 1 and 4 are not renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsanvalentino, Proprietario at Hotel San Valentino, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013
Google Translation

gentili signori,lo avete detto voi , avete prenotato tramite una agenzia locale che a prezzi buoni vi offre albergo, transfert dall'aereoporto, tour organizzati ecc ecc, la Vostra agenzia proprio per poter contenere i costi ci ha chiesto in allotment delle camere ( più che decorose ) ma non ristruttutrate da poter offrire a prezzi bassi nei vari pacchetti , naturalmente hanno le brouchure di quello che vendono, mi sembra strano che non siano consapevoli di dove mandano i loro clienti, questa filastrocca l'abbiamo detta anche a voi, abbiamo anche delle camere di livello superiore ( come avete constatato di persona ) ma ad un altro prezzo non certo quello che avete pagato voi ma che pretendevate !!!!!
Per quanto riguarda il personale scortese,definirlo tale solo per non aver assecondato una pretesa mi sembra riduttivo........, il servizio colazione fra le bevande include 1caffè espresso o cappuccino a persona , ulteriori caffè vengono calcolati come extra non al prezzo hotel ma a prezzo bar ( caffè 0,80 cent, cappuccino1,00€ ) per tutti i nostri questo non è un problema......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We spent 4 nights at the hotel. It is very cean and the staff is really helpful. Convenient to most every place a tourist wants to get to in rome. There is a Metro stop right around the corner. While the breakfasts were boring and not really good, overall we recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria_DJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

The hotel is very close to the citycentre and the rooms are comfortable and clean with enough space.ofcourse it's not a 5 star hotel but the price/quality is perfect.but the best thing of the hotel is The restaurant with traditionel italian food!when i go to Rome again,i will book this hotel again for sure

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noud666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Very nice hotel, clean rooms, location is perfect, short walk to the center and Vatican city. The staff was very friendly, helpful and hospitable. Great service! We will definitely stay at this hotel again! Nextdoor is also a very good restaurant with typical Italian food.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 343Barbara343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

every body we ask told us bad things about the 3 stars hotels in rome so we didn't expect much. we were very surprised because the hotel has every thing we needed. the room was warm and clean the staff was really nice and helped us in every thing we needed. the location is great.
1 minute from metro station (lepanto) , 10 minute walking from the vatican or piazza navona. we did most of the trip in rome by foot. the breakfast was just ok not a lot of options

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dror M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Gerber
Hotel Gerber
#383 of 1,269 in Rome
320 reviews
Prati
Hotel Relais dei Papi
Hotel Relais dei Papi
#208 of 1,269 in Rome
645 reviews
Prati
The B Place
The B Place
#591 of 1,269 in Rome
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Nautilus Hotel
Nautilus Hotel
#512 of 1,269 in Rome
110 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#253 of 1,269 in Rome
598 reviews
Prati
Hotel Prati
Hotel Prati
#531 of 1,269 in Rome
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Valentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Valentino

Address: Via Ezio 55, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#267 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £53 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Valentino 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Valentino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Valentino Hotel
San Valentino Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing