We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serves its purpose”
Review of Hotel San Pietro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel San Pietro
Ranked #860 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Serves its purpose”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I've been put into the San Pietro Hotel to see the swearing-in of the new Swiss Guards on 6 May 2009. The hotel is located pretty close to the Vatican (within walking distance). The rooms, though, are pretty old, the bathroom is tiny and the closet was falling apart. All in all, though, I must say it served its purpose. I'm not fussy at all, but if it was someone else he'd give a one-star-rating, because the rooms didn't look like the hotel was a 3* location.

If you are looking for something nice, ask for the apartments of this hotel (which are located even closer to the Vatican!) - I honestly don't know if you pay more, but the apartments are modern, clean and spacious. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fl0wzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    22
    23
    8
    10
See reviews for
24
20
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I arrived late passed midnight on a Thursday night and was attended by Carlos at the front desk who was very accomodating in helping me with the bags to my room. The level of hospitality displayed at this hotel took me by surprise, even at that hour of the night. The room was very small, but fairly decent with a nice clean bathroom, television, cupboard, table, chair and a nice hard bed. Breakfast is very humble and basic, but nevertheless fresh and clean. The coffee served with milk, honestly, is one of the best I have had in Rome! From the hotel, it's only a 15 minute relaxing stroll to St Peters Square at the Vatican. From there, one can walk across St Peters Square to the main street from which there are more than six hop-on hop-off city tour buses to choose from, and would make an ideal base for anyone wishing to explore Rome. The security from St Peters Square to the San Pietro Hotel, whether walking at the early hours of the morning or even the late hours of the evening is very safe and peaceful. For dining, there isn't any restaurant within the hotel itself, but just outside the hotel there is this very decent Italian Restaurant which serves very decent Italian food and great tiramisu. Or one can even opt to walk right along the main street, across the metro station and there are more choices, including even an Indian and Chinese restaurant and numerous souvenir shops nearby. At the corner of the street to the right of the hotel, one can find a bank with international ATM facilities, just incase. All in, this makes for a great value for money hotel that is served by some very friendly and accomodating staff. I stayed in hotel for six nights from 22nd to 27th March, 2012 and will certainly return should I revisit Rome again!

Room Tip: As the hotel is located on the street behind the Vatican, it is generally quiet as the evening passe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gopi2225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The hotel was small, clean with excellent friendly staff. All of them!

And the best part of it is that the hotel is conveniently located just a stone's throw (5 minutes walk) to the Vatican. And about 2 minutes walk to San Pietro Train Station. And with 2 busstops close by, hat more could you ask for?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Dafe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hardinsburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I spent ten days in this hotel this month. Hotel rooms and baths were clean and comfortable. Rooms were shielded from street noise by double doors to the balcony. The location is close to St. Peters, but also close to an excellent restaurant and a cafe. There is also a daily local street market which the Romans use about a block away.
The staff was outstanding. A friend traveling with me became injured and was confined to the room for several days, ultimately going to the hospital there. They provided assistance in every way, cheerfully going far beyond expectations.
I will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Great location!!!!

Hotel is very close to the Vatican City 5 minutes walking), Chaffour Express Super Market (Exiting to the left, just a couple feet walking), and is in front of the bus stop. They do not have an elevator, but a lady of the hotel brought our luggage to our room. The same happened when we left the hotel. We voluntary gave a tip. I did not like they changed the sheets when asked the first time. I guess they do it every four days and seemed did not change the blanket for the whole stay of 18 days. The bathroom floor seemed to be cleaned every third day. They did not leave enough shampoos and had to ask most of the time for shampoos for all of us (4). Rooms do not have fridges and they were nice and gave us ice when asked. Breakfast buffet is good, but exactly the same food every single day turned it to hate it. Staff very helpful and nice, two spoke English and one Spanish fluently. Bad experience when the receptionist S called an unauthorized taxi cab to take us to the airport. He didn’t have a taxi meter and a permit, He overcharged us for taking us to the airport. When confronted over the phone, she was loud and not polite. I think hotels in Europe are much over paid compared to the U.S.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I hate to admit, but I'm and AC snob. My husband booked this hotel for us and my requirement was AC and clean. This hotel claims to have AC. When we checked in the hotel was hot and stuffy. The person behind the counter was sweaty and fanning himself. He told us most of Europe, trys to conserve and turn on the AC in the afternoon for sleeping at night. If that's the case I don't understand why they have controls in each room because they don't work, not even at night. We were miserable trying to sleep. Our room was on a busy street and we tried to open the windows but there was a lot of noise. The shower was very small and the towels were more like curtains than actual towels. Bring your own if you can. The pluses of this hotel were that the staff were very friendly, it's clean, close to the bus line, Vatican City and many restuarants. Even though we parked on the street there's a parking garage close by. I would recommend visiting in the cooler months. If the price is below 100 Euro it's for a reason.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mforbes21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Nice 5 minute walk away from the Vatican. Hotel is initially hard to spot as its not at street level, its behind a large gate that you must be buzzed into. Look for a sign on the opposite side of the road that points right at it.

Hotel itself is spotless, recently refurbished. Air conditioning works brilliantly. So nice to come back to a chilly room after a day in 30 degree heat. Beds are very comfortable. No ensuite rooms. Showers have powerful piping hot water.
Breakfast area is basically the reception area of the hotel! No buffet. Only about 6 tables. If all guests arrive at the same time in the morning there is quite a crush. Breakfast consists of pastries, OJ, Tea/Coffee. Friendly man at the desk has just enough english to compensate for people with absolutely no Italian.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spartan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Emmaus
#527 of 1,257 in Rome
338 reviews
Hotel Gravina San Pietro
#479 of 1,257 in Rome
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Adriatic Hotel
Adriatic Hotel
#492 of 1,257 in Rome
518 reviews
Fragrance Hotel St.Peter
#122 of 1,257 in Rome
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Pietro

Property: Hotel San Pietro
Address: Via Cardinal Cassetta 9, 00165 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #860 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Pietro 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing