We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really cosy”
Review of Hotel Il Papavero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Il Papavero
Ranked #1,037 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This is an excellent choice for low budget tourist. It is really close to Termini Station (the train station and also the bus station to airports). The rooms are clean and they have the the basics. Don`t expect a 5 stars hotel with breakfast included - no, it is a cozy hotel for travelers. We paid 30 Euros / night and don`t forget to add the 2 euros / person / day Rome city tax. Also, the staff (two Romanian women) were very kind and helpful!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

++ near TERMINI station.. only 10 min walk...
++ room & bathroom are clean..
++ receptionist are not in the same building as the rooms, so it is an advantage if you travel with many people & if you bring children..

-- old & small lift/elevator.. We get anxious every time we rode it, we afraid it would stop working and got us stuck in it..
-- we were in summer there, the weather was so hot, we have to pay for the AC remote control for 5 Euro daily..
-- lights were out the whole floor in the middle of the night, maybe because old building.. but was took care immediately..
-- because the receptionist in other building, it is quite a handful if you need anything / help from them..

The Hotel is quite cheap to stay in rome and near to the TERMINI that can bring you to all sightseeing in rome..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mgd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Hi! I just arrived home from a beautiful vacation in Rome. It's the third time i choose Il Papavero and i'm very thankfull! They just renewed their reception, their rooms and certainly it's a new appeareance! I warmly recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scarlat a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed four nights at the hotel. The room was very small but clean, with nice balcony. The receptionists were very helpful and gave a lot of advices regarding sightseeing. The location is very good - quiet, but at the same time near Terminal station for the trains were two metro lines cross and there is a bus station.
We do not recommend Famiglia restaurant near the hotel - the food was good and the prices also but we were cheated by the waiter who wrote prices on a sheet of paper with no explanations -much more than we ordered.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 10 - very small but ok, with nice balcony, there was a special price for this room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hotel is in a safe location very close to Termini station and not really far away from the historical citiy center. The staff is really really friendly and extreamly helpful. In the neighbourhood there are lot of non-stop stores, cafes and cheap restaurants/bars. There is a wonderful bakery next door, it is open every night! Unfortunately this is also on of the disadvantages, because it is very loud to sleep here even during the night, the street is always busy. The rooms are smal but tidy, the bed is not really comfortable, but the price is so good, it is absolutely worth it. Budget hotel, closer to a hostel, don't expect much and you won't be dissapointed for this price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darvkop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had a small room,with a heating system just as decor even if the temperature was 12 Celsius degrees, poor and expensive breakfast in a noisy place, not in the hotel .
The hotel is quite far from tube station, so it's more a 2 stars one at price of 3 stars.

Room Tip: corner rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VioletaZbanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Located 10minutes walk from the Termini train station and near to a small local supermarket. Checked in to the hotel and was walked next door to our room. Simple bunk bed room with lockable cupboards. Shower and toilet located just down the hall. Checking out the next day luggage was left while we went sight seeing and then collected with no bother before leaving Rome.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#463 of 1,272 in Rome
303 reviews
Esquilino
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
#683 of 1,272 in Rome
144 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#935 of 1,272 in Rome
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#219 of 1,272 in Rome
710 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Katty
Hotel Katty
#554 of 1,272 in Rome
225 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Indipendenza
Hotel Indipendenza
#891 of 1,272 in Rome
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Papavero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Papavero

Address: Via Castelfidardo 50/A, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,037 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £30 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Il Papavero 1*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel "Il Papavero" offers everything you may need for a pleasant stay, with competitive prices and a staff Always willing to help and fulfill the needs of those who travel to the capital for holidays, work or study. The hotel is situated in a strategic position that will allow you to reach even by walking the main attraction of the "Eternal City". Nearby you will find great cafès, restaurants and pizza shops to taste the italian food and hospitality. Thanks to our Reception Desk open 24/7 you will be able to ask questions, book tours and plan your stay at any moment. Our offers are numerous and diverse,they can change from week to week and during the day, so we invite you to call us or write us an email to know more about them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Il Papavero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Papavero Hotel
Il Papavero Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing