We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor experience..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel San Valentino
Ranked #371 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor experience..”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I will start by saying the only two good things about the hotel - it's location is hard to beat, and the pillows were very comfortable. Unfortunately, not enough for a good hotel experience, let alone great.

Cleanliness, however, is not their priority. When we first arrived we found the bathroom sink and bidet speckled with yellow dirt marks; we were too tired from our trip to even guess what they were, let alone try to make a fuss and change the room. We assumed that it was an oversight of the cleaning lady and wiped it off with sanitary towels. Things happen... They shouldn't, but sometimes they do, and we are certainly not ones to ring the church bells at the tiniest problem.

That night however, the full picture started to emerge when we went to bed. The bed linen had multiple little black curly hairs on it... The wool blanked was covered with all imaginable lengths and colours of human hair.

The tiles in the shower cabin were so covered with soap scum and grime that they were sticky to touch, not to mention an unsightly plastic pipe coming out right from the wall - no idea why it should be there.

The daily cleaning of the room is only an illusion - each time we came back after the cleaning had been done, even just half an hour ago, there were bits of lint and hair, and crumbs of whatever we had snacked on the previous night on the floor and the bedside tables.

Not even the sink had been cleaned - we all know that a sink after cleaning is shiny and slippery to touch. This was always sticky and grimy.

I think that all the cleaner does is make the beds, fold the used towels, and empty the bins. Once I went back to the room, because I had forgotten my umbrella and saw the cleaner about to "wash" the floor. The water in the bucket can only be described as grey and muddy.

Taking into account all these major problems, it may be insignificant to mention that the mirror had greasy marks all over, which were never cleaned, and the white door was dirty too.

Thankfully I only dined in the hotel restaurant once. The food was not great and the next day was ruined for me by a tummy problem ...

We were disgusted by this hotel experience, and no matter how friendly the hotel staff make out to be, these things should not happen. And the blonde girl at the reception in the mornings - so incompetent not to speak a word of English. Not a problem for us since 2 of our group were italian and the third (me) speaks Italian, but rather inappropriate in a hotel that hosts an international clientelle.

All in all, avoid if you can.
Oh, and I am adding a foto of the floor just after the cleaning lady had left, for visual reference

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsanvalentino, Proprietario at Hotel San Valentino, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Google Translation
NO COMMENT.....................................
hotel San Valentino Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    175
    72
    17
    19
See reviews for
54
190
32
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Visiting Rome to support my son running in the marathon we chose this hotel for its location close to all the main tourist sites and especially Vatican City. Rooms are more spacious than we expected and compared to Paris for example. Facilities are good, bathroom, shower, bed and nice touch small fridge. TV was the usual poor reception you get in a big City but hey who watches tv in Rome with such amazing sights to see. Generally servicec was friendly and helpful although breakfast was hit and miss. If you got up later choices were limited with only apples (pappy) by way of fruit. Although different staff on our final day saw products replenished throughout the service. Bar lounge small but fine and good bar service.
Small supermarket, bars and pizza takeway are all around. Rome is not the easiest to get around using public transport so if you use this hotel be prepared to walk.
We had a very enjoyable break here and felt it was value for money. Rome is amazing we will return. Ps marathon well organised and great for spectators!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

A very friendly staff, close to most of the attractions. Ten minutes away from Vatican (walking). The room was small but with enough space to feel comfortable, very clean and new bathroom. Good breakfast and a nice coffee bar.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Staff very friendly and helpful. Room spacious and bathroom ok and both very clean. Safe in room with ample space for laptop, and free of charge. Breakfast also good. Definitely recommend it especially for those who are looking for a quiet spot within easy reach of most major attractions.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Very small rooms but they are good enough for sleep and shower.
As someone wrote here before, this is a big problem that you have to
Leave your key hanging and everyone can take it.
The breakfast was fine : types of bread, cheese and two types of sausage did my day.
The stuff are not so English speakers but we manage.
The location is great and the hotel is clean.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

So myself and a girl friend travelled to Rome on 13 August 2013, for a 2 night stay at the San Valentino.

Hotel:
The hotel is a nice, friendly boutique hotel, which appears to be going through some renovating. This didn't put us off at all, the reception is complete and very modern, as is the restaurant area, and bar. You start to notice the renovations when you go to the accommodation floors. We were on the 2nd floor and the first thing you notice when you step out of the lift is wires hanging from the ceiling where the lights are yet to be fitted. It's clear a modern theme is being established here and once in our room you can see the standards are high. The bathroom is new, clean and very modern. The whole room is immaculate and offers complimentary Sky (although no english channels), aircon and safe - all free of charge.
The hotel also offers free WiFi.
Our biggest criticism is the walls. They're thin. You hear EVERYTHING that goes on with your neighbours and unfortunately we were woken up for an hour at midnight on our first night by a chap who'd clearly had one too many, which wasn't fantastic.

Staff:
Great! Friendly, helpful and very welcoming. The English isn't amazing but they understand you and vice versa.

Food:
Breakfast was included in our rate and was a continental buffet - including fruits, cereal, pastries, bread, ham, cheese etc - it was good quality food and is accompanied by one hot drink, any extras have to be paid for. Water and juice is unlimited.

Location:
This hotel is perfect for Vatican City and the Spanish Step, both about a 10 minute walk. But for the city centre it's not very central and a bit of a walk. However, a taxi to the Colosseum is a very reasonable 10 euros. The only reservation I had about this area is, one side of the hotel the roads are nice and host an abundance of shops and restaurants, but the other side of the hotel is a little bit run down and seemed quite derelict.

If this hotel was a bit further in to the city I would happily rebook again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristyTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anzola dell'Emilia, Emilia-Romagna, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is the best hotel I have ever found in various trips to Rome. Just near the centre, very near to the metro. It was just renewed, the room was very beautiful and comfortable. The breakfast (included) was very good with different kind of foods.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Gerber
Hotel Gerber
#373 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Prati
Hotel Relais dei Papi
Hotel Relais dei Papi
#195 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Prati
The B Place
The B Place
#554 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Farnese
Hotel Farnese
#109 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Prati
Fabio Massimo Design Hotel
Fabio Massimo Design Hotel
#118 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#226 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Valentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Valentino

Property: Hotel San Valentino
Address: Via Ezio 55, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#111 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#267 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Valentino 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Valentino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Valentino Hotel
San Valentino Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing