We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Vatican B&B
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$367
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$237
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$345
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$328
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$304
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$937
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$477
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
100
42
14
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
42
14
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscroissantsminute walkthird floorbowl of fruitbreakfast vouchersold fashioned liftair conday ticketsmall liftmetro stationtransfer from the airportbreakfast is servedcleaned dailywithin walking distancevisiting rometourist attractionsaround the corner
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2008

We booked our room at the Best B&B Vatican through Venere, but followed up with an email to the property. They were really helpful and, like an earlier poster, arranged for a car to pick us up from the airport (I think it was 50 euros).

Here are some specifics on our stay:

NEIGHBORHOOD: The B&B is in an apartment building on a smaller street VERY close to the Vatican. We've both stayed in the touristy bits of Rome before and really liked this change of pace... mostly locals and a very different, cosmopolitan vibe from the other locations. Plus it was steps from the Vatican and walking distance to all of the major sights in Rome (at least if you like walking).

PROPERTY: The B&B basically takes up most of (I think) the 3rd floor in a quiet building. There's a small elevator, a small common living room with a sofa and free internet on a laptop, and a kitchen, where they prepare breakfast. Decor is very nice, clean and modern - the photos they post are accurate.

ROOM: We got the small double room nearest the kitchen with one window overlooking a small building courtyard. Again, decor was very modern and chic - we were impressed. Bed was comfortable with all white linens and duvet; there was a small clear plastic breakfast table and chairs, a flat-panel TV (CNN and BBC), a DVD player, the cutest honor system minibar I've ever seen, and a TINY IKEA closet unit, which worked fine for our things. It's a small room, but they do a lot with it, and it's very clean. The one big problem is that the walls are pretty thin (as mentioned before) and I would specifically request not to have our room, as it was right next to the kitchen and the cook/maid comes in at 7.

EN-SUITE BATHROOM: Bathroom was nice... decent size shower and insanely soft, huge towels. They were the best towels on our entire trip. Seriously, I wanted to buy the towels.

SERVICE: Some people have complained about a lack of service, but the gentleman who checked us in was very helpful and around in the afternoon. It is a very hands off B&B... more of an apartment, but we appreciated that, and he was great about answering all of our questions in advance.

BREAKFAST: The reviews you've read were not lying - it was almost better than the breakfast we had at our posh agriturismo. It was DELICIOUS... lots of fresh fruits every day (which they left us even after they took away the breakfast cart), breads, eggs, meats, cheeses, juice and tea/coffee. It was AMAZING! And as small as our room was, it was actually really comfortable to eat breakfast in the room.

I think that's about it. We really enjoyed our stay and would gladly stay here again in the future. 89 euros/night including breakfast was an incredible deal.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Slangevar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2008

We are just back from staying two nights in the Best Vatican B+B with our two daughters aged 12 and 14.

When we arrived, no-one was there to welcome us so we called the telephone number on the buzzer and were told that the girl would be with us in two minutes. The traffic was terrible the day that we arrived in Rome because of some student demonstrations, so our greeter had been delayed. She did arrive within minutes and settled us in. They do not have a member of staff on the premises all of the time, so you are given a set of keys and you can come and go as you please. We really liked this - it was nice being able to relax and do our own thing and feel like we had our own little place in Rome rather than feeling that we were staying in someone's home.

The Best Vatican B+B is exactly as it looks in the pictures - cool and minimalist and chic. It really is lovely - warm and relaxing and everything works really well.

There are four bedrooms - all with ensuite shower-rooms - and a little office with a lap-top so that you can use the internet and an extra loo. There are plenty of guide books on Rome and maps too.

The bedrooms are just great - The beds are king-sized and wonderfully comfortable, there is a travel hairdryer that you can plug in in the bedroom near to the mirror. There was an air-conditioning unit but we didn't need it. There is one of those little plug-in fridges as a mini-bar with beer, prosecco, water and soft drinks. The prices were fine - I had a little bottle of prosecco and was 4 Euros.

The en-suite bathrooms are fine - compact, but clean and everything works. There is masses of hot water and the actual shower cubicle is plenty big enough.

The breakfast was a real treat! A girl slips into the B+B in the morning and and unlocks the door into a little kitchen and starts busying around. You leave a card hanging on your door as you go to bed the night before with your preferences. We had (proper, not out of a bottle) freshly squeezed orange juice, scrambled eggs with crispy pancetta, warm croissants and pastries with butter and jam. Yum! There was also yoghurt, cheese, Parma ham, fruit, toast... You certainly won't starve here!

The location is good in many respects - easy walking distance of the Vatican/ St Peter's and - very helpfully - just round the corner of a Metro stop (Ottaviano). However, we like to go to a nice restaurant every evening and then to totter home, so would have preferred to have been in the area around the Pantheon/ Spanish Steps/ Trevi Fountain where there are lots of pretty cobbledy streets and bars and restaurants all around. In hindsight, we might have preferred the location of the sister B+B - Best Pantheon. However, I haven't looked into this in detail and this may well be considerably further away from a Metro stop and so less convenient in the mornings for getting up and out to the sights. It's personal preference really.

The price is, we thought, extremely reasonable considering that the B+B is so chic and good quality and well thought out. We had a larger room and our daughters had a a smaller room. Altogether, I paid 336 Euros for two nights - I think this is very good value.

Overall, we were very, very happy with the Best Vatican B+B and would not hesitate to recommend it very highly.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sarajetsoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

Our family (2 adults, 2 seniors, 2 kids ages 4 and 6) stayed at the Best Vatican B & B over Easter weekend, 2007. They arranged for our transfer from the airport, which was very smooth, even though our plane had arrived about 1.5 hours late. We were unable to call ahead to inform them that we were going to be late, but the gentleman at the airport was pleasant none the less.

Upon arrival, we were graciously shown our 2 rooms and the facilities, including the free Internet access on the computer in the common room, which was very nice. The metro stop was litereally 1 block away, which gave us easy access to the attractions across town. Very easy to use the metro. Vatican City and Vatican Museum were about 10 minute walk.

The breakfast was fantastic - no need for lunch. On our last day, we were catching an early train, so they packed us a "to go" breakfast the day before and placed it in the refrigerator. So kind! Many restaurants in the area, too. And a few gelatto shops.

The only negative about this B & B is that the beds were uncommonly firm.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CoachFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2007

We stayed at the Best Vatican for 2 ngts. pre-cruise. I enjoyed our stay [3 gal pals] and would stay there again. We loved being so close to good shopping streets and within walking distance to the Vatican & St. Peters. The breakfast was awesome and delivered at the exact time requested. Rodolfo arranged our transfers from the airport to the Best Vatican and then to the cruise port. He is quick to respond to e-mails and in answering any questions you may have. I highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelizsisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2007

I booked this b&b on venere.com after reading it's good reviews and seeing that it was near to the vatican.
So...
Before we came to Rome i'd emailed Rudolfo (the owner) asking how to get to the b&b from Ciampino airport. He emailed back with all the possibilities - 1 of which was a private transfer which he'd book for us 45 Euros, 2 person, all in. That sounded good so he booked it for us and the driver was at the airport waiting when our flight landed. We arrived at the b&b 40 mins later. The b&b isn't marked clearly but the number is on the outside. It's in a street with some shops, cafes etc with lots of apartments. 3rd floor up, but decorated modernly inside. The owner isn't based onsite but his apartment is downstairs from the b&b so if you phone him when you arrive he'll be straight with you. You are then shown to your room, handed the keys and explained some good places to eat etc. Basic information but enough. You could always phone Rudolfo if any more info is needed.

The b&b is very clean with modern interior. Our room was also the same. The room was advertised as having a 42" lcd and bath ensuite. It was actually about an 18" lcd and shower, no bath, but this wasn't a problem. A breakfast menu was placed in your room each day for you to tick what you want. Choice of hard boiled/scrambled/with bacon/fried eggs - capuccino - selection of teas-toast-croissant-ham+cheese - cereal - yoghurt - muffin etc. Loads of it and very nice too! This is served in your room between 8-10am (you choose). The rooms were then cleaned between 10-11am by the house keepers. Always clean and tidy with fresh towels and bedding when we got back.

This b&b is a 10 minute walk from the vatican and 5 minute walk from the metro station so easy to get to all the sights.
On your last day you check out at 10am but can leave your bags in the building until you leave which is handy.

Overall very good and i'd definitly go back again!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews