We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modestly priced hotel great for City break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Valentino
Ranked #361 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Visiting Rome to support my son running in the marathon we chose this hotel for its location close to all the main tourist sites and especially Vatican City. Rooms are more spacious than we expected and compared to Paris for example. Facilities are good, bathroom, shower, bed and nice touch small fridge. TV was the usual poor reception you get in a big City but hey who watches tv in Rome with such amazing sights to see. Generally servicec was friendly and helpful although breakfast was hit and miss. If you got up later choices were limited with only apples (pappy) by way of fruit. Although different staff on our final day saw products replenished throughout the service. Bar lounge small but fine and good bar service.
Small supermarket, bars and pizza takeway are all around. Rome is not the easiest to get around using public transport so if you use this hotel be prepared to walk.
We had a very enjoyable break here and felt it was value for money. Rome is amazing we will return. Ps marathon well organised and great for spectators!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

A very friendly staff, close to most of the attractions. Ten minutes away from Vatican (walking). The room was small but with enough space to feel comfortable, very clean and new bathroom. Good breakfast and a nice coffee bar.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Angel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Staff very friendly and helpful. Room spacious and bathroom ok and both very clean. Safe in room with ample space for laptop, and free of charge. Breakfast also good. Definitely recommend it especially for those who are looking for a quiet spot within easy reach of most major attractions.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Very small rooms but they are good enough for sleep and shower.
As someone wrote here before, this is a big problem that you have to
Leave your key hanging and everyone can take it.
The breakfast was fine : types of bread, cheese and two types of sausage did my day.
The stuff are not so English speakers but we manage.
The location is great and the hotel is clean.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

So myself and a girl friend travelled to Rome on 13 August 2013, for a 2 night stay at the San Valentino.

Hotel:
The hotel is a nice, friendly boutique hotel, which appears to be going through some renovating. This didn't put us off at all, the reception is complete and very modern, as is the restaurant area, and bar. You start to notice the renovations when you go to the accommodation floors. We were on the 2nd floor and the first thing you notice when you step out of the lift is wires hanging from the ceiling where the lights are yet to be fitted. It's clear a modern theme is being established here and once in our room you can see the standards are high. The bathroom is new, clean and very modern. The whole room is immaculate and offers complimentary Sky (although no english channels), aircon and safe - all free of charge.
The hotel also offers free WiFi.
Our biggest criticism is the walls. They're thin. You hear EVERYTHING that goes on with your neighbours and unfortunately we were woken up for an hour at midnight on our first night by a chap who'd clearly had one too many, which wasn't fantastic.

Staff:
Great! Friendly, helpful and very welcoming. The English isn't amazing but they understand you and vice versa.

Food:
Breakfast was included in our rate and was a continental buffet - including fruits, cereal, pastries, bread, ham, cheese etc - it was good quality food and is accompanied by one hot drink, any extras have to be paid for. Water and juice is unlimited.

Location:
This hotel is perfect for Vatican City and the Spanish Step, both about a 10 minute walk. But for the city centre it's not very central and a bit of a walk. However, a taxi to the Colosseum is a very reasonable 10 euros. The only reservation I had about this area is, one side of the hotel the roads are nice and host an abundance of shops and restaurants, but the other side of the hotel is a little bit run down and seemed quite derelict.

If this hotel was a bit further in to the city I would happily rebook again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristyTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is the best hotel I have ever found in various trips to Rome. Just near the centre, very near to the metro. It was just renewed, the room was very beautiful and comfortable. The breakfast (included) was very good with different kind of foods.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This was both my boyfriend and Is first time to Rome- and we saw that the Prati neighborhood was a good value and less touristy. Yes and yes! Walking distance from the Vatican, walking distance from the train which will take you anywhere in Rome from the coliseum to the airport- this was an outstanding property!! The air conditioning was a must have for this hot June stay, and it worked amazing. The shower- blew my mind. The property had marble floors- gorg. Everything was recently done- French windows with black out features- seriously- this property was gorg and was an amazing value. I would DEF stay here again if I was in Rome!!

Room Tip: Choose higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flowercrusher941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Nautilus Hotel
Nautilus Hotel
#530 of 1,273 in Rome
114 reviews
Prati
Hotel Gerber
Hotel Gerber
#403 of 1,273 in Rome
320 reviews
Prati
The B Place
The B Place
#583 of 1,273 in Rome
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Relais dei Papi
Hotel Relais dei Papi
#211 of 1,273 in Rome
656 reviews
Prati
Hotel Farnese
Hotel Farnese
#159 of 1,273 in Rome
913 reviews
Prati
Hotel Diplomatic
Hotel Diplomatic
#231 of 1,273 in Rome
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Valentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Valentino

Address: Via Ezio 55, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#118 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#267 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £44 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Valentino 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel San Valentino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Valentino Hotel
San Valentino Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing