We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As famıly guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse
Ranked #542 of 3,644 Rome B&B and Inns
İstanbul
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“As famıly guest house”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

There ıs really nıce hotel and walk ın between coleseo and giovanniye.
There are clean and confertable rooms ın hotel also they dou ewer days cleanıng room.
Hotel staff are they do good servıce and really helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gokan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    44
    12
    7
    7
See reviews for
31
76
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Everything was great at Sleeping beauty guest house. Sn giovanni curch and Coleseo is walk distance from the guest house. The room was very nice: clean, airconed, satelite tv, nice bathroom and a great bed . Also the staff was verry helpfull. We will come back here!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erdal k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

First things first, you only need to look at the owner's (Yvonne) rude responses to the less satisfactory reviews on this site to get an idea of her refusal to help or show good customer service. I am staggered she could accuse the Canadians who had items missing from their room of a) misplacing the item themselves or b) fabricating the story! She then went on to say she didn't care! This is a fundamental flaw in good customer service.

Anyway, my friend and I were actually booked into the Snow White Guesthouse (NOT the Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse). Following our booking, we had many emails from Yvonne, saying we needed to confirm a check-in time with her in advance to ensure somebody would be at the desk. We had a week in Verona with friends before Rome and didn't know exactly what time we'd train in. Still, it was fine and we emailed through the night before with a time.

Much to our surprise, we got an email saying that the hostel had moved. We had initially booked Snow White based on its location & mostly positive reviews so this wasn't entirely convenient. I can only imagine the frustration if we had booked transfers in advance but fortunately we just got a taxi from the train station (also thank goodness we received the email in time!)

There was no signage outside the hostel so when we got to the address, we were confused. Then we spotted "Sleeping Beauty" as one of the intercom buttons outside the apartment building and guessed maybe this was Snow White?!

Turns out it was, so we were totally weirded out that our hostel had changed location AND name just like that.

A guy at reception told us he was new & helped us with our bags which was nice.

We got into the room and it wasn't made up into a twin room as booked. He asked us to please forgive him for this night and he would sort it out tomorrow.
We said that was fine.

The next evening we got back to find the room still wasn't made up correctly - even though the cleaner had been.

There was nobody at reception - the place doesn't even have a phone! - so we left a note saying our room was still made up incorrectly so could it be fixed? About an hour or so later, he knocked on our door saying we were meant to tell the cleaner to change it ourselves!? Given the cleaner comes well after we left to explore the city for the day, this wasn't great.

Instead we just found some other fresh sheets in a cupboard and set it up ourselves.

You have to pay in cash and there's also an extra tax per day cost we didn't know about. We didn't get a receipt (we didn't ask to be fair) and the man pulled the change out of his own wallet which was all a bit odd.

From that point on, we never saw anyone at reception until 3 days later.

Every day the cleaner would leave our window WIDE OPEN so we didn't leave any valuables in the room. We were a floor up, but still probably easy enough to target if someone wanted to!

The biggest hassle for us was that Sleeping Beauty doesn't store luggage. Given we had an evening flight the day of check out, this was frustrating and we didn't want to spend the day at the airport! If we'd known, we wouldn't have booked (then again, we booked into Snow White, not Sleeping Beauty, sigh). The man covering reception said he could store them at his brother's shop nearby which didn't seem totally secure & when we asked to speak to Yvonne ourselves, he said she wasn't around...

Having nobody at reception was a total pain because we also wanted to book a car to the airport on our last day (which was a public holiday), but in a guesthouse missing the fundamentals of basic accommodation places (a real person and a phone), this was difficult.

We ended up emailing Yvonne ourselves asking for luggage storage or late checkout. She replied in capitals saying we had to be out by 10:30am for next arrivals & could leave suitcases in the hallway at own risk. We'd also need to call Alexi and give him a time to collect our luggage as he may not be there!

Firstly, who is Alexi and secondly, on what number?

We mulled it over and ended up checking out a night early into a beautiful place in town. We had paid for the night but just counted our losses. (P.s. was totally worth it - check out Navona Garden Suites).

We ended up emailing Yvonne back to say we'd checked out early and were a bit disappointed.
Her first email was again in capitals saying Alexi is there every day (even though her previous email stated we needed to book a time to collect luggage as he might not be). She then followed up with a second email saying she can't help us if we don't communicate with them. Apparently if we wanted a twin room we should have asked - WE BOOKED A TWIN ROOM and had a confirmation letter stating this! Not to mention our subsequent conversations with the man at reception.

She also said Alexi 'knew nothing' of the bed situation which is an outright lie after 2 separate conversations with him - and leaving a note! (Assuming Alexi is man at reception? Still don't really know).

In conclusion, it seems that the owner really doesn't care what kind of impression we left with because instead of apologising or trying to better explain goings on, she was just rude to us. What a treat.

I'd give this place a miss if I were you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luci144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepingbeauty2008, Owner at Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Hi Lucy,
a very long review indeed. No point going into it point by point, because whatever you may have felt you had reason to complain about, all had one, very significant reason:

I, the owner, was in HOSPITAL during your entire stay. A few days before you arrived, my retina had become unstuck from my eye. I was submitted to hospital on June 23rd, had complicated EYE SURGERY on June 28th, and after that had to be home for ten days. My girlfriend was staying home as well to look after me and did not work at the guesthouse either.

Consequently, instead of 4 people working, 2 people had to cope and do overtime, and several times had to be at two places at the same time. You can imagine they had a hard time trying to cope.

I have been back at the guesthouses for three weeks now, and guests have seen me showing off my eyepatch. Today, July 23, i am still wearing it, guests see me every day. I am going up for my next check tomorrow morning at the San Filippo Neri hospital in Rome, and very much hope that the healing process is still going well...

Normally things at our place run very smoothly, as you can perceive from all the other comments.

I just wish that while i was in hospital, it would have occurred to the remaning two staff members to explain to guests that we were severely understaffed at the time, which might have helped avoid receiving comments like the one you have left, because as they say, that sort of feels like receiving insult after injury..

Sorry if things did not go as you might have expected, and as we would have liked them to go, but it is pretty hard running things from a hospital bed.

The good news is that things have been back to normal for about three weeks now. In fact, several brillant comments previous to yours, have been left by guests who stayed after you stayed with us.

If anybody has any questions , feel free to contact me directly on facebook: alfredmoesker@gmail.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We booked a room at Sleeping Beauty, but upon arrival were moved to another apartment a five minute walk away. This turned out perfect for us as we now had a kitchen, bathroom, and bedroom all to ourselves. It was also very well stocked with everything you could possibly need. It was also right around the corner from the metro, near a supermarket, and within 10 minutes walking of the Colosseum.

The owner was also exceptionally helpful. He spent 15 minutes showing us where things were on the map, and suggesting sights to see, places to eat... It was honestly the best information I have ever received staying at a guesthouse. The accommodating service we received and the great place we had to stay helped to make our experience in Rome a very memorable one. We are looking forward to returning as soon as possible.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2012

First off I would like to agree with the owner about the Canadians that posted about having an item stolen out of their room. If stealing was a problem here there would be other posts about it. Instead there positive feedback with no comments on items being stolen. I cannot guarantee it did not happen because I was not there but I truly believe that nobody from the Sleeping Beuaty Guesthouse had anything to do with it. The people that work at this guesthouse are very honest and caring people. We were even invited to one of thier friends bar to watch the euro final and they even told us we would be welcome in their home to watch the game if we preferrred. This was an excellent place to stay because of accomadations, location, and most of all the people that work there and made our trip fantastic. They reccommended great places to eat, get a drink, sites to see and part of time joined us. If you are looking for a great time and locals to show you how locals do it in Rome stay here!! Ramazan was especially awesome!!!!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have shared baths, but they recently remodeled one of the rooms to have a ensuite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Well Thank you very much James, and glad you also enjoyed yourselves while you were with us. Had not been able to sleep too well lately, funny how being upset can do that to you....:)
I think i 'll have a great shuteye tonight though.
Tks again and Ramazan, (stafmember) send his greetings as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I have been to Rome a number of times, dating back almost 15-years, and had stayed at a number of other places (often more expensive and less satisfying) before knowing about Sleeping Beauty almost 10-years ago. The facilities are always clean and pleasant, the staff friendly and helpful, often going beyond the call of duty, and the price is very good considering convenient location and what you get. Do book ahead as far as possible though, as I do find it's always busy and I got caught on one trip not being able to get room. Overall it's excellent value and more!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrfmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

One of those rare places you come across when you travel where you instantly feel at home. The added value is without a doubt the personal way the staff interact with their customers. When you finally leave, you feel like you leave some friends behind, and thats a great feeling.
Rooms are also of a high level, for what we have seen of guesthouses in Europe.Free Wifi, (with a strong signal!), a small kitchen with microwave which comes in handy, Can also recommend the Mandarino bar behind the guesthouse which is mainly frequented by local Romans and which radiates a very laid back and welcoming feel as well.
An interesting mix of clientele as well, from younger backpackers to older traveller types, and the formula works very well for them.

Room Tip: It is a small guesthouse, so you probably get assigned your room pretty randomly. You can try to as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Novecento
Hotel Novecento
#520 of 1,257 in Rome
306 reviews
Esquilino
Bon Ton Suite
Bon Ton Suite
#627 of 3,644 in Rome
137 reviews
Esquilino
DaMa di Roma
DaMa di Roma
#694 of 3,644 in Rome
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Domus Caracalla
Domus Caracalla
#195 of 3,644 in Rome
355 reviews
Esquilino
Charme Holidays Colosseum
Charme Holidays Colosseum
#437 of 3,644 in Rome
46 reviews
Esquilino
In The Center You Too
In The Center You Too
#175 of 3,644 in Rome
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse

Property: Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse
Address: Viale Carlo Felice 89, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #542 of 3,644 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleeping Beauty is situated in front of the St. John's in Lateran church, place of worship and oldest catholic church of the western world. Since our two star superior accommodation is in the heart of the eternal city, you can easily find refuge during the lazy roman afternoons and start your conquest of Rome from here. Sleeping Beauty is inside the historical centre of Rome, within the old city walls, and at a 15 minute walk to the Colosseum and Roman Forum area. Excellent connections with all means to transport just around the corner (underground, tram, buses) take you to the rest of the centre of Rome in few minutes. Free Internet access for all guests. Amenities are: TV Hairdryer Electronic Safe Free Internet Free tea and coffeemaking facilities Multilingual staff speaks French and English ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing