We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right where you want to be. Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Santa Maria alle Fornaci
Ranked #644 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Right where you want to be. Loved it”
Reviewed 17 April 2008

This review is based on a stay exaclty one year ago from this writing. April 11, 2007. I was just thinking of my wonderful Rome trip and wishing we were there right now. The accomodations are clean, comfortable, and just what you need. Breakfast is included and always delicious.This is not the Hilton, nor does it need to be. You are steps away from St. Peters and in walking distance of all sites in the City. We walked everywhere with no problems. The staff is friendly, accomodating and gracious. There is no need to spend hundreds of Euros for a great stay .
Ask for Carlo or Giovanni, they were awesome.

  • Liked — Location, staff, price
  • Disliked — small showers
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gregscarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    81
    32
    8
    7
See reviews for
32
53
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2007

Convent converted into a hotel, just a couple blocks south of St Peter's Square. The rooms are basic but immaculate, comfortable, and air conditioned. No TV in the rooms, which was fine by me. Staff was very helpful and pleasant, and most spoke a good bit of English. Great value.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank kPuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2007

Wonderful location, just a few streets from St Peters. As you would expect from a religious establishment rooms were quite small and spartan but contained all necessities. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful, staff polite and helpful, clean and overall excellent value for money.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank SharonK07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Martinville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2006

This convent converted to a hotel is a mere two short blocks from the back of St. Peters and Vatican City. The entire atmosphere of this hotel is polite, quiet and efficient. Even the guests are considerate. Our room had two twin beds with the most comfortable mattresses I've slept on in a long while. The sheets are cotton ironed to perfection. Our French windows came with an opaque inside shutter which allowed for day sleeping in complete darkness after a long flight. The ac provided plenty of cool air even during the heat wave of July, 2006. The shower is small, but nice with unyielding hot water. It has an elevator, a computer and TV in the community room for guest use, a wonderful breakfast of gourmet cereals, fresh fruit, pastries, juice, meat, cheese, yogurt, coffee and tea. The staff is polite, English speaking and very accommodating. BUT the best thing about this hotel is its location and price. You just can not beat the proximity to the Vatican and all it has to offer for 80 euros/night. If you prefer quiet hotels, then this is the place for you. If you party all night, forget it.

Helpful?
31 Thank Springers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2004

This is more a hotel than a convent. No nuns in site. For the price, it seemed like a luxury hotel. It's a good 15 minute walk to the Vatican. We were a mother and daughter traveling together. Thank God fo the elevator. Our room had twin beds, nice bathroom with shower and hot water, large towels, shampoo, body wash included. We even had a hair dryer, phone in the room (wake up call available). We paid 80 euros a night. A/C is included, we kept it at 18 degrees celsius, because we were there during the summer (June 22-24, 2004). The breakfast was great, rolls, jam, nuttella, orange juice, coffee, cereal, yogurt. Stores are located nearby where you can get fruit, sandwiches etc. There is a large sitting room downstairs. The address of this hotel is Piazza S.Maria alle Fornaci 27, Rome phone ----------. The staff is friendly, and the hotel is not the easiest to find. Take the 64 bus to St. Peter's station. With your back to the station,turn left, go straight till you see a street sign that says _____III. turn right, go straight come to a T,turn right, see a church, and yellow building. The yellow building is the hotel. We reallllly liked t here, and will stay again. Oh- we went to see the Pope on the day we were checking out, and the staff let us keep our luggage at the desk til we returned.

Helpful?
18 Thank JennG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Emmaus
#528 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Prati
Domus Carmelitana
Domus Carmelitana
#450 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel San Pietro
#863 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Hotel Paolo II
#1,020 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Adriatic Hotel
Adriatic Hotel
#515 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Santa Maria alle Fornaci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Santa Maria alle Fornaci

Property: Casa Santa Maria alle Fornaci
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Alle Fornaci 27, 00165 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #644 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Santa Maria alle Fornaci 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building is at 300 meters from Vatican with rooms all equipped of ensuite hygienic services, conditioned air and internet wi-fi, and receive those who, singularly or in groups, want to stay "in the shadow of the big dome". Approximately 10.000 hosts coming from all over the world, every year, demonstrate to appreciate the total absence of architectural feature that provides access to handicapped, the breakfast-room, the tv-room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa Santa Maria alle Fornaci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santa Maria Alle Fornaci Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing