We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing second visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Ranked #103 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We had stayed at Relais le Clarisse for three nights four years ago, and had loved the charm, the staff and the location, so when we needed a place to stay for one night in Rome at the end of a two week vacation, we eagerly booked two rooms (for five people). Since our last visit, the management has changed, and although cordial, the staff did not treat us with the same personal, engaging service that we remembered. The problem with this visit was that, in the heat of the summer, the air conditioning unit on our room did not work, and the room was sweltering. Since there is no staff at the front desk after 10 pm, there was nothing we could do except sleep with the door to our room, which opened into the courtyard, open. We spent a miserable night, and sadly, our fond memories of this hotel were ruined.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nuwest222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaisLeClarisse, Direttore at Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us here at Relais Le Clarisse.
I am concerned to read that you were dissapointed with aspects of your stay with us. I have spoken to our housekeeping manager and she has addressed this incident with the maintenance team. We do pride ourselves on keeping a very high standard of service and cleanliness here and take your comments very seriously.
Again thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, we always welcome comment and strive to constantly maintain and upgrade our standards to ensure a positive experience for
all our guests.

Kind Regards,
Relais Le Clarisse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
There are newer reviews for Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

This hotel was in a neighborhood off the beaten path of tourists, yet close to everything. It is a 20-30 minute walk to the Coloseum and ruins. Our room was large, only complaint was that the AC wasn't properly sized and located for the room. Had a very pretty courtyard for eating breakfast. Make sure you take a detailed map of the hotel location! Our cab driver couldn't find it even with our map. Luckily, we got dropped off a couple of blocks away and we can read a map better than a Rome cab driver and found it fine. Cab ride from Termini Stazione to the hotel was 15-20 euros.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kristinewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaisLeClarisse, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear Mrs Kristine,
thank you very much for your sincere and kind review of your recent stay at Relais Le Clarisse. We know sometimes it can be a little tricky locating us at first, especially considering that due to the historical value of our premises the Art & Culture department refused to let us put a bigger sign for the entrance of the Hotel.
They say, though, that there is no best way to discover a new city than getting lost in it!

We truly hope to see you again in Rome anytime.

Warm regards,
Relais Le Clarisse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We choose that hotel for its location but had not realized in was not in the heart of Trastevere; however, the centre is at walking distance. For Italian standards, the breakfast was very good, with many local products. Staff was very helpful whenever asked. The courtyard and the room however lacked real charm, maybe time will help! Also, the management should not allow clients to eat in the courtyard whatever they buy at kiosks. Good price/quality rate though.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OmegasGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Relais Le Clarisse with other travelers.

We are very pleased by the fact you had the chance to appreciate our Staff's efforts and our varied and genuine brekfast, and we are especially glad you feel like the treatment was good value for money: honesty is a feature we would never want to fail on.

I would like, if you would please let me, explain our position on what you found less appropriate about your stay:
Relais Le Clarisse is located 300 mt away (3 minutes walking distance) from Piazza Santa Maria in Trastevere, which is, in fact, the actual “heart” of the neighborhood.
When we first opened it was our main concern to choose a location that could offer our most welcome Guests both the characteristic and lively flavour of this area AND a place where to enjoy quite and silence at night or just a restoring break from the long walks around the city. We know perfectly how Rome can be tiring and cahotic and Trastevere is no exception: please believe me, it would not have been as easy to have a good sleep if we chose a location adjacent to the main square.
As for clients eating food purchased elsewhere in our garden, that is a precise choise as well: we try to do our best to make feel our Guests like “at a Home away from Home”, as one of our kind previous Guests decided to label our Relais in a recent review on Tripadvisor. We like them to feel free to enjoy what is often considered our best feature, the Mediterranean garden, in total liberty.

I deeply thank you for the kind words and for your suggestions on issues to improve: there is nothing more useful in our business than Guests' sincere opinions.

Hoping we will have the pleasure to host you again.

Warm regards,
Relais Le Clarisse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Relais Le Clarisse. The location was great - walking distance to all the big attractions like the Pantheon, Campo di Fiori, Piazza Navona, etc. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, and the bathroom very modern, though as you might expect in Rome, the room is compact. The breakfast was quite nice and included cappuccino/espresso. Really appreciated that there was a safe in the armoire. Our only suggestion would be to add some hooks in the room to hang towels, clothing items, etc.

Room Tip: Our room on the courtyard had a separate entrance that made it convenient for coming and going at an...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guidesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Guest,
you have spent such kind and flattering words on all aspects of your stay with us at Relais Le Clarisse that I could do nothing more than THANK YOU on behalf of the management and all the Staff working here.

As for your final suggestion, I believe you are right and we were thinking already on providing some additional comforts to the rooms from this point of view.

Hoping to welcome you again sometime.

Sincerely,
Gloria
Relais Le Clarisse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I enjoyed the location of Le Clarisse.... Right on the edge of the funky,cafe filled part of Trastevere, my favorite neighborhood in Rome. Check in went well; the staff is very nice and helpful. We were given the Melograno room. You actually go outside the hotel. Down two doors and have a separate entrance to a group of other rooms. It was right on Via Trastevere, so I was surprised the room was as quiet as it was. The room had the typical above door a/c unit, and in the small room, after two nights of having chilly air blowing on my face, I came down its a nasty cold. Also, be careful of the bed frame. The maid covers it with a cover, and between the two of us, we have several bruises on our shins! The room was very small.... Honestly, the bathroom was about the same size! Not a big deal, since how much are you in the room anyway? Still, worth knowing.

The room could also use a little decor upgrade. It's very simple with white walls. Mother ceiling is beautiful... Old brick arches, and asinwas lying on the bed,minkept thinking how beautiful the room could be with paint that brought in th terra cotta and gold from the bricks, and a painting or two would certainly help!

The bathroom, al in marble, was quite acceptable.

The breakfast was acceptable though limited; rolls, croissants, yogurt, cheese and ham.

Internet is included, which is helpful.

All in all, doubt I would stay there again, though the price was fair. I'd look for something with a little more charm and space. Of course, this was probably the room I was in,

Room Tip: Definitely ask first!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VailGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Guest,
reviews including considerate and helpful suggestions just as yours are always more than welcome and are a great incentive to improve our standard day by day. So thank you.

We take this kind of issues very seriously so first of all, what you wrote about the bed frame hurting you is definetely a matter we will take care of! Noone had ever reported us this complain, so we are grateful to you for warning us about it.

About room size I can personally assure you that European (and especially Italian, I must admit) standards are rarely generous from this point of view and I am very sorry you did not feel as comfortable as we would like every Guest to be. Despite this I am glad to guarantee that we are very proud of being able to also offer bright and large Suites and Superior rooms, much more spacious than average for Italian Standards, in fact.

Thank you for having noticed our ancient ceilings: those arches and bricks are dated back to XVIII century, it took a great effort to fully restore them but we are proud of the result.

Lastly, we regret that you did not fully appreciate the variety of our breakfast: even if meeting all different tastes is impossible, we try to do our best in offering different types of pastries, cakes, hot and cold drinks, juices, cereals, yoghurts, many kinds of cheeses, hams and meats, bread, jams, honey, coffes, teas, cappuccinos ecc.

I promise we will be glad to reserve you a special treatment in one of the above mentioned rooms overlooking the garden if you will choose to be our most welcomed Guest again in the future.

Sincerely,
Relais Le Clarisse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

On the recommendation of a friend, we stayed at the RLC for 4 nights as a basis for a mini-vacation in the Eternal City. In short, we loved it. Although not inexpensive, its location, charm, amenities and staff made it excel. It is located in Trastevere, just across the Tiber and within walking distance of many destinations (Colosseum, Pantheon, Forum, etc.).

It is a small hotel (maybe 9 rooms?); ours was quite spacious (by Euro standards) and very nicely appointed (even had a hot tub, which we did not use). Good wireless internet at no extra charge. Lovely breakfast buffet with attentive and friendly staff.

We made significant use of the desk staff to help with transit directions and so on and without exception they were great. I would like to specifically applaud Valentina who spent a lot of time with us over 4 days and was VERY helpful, considerate, polite and nice! A good ambassador for the hotel.

Best of all, the location in Trastevere is very special. Within a 5 min walk, you have a huge assortment of restaurants / bars serving great food and drink at reasonable prices. Evidently this is where Romans go to indulge.

All in all, we simply loved our stay here and would not hesitate to stay there again or recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RexT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for the nice comment and words you dedicated to all our staff.

We are extremely delighted to know that you appreciated the quality of the services and professionalism of our team.

Knowing that you returned home carrying with you such pleasant memories of the experience lived at Relais le Clarisse, it is for us the greatest satisfaction and a stimulus to continue working with passion and devotion, to guarantee our Guests the attention and quality standards they deserve. In fact, this Relais started as a 5 five rooms Bed & breakfast a few years ago. If today we can count 13 rooms it is just thanks to the trust our Guests keep placing in us.

Our most heartful thank you for your lovely feedback that we gladly shared with all our hotel team.
Hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.

Warmest regards,
Relais Le Clarisse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The Relais LeClarisse is a small and in nice way casual and personal hotel in Trastevere near the main street Viale di Trastevere and the straight narrow street of Via di San Francesco a Ripa which leads you to the famous Piazza Santa Maria in Trastevere. The Hotel with not so many rooms and with small courtyard situates in a very good place between the north and south parts of Trastevere, which both are mazes of narrow streets with medieval houses. As you may know Trastevere as such has its own identity and has stayed a personal part of Rome. It is much more than the narrow alleys on the tourist areas with all the pubs and restaurants partly made for tourists. It has local food shops and market places, f.ex. by the Piazza di San Cosimato where you can find nice pizzerias, tavernas, cafes and pubs! Also the south part of Trastevere near the river Tiber/Tevere - like under the armpit of river - where situates f.ex. the church of Santa Cecilia in Trastevere (worth to see!) is interesting to visit. Take time and eat f.ex. in the Taverna Mercanti enjoying the flavours of Trastevere!

Breakfast room was small but you could also eat on the courtyard. The breakfast itself was good and sufficient even though I would add more choices of fresh bread which is very good in Rome. Staff of the Hotel Relais Le Clarisse was very friendly, helpful and approachable. The atmosphere of the hotel was very nice, warm and casual. In spite of all positive we want to tell you about the hotel it was not quite value for money which was a bit disappointing for us.

Room Tip: We chose the superior room with garden view. The garden means a courtyard with plants which was nice...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaisLeClarisse, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Guests,
we deeply thank you for sharing such an accurate and detailed description of your experience at Relais Le Clarisse, complete with pictures. As I can see, it comes from an amazing attention to Roman culture and its most worthy features: I truly believe that is the best way to travel, eyes and heart wide open.

This provides an extra flattering point for us: discerning Guests are harder to satisfy, but their good opinion and kind words always convince us we are going the right way.

Please, just allow me to say that the "machine" in your pictures is not an old fashioned air conditioning as you have supposed in your description, it is an exhaust fan. :-)

Grateful for your kind words, we hope to have you again as our most welcomed Guests anytime soon.

Warm regards,
Gloria
Le Clarisse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#283 of 1,267 in Rome
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,267 in Rome
2,946 reviews
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#522 of 1,267 in Rome
170 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
#476 of 1,267 in Rome
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere

Address: Via Cardinale Merry del Val 20, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#139 Family Hotel in Rome
#152 Business Hotel in Rome
#232 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £71 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Le Clarisse is located in the heart of Trastevere, one of the most animated and picturesque districts of the capital. One of the favorite destinations of the Roman "movida" within walking distance are found some of the most notable sites of ancient Rome as Santa Maria in Trastevere, the Isola Tiberina, Piazza Navona and the Pantheon. Using public transportation, you can reach with ease and speed, the Vatican City, Piazza di Spagna, the Coliseum, the Foro Romano and Piazza Venezia. The hotel has various rooms and is designed to meet the needs of families and couples on a romantic getaway. All rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with air conditioning, safe, free Wi Fi, flat screen Tv, Sky Tv, minibar, desk, hot drinks tray. The comfortable and modern bathrooms offer shower, hair dryer, towel warmer, body care kit. Some rooms are equipped with Jacuzzi and others overlook a peaceful courtyard. During the summer, the garden is the best place where you can enjoy a hearty breakfast, buffet style composed of cheeses, cold meats, hard-boiled eggs, fresh fruit and homemade sweet and savory pies. The Relais offers room service. The reception has laundry and ironing service is available as well as a left-luggage room, maps of the city and tourist information on restaurants and shops in the area. Wi Fi is available in the entire hotel and it is possible to park in the street with park meter. Pets are welcome. Whatever the reason of your stay, Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere is a great choice for your permanence in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Le Clarisse Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing