We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & welcoming host makes all the difference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse
Ranked #577 of 3,722 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Although my friends and I stayed for just one night, the staff made us feel very welcomed right in the very beginning and made a great recommendation on a restaurant nearby (authentic Italian food!). It is well situated within a 10 minute walking distance to the Colosseum, with the metro a 5 min walk away, allowing easy transportation to the Vatican City.

The room itself was quite big, air-conditioned, with a TV and DVD player (you can borrow DVDs in the common area). It also has a rather strong wifi signal for all the people who can't live without the internet.

Perhaps on the slightly downside was the shared bathroom, but it wasn't a problem at all for me, since we felt at home the moment we walked in the guesthouse! Would highly recommend Sleeping Beauty to all the travellers out there!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

I and my friend stayed 2 nights in Sleeping Beauty, and I will definitely recommend this place for visitors of Rome. It was really well located - we walked to Colosseum and other famous monuments in 10 minutes. We even came back from Vatican City by walking, and we could pass through many famous sites in Rome. It is also quite close to the non-touristic area of Rome!
As two girls traveling alone, we felt very safe and comfortable in Sleeping Beauty, with a super friendly staff. The room was spacious, clean and beautiful, but also antique and classy. If I go back to Rome, I will definitely stay again in this place!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jinenstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Nice guesthouse and very near to colosseum . Friendly staff , clean rooms and complete amenities. internet was fast enough and also they have a complete kitchen appliances that you can use during your stay. Definitely we will stay here again when we visit Rome . Highly recommended for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank art_caleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We have not even waited to get home to write this review. The Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse does exactly what it says on the tin. It does not claim to be a 5 star hotel. We actually came here on the back of previous reviews, and we have not been disappointed. The staff are really, really helpful. All advice given about places to eat and drink have been spot on. Room is great, spacious and clean. We are planning to come back later in the year, with our children. Very handy for transport into the centre, however, we decided to walk to and from the city each day. Great place and can recommended it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drm080865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Nice guesthouse with goodlooking, clean and big rooms. Really friendly staff who are very helpful and will give you good advice about Rome !! Great location close to the metro and 15 minutes walk to Colosseum.

Gerben van Ipenburg

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerben-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

My daughter and I spent only two nights in Rome but we really managed to see a lot and enjoy the city. The staff at Sleeping Beauty were just wonderful, so helpful and attentive to our needs. They were genuine in their helpfulness. We would stay there again. I also appreciated that there were night staff and so it felt very safe to be there.

Room Tip: There's a great little fresh market-grocer about a block away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleanora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Sleeping beauty is a nice place to stay in Rome. It is conveniently located near the San Giovanni metro, but it isn't really within walking distance of the main attractions. The staff is great, but they have very limited hours. The breakfast is also limited.

Room Tip: I don't think there is much of a difference between rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#204 of 1,269 in Rome
679 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#451 of 1,269 in Rome
295 reviews
Esquilino
Domus Sessoriana
Domus Sessoriana
#309 of 1,269 in Rome
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#215 of 1,269 in Rome
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse

Address: Viale Carlo Felice 89, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #577 of 3,722 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £42 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleeping Beauty is situated in front of the St. John's in Lateran church, place of worship and oldest catholic church of the western world. Since our two star superior accommodation is in the heart of the eternal city, you can easily find refuge during the lazy roman afternoons and start your conquest of Rome from here. Sleeping Beauty is inside the historical centre of Rome, within the old city walls, and at a 15 minute walk to the Colosseum and Roman Forum area. Excellent connections with all means to transport just around the corner (underground, tram, buses) take you to the rest of the centre of Rome in few minutes. Free Internet access for all guests. Amenities are: TV Hairdryer Electronic Safe Free Internet Free tea and coffeemaking facilities Multilingual staff speaks French and English ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleeping Beauty Guesthouse Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing