We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic staff and best location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn Spagna Charming House
Ranked #291 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff and best location”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Perfect for a short stay. I loved the location –around the corner from the Spanish steps and very close to either sights including trevi fountain, pantheon and shopping. we walked everywhere including Vatican and Colleseium and there are also great restaurants very close by. Despite the central location the street of the hotel was very quiet. The staff were the most friendly and helpful staff I have come across which, along with the location, is why i gave this hotel such a high rating. This is the perfect place to stay for a sightseeing trip in Rome. The hotel also arranged pick up for us from the airport which was hassle fee. The rooms are very small, the shower is tiny and no elevator, so if you're room is on the third or fourth floor – be prepared for some steep step climbing. we ate breakfast at bar fratini, which is a one minute walk from the hotel and had a great sandwich selection.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bondigirl-sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    101
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
52
138
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

What makes Inn Spagna Charming House as awesome as it is has mostly to do with how excellent the staff is. They bend over backwards to make sure your every need is met. Seriously, some of the coolest people I've met in ages. And the location is fantastic. For the price, this place is probably the best value in Rome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

What a charming Inn! Our room on the 3rd floor was quaint (read = on the small side) but very well decorated! We also had a nice-sized window that we could open. The bathroom was a decent size, and they provided CO Bigelow toiletries, which impressed me.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. There was someone working the desk 24 hours a day, which we liked. They also provided a dinner recommendation for our last night in Rome (Ciro), which was fantastic!

The hotel is in a great location - close to shopping, 2 steps from the Spanish Steps, 5-10 minute walk to Trevi Fountain. It's also very close to the Spagna metro stop. Everything else was within a 15-20 minute walk.

The only caution, as others have mentioned, is the stairs. The hotel does not have an elevator, which we knew ahead of time. We didn't mind, and considered it our exercise to work off all the food we ate!!

We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Excellent Location. Staff were great and very helpful. When we arrived the receptionist took our luggage up to the 4 floor we offered tips and he did not accept it.

If I have to say something negative it will have to be the stairs, since no lift, but the excellent location makes you forget about the stairs, you will probably use them only once to get up and down at the start and end of the day.

If I visit Rome again, I will definitely try to book there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The aptly named "Charming" Inn Spagna is located no more than 20-30 mins. walk from pretty much all the major Rome attractions, and is just around the corner from the Spanish Steps. The hotel is located right in the middle of the action, and yet the street it's on is surprisingly quiet. While the rooms are quite small, they are extremely clean and well-appointed. The biggest plus for this place though is the very friendly and helpful staff. They are always happy to give you tips on site-seeing, restaurants to fit your budget, transportation, etc. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just arrived back from Rome and from a very pleasent stay at Spagna Inn! Lovely staff, great location with just a 2 minutes walk away from the Spanish Steps and the metroline A, which is convenient if you want to take the subway from Termini Station to the hotel (Only 1,50€). The room was very nice, clean, had a comfortable bed and good facilities.The staff are very friendly and helpful if you need help or recommandations to restaurants nearby. Would definitely stay here again!
The hotel is situated just in the area of all the luxuary shops in Rome. It takes a 15 minutes walk to the Fontana di Trevi and 30 minutes walk to Colosseum, and 2 minutes to the Spanish steps :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianneBL80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Stay in the hotel for six days, and if you need a good clean room with perfect location - this hotel for you. The administration of the hotel offers to meet you in airport , it costs about 50 euros and you get Rome with your luggage without any problem. The same service to arrive in the airport in your back way.
By the way, the location is so good, so you can walking to all famous sights and not use taxi.
The administration of the the hotel is very polite and the workers always can help you to decide your problem.
Sure I want to come back to this place, beautiful old building, clean rooms and perfect location - all this reasons work to good reputation of this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#61 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#112 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#313 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Forte
Hotel Forte
#267 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Piazza di Spagna
Hotel Piazza di Spagna
#402 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#95 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn Spagna Charming House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Spagna Charming House

Property: Inn Spagna Charming House
Address: Via Mario De' Fiori 11, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in Rome
#121 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn Spagna Charming House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn Spagna room hotel is in the heart of the Historical center of Rome. 100 meters from the Spanish Steps and 50 meters from the Piazza Navona. It's a perfect location to discover Rome's famous places, at the corner of Via Borgognona and Via Mario de' Fiori. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn Spagna Charming House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Spagna Room

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing