We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely, clean, contemporary room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn Spagna Charming House
Ranked #291 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“lovely, clean, contemporary room”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We loved staying at the Inn Spagna. The hosts and all of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were beautifully clean, comfortable and well-maintained, with attractive contemporary decor. We were upgraded to a suite, which was on the first floor of a separate apartment building and we had the feeling of being in a lovely private apartment rather than in a hotel room.
We did not realize when we booked this hotel, that it was in the perfect location: not all areas in Rome are on the metro line, but there happens to be a station at the Spanish steps, which made it very convenient to visit all the tourist sights, and to get to and from the main railway station with connections to the airport.
We will definitely try to stay at this hotel if we are in Rome again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delna_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    101
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
52
138
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were fortunate to book a last minute trip to Rome, and found the Inn Spagna after a quick search here on TripAdvisor. The previous reviews are spot on: the hosts Alex and Massimo are professional, courteous, friendly, helpful and knowledgable. Our room in the annex in (501) felt like a swanky little apartment more than a hotel. Appointed with terrific fabrics and finishes, it offered the perfect location for our walks out to the Spanish Steps and the Piazza del Popolo. We will absolutely return to this gem, please seek it out.

Room Tip: The annex is around the corner from the main hotel, it is quieter and offers a terrific view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SniffySniff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The location of this hotel is great...on a nice street opposite The Spanish Steps. Very safe area and walking distance from everything. We walked everywhere. Rome is fab, better than even expected. Our room was very small and on the fourth floor with lift but it was fine, no frills but clean with a fridge mini-bar. Even with air-con turned off and window open the room remained cool. The best thing about this hotel though are the friendly staff. Massimo could not have been more helpful and friendly. We had a bit of a mix-up in relation to a booking for the Uffizi Gallery in Florence, where we were headed next and he and his colleague did their best to sort it out for us and in fact if you are reading this Massimo...we managed to make it to the Gallery on the day we arrived in Florence. Thank you!

Room Tip: The fourth floor was a bit of a climb and room was small so maybe there are bigger rooms in the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

The staff was all very nice and accommodating. Rooms and lobby are tiny. Wifi only really works out in the hall. The absence of an elevator is really annoying - especially after a long day of walking around Rome. Be careful on the stairs - they are marble and I slipped once. The location was really nice. We were disappointed to learn that there was no breakfast but we found places nearby. They don't supply adapters for outlets but you can plug your phone into the downstairs computer and they will watch it for you so it can charge.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22biancal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed in room 501 at the Annex. Under the hot temperature of 30c, the air con in the room was not working and no other room available. The staff, Alex told us that he would call maintenance to fix it during our dinner time and he promised a free breakfast for all in case it cannot be fixed. After dinner, we found a fan in the room and not even a note, not to mention any compensation. The next afternoon, we went to the front desk and enquired whether they can get it fix for the second night. The answer is NO, can't fix it and that's all we can do.

Paying a handsome amount for the room night and it stated clearly aircon is available while booking. With the same amount of price, I find Piazza Di Spagna Suite's service a lot better. In a hot summer in Rome, stay in Inn Spagna if you don't mind to go without aircon the whole trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Water26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo C, Direttore at Inn Spagna Charming House, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Water26,

Thank you for your review.

We are deeply sorry for the air conditioning inconvenience. The fact is that sometimes things just broke and need time to repair. In this particular case, it took time to find the main board replacement for the air conditioning unit.

Unfortunately, we had no available room to switch you in. We immediately called the maintenace as the problem showed up, our staff worked really hard to fix the aircon in the shortest time but did not succeed in that. The fan you found in your room was not a way to easily get rid of the problem. We simply believed that it could at least relieve your discomfort.

We are also sorry to see that the failure of the air conditioning somehow had an impact in other aspects of our structure that generally are not closely related to the temperature of the room, such as location and cleanliness.

We try to give our best anytime with every guest. Our commitment is demonstrated by the quality of the reviews that we receive from our guests. We are sorry that this time we did not meet your expectations.

Yours Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed in May 2014 for 6 nights. The hotel is perfectly situated near the Spanish Steps and in fact we walked to every destination rather than taking the Metro.

We were warmly welcomed by Alex and his team, and were shown around to the annex which is a building around the corner from the main hotel. Our room in this building was superb - spacious, cool, clean, modern fixtures, beautifully decorated. It was also quiet as we were at the back of the building- this meant no view but then you spend all day looking at views!

The hotel does not have a bar or restaurant but there are so many cafes and bars in the vicinity this was not a problem. Also, the prices of the drinks in the fridge in the room are very reasonable when you consider how expensive it is to eat and drink in Rome.

Alex and team were also very helpful with a few queries during our stay (e.g. how to work the aircon- which did work we just didn't know how!).

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. If you aren't great with stairs, then best to ask for a room in the annex which does have a lift. Also, reading other people's reviews, I think the rooms in the main hotel are smaller. Any queries, do email the hotel as they are so friendly and got back to me right away.

Rome is not a cheap place to visit if you want any sort of comforts, and I would say this hotel was really excellent value.

thanks for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the building with the lift if you aren't good with stairs Not all rooms have bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel in May 2014. The hotel is located very close to the Spanish steps and the subway. If you want to get on the hop on hop off buses there is a stop with in walking distance from the hotel. We were on the third floor in room 303 or 302. There is no lift in the hotel and there is a decent amount of steps. The rooms were good for a European room meaning there a little smaller than Canadian and US hotel rooms but good either way. There was no breakfast with our room but that was no problem as there were some great places to get breakfast for any budget just around the corner. Our blow dryer in our room didn't work so we contact the front desk and they went out to get us a new one, and the ac didn't work for two of the days but was fixed by the hotel very quickly. They were very good with there restaurant suggestions over all great customer experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pavaoj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#61 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#112 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#313 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Forte
Hotel Forte
#267 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Piazza di Spagna
Hotel Piazza di Spagna
#402 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#95 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn Spagna Charming House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Spagna Charming House

Property: Inn Spagna Charming House
Address: Via Mario De' Fiori 11, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in Rome
#121 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn Spagna Charming House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn Spagna room hotel is in the heart of the Historical center of Rome. 100 meters from the Spanish Steps and 50 meters from the Piazza Navona. It's a perfect location to discover Rome's famous places, at the corner of Via Borgognona and Via Mario de' Fiori. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn Spagna Charming House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Spagna Room

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing