We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the doorstep of the Vatican”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Santa Maria alle Fornaci
Ranked #617 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed there for 2 nights (but not in a row) in April and May 2014. It is literally 5 min away from the Vatican and very convenient for anyone who is planning to visit the Vatican and Rome. If you walk to the end of the street you'll find the terminal station of San Pietro and the bus 64 can take you straight to Roma Termini if you want to take a train to another city in Italy, or anything else. About the hotel, the rooms are more than enough for 1 person, the shower is small but that wasn't a problem since i only stayed for 2 nights. Breakfast is simple, and the ladies serving it were very friendly and smiling all the time, as was the cleaning lady. Makes you feel welcome and peaceful! I had booked through monastery.com and it was very easy to book a late checkout on my last night there since my plane was leaving rather late (10 pm). Many good pizzerias and restaurants around, just ask them at the reception. The only thing I didn't like was how thin the walls are, I could clearly hear what my next door neighbors were saying, not to mention being woken by their voices in the morning. However, it wasn't such a big problem since this only lasted a little time: I was out of the room most of the time to enjoy Rome! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone, especially pilgrims.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KryssR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Yes, this place has a great location near St. Peter's, and it has a decent breakfast, but it is lacking in other qualities. We were expecting a spartan room, but not the mold that went along with it. Our shower was black with mold and there was a 2 inch strip of black mold under the window ledge. The hall carpet is shabby and dirty and the front desk staff were sometimes rude and condescending. Will not return or recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
9  Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Quaint hotel, but its best feature is being so close to the Vatican. The location was so convenient for the few days we spent in Rome. The rooms were very tiny, but for the amount of time we actually spent in the room it was great!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank carlabellaxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This was our second stay and again, we were not disappointed. This place was made for pilgrims rather than tourists and therefore it is fairly modest but adequate nonetheless. Rooms are furnished sparsely, we had a twin bedroom which consisted of a large wardrobe, desk, mirror and chair plus telephone. Please bear in mind there is no TV or radio in the room however there is wifi available so we didn't mind this at all, having brought our ipad with us. There are also no tea making facilities however there is a TV room by the reception where you can make yourself a drink. I'd also say that you need to bear in mind that the bathroom is fairly small and the shower cubicle is tiny, this wasn't a problem for us but it might prove uncomfortable for anyone larger than size 18-20. Toiletries and hairdryer is provided. This hotel serves breakfast only (which was plentiful and included salami, ham, cheese, sweet pastries, fruit, hard-boiled eggs, tea, coffee, juice, yoghurt, cereal etc.). There are several restaurants in the nearby area as well as takeaway pizza place plus a large supermarket further up the road (just ask for directions to Carrefour). Roma Stazione San Pietro train station is located right behind the hotel (you cant hear any noise from there in your room) and the Vatican is literally 5 mins walk, St.Peter's Cathedral is visible as soon as you step outside. If you like to walk, the vast majority of Rome's attractions are accessible on foot (just follow Corso Vittorio Emanuelle, you will see signs for. Piazza Navona, Pantheon, Colosseum etc. as you walk along; you can reach Colosseum within 35-40mins walk). You can store your passport and valuables at a safe in the reception, you chose your own locker and pin and you can access it when you like. Please note that city tax is payable in Rome, as of 2014 this is €2 per person per night and has to be paid on top of your bill. The hotel suggested take-taxi as a transfer provider, the driver collected us from the hotel on time, no problems at all. This costed £55 one way. We decided to also book a return transfer later on and ended up booking Rome Chauffeur which were absolutely brilliant, lovely lady driver turned up 10mins early in a nice black Mercedes and took us to the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Paula245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

After an initial bit of difficulty finding this hotel, we discovered it was a short distance to Saint Peter's Square and the Vatican. The rooms were a bit worn and small, but the cost was so affordable, it was fine. The shower and bathroom are small, but I am not tiny and fit fine. The wifi was sometimes a bit hinky, but only during the time many people were using it. The breakfast was decent and the older lady that worked it was so nice and friendly. As others have said, there was a bit of noise when the neighbors were a bit rowdy. If you plan on lazing around your room, this is probably not the place you want. If you plan on being out in Rome sightseeing, this is a great base.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ladyfromkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Great option for visiting Rome. Simple rooms, and few amenities, but great location and reasonable price. Excellent breakfast as well. Recommend if you will be out all day visiting the sights. I don't recommend if you want to spend a lot of time relaxing in your room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Simply furnished but clean, comfortable, helpful staff, excellent breakfast and great location when visiting the Vatican. Prices are very affordable and nearby there are plenty of restaurants and shops. Would be being picky to find fault and only slight criticism is that sound proofing between rooms could be better but only a minor niggle.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OmerGatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Emmaus
#508 of 1,269 in Rome
351 reviews
Hotel Paolo II
#675 of 1,269 in Rome
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fragrance Hotel St.Peter
#107 of 1,269 in Rome
496 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#134 of 1,269 in Rome
474 reviews
Hotel Casa Tra Noi
#585 of 1,269 in Rome
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Santa Maria alle Fornaci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Santa Maria alle Fornaci

Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Alle Fornaci 27, 00165 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #617 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £63 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Santa Maria alle Fornaci 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building is at 300 meters from Vatican with rooms all equipped of ensuite hygienic services, conditioned air and internet wi-fi, and receive those who, singularly or in groups, want to stay "in the shadow of the big dome". Approximately 10.000 hosts coming from all over the world, every year, demonstrate to appreciate the total absence of architectural feature that provides access to handicapped, the breakfast-room, the tv-room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Casa Santa Maria alle Fornaci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santa Maria Alle Fornaci Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing