We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST Hotel Ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Vatican B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Best Vatican B&B
Ranked #917 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
houstonls
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“BEST Hotel Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

Our stay at the Best Vatican B&B was amazing! We stayed in the smallest of the rooms and it was plenty big! Bathroom was big for Europeon standards. Bed was slightly hard, but room was clean and modern. There is a room with a laptop and free internet to check your email whenever you want! Breakfast was served everyday to your room at the time you request...and it was the best breakfast I've ever had at a B&B/Hotel! Eggs/Meats/Cheeses/Breads/Pastries/Fruit/Coffee, etc. You get a checklist the night before with a ton of options to choose from. We had to leave early one morning to catch a train and they left us some food in the fridge the night before so we had something to eat that morning! And the location is great! Just a couple blocks from the metro and bus area. Short walk to the Vatican, Castel San Angelo, and to Piazza de Popolo. Streets are quiet and peaceful at night and we never felt unsafe. Great little restaurants around every corner! Also, if you pay in cash you get an extra discount!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank houstonls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    37
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
82
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avila Beach, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

* Steps from Vatican City and the Metro, which will take you all over Rome.
* Located on the 3rd floor of an apartment building - a small lift will take you if the stairs are too much for you.
* We couldn't get the TV to work at all
* Lukewarm water for the shower was miserable to wake up to, although the towels were amazing and soft
* Large rooms
* The communal laptop was gone for half of our stay so we couldn't use the laptop to look up things in Rome or check our email.
* There is a nice stash of books on Rome and DVD's to borrow for your stay
* No one available to ask questions. A girl was there on some mornings, but she stayed for no more than an hour and always seemed in a rush to leave. There was a number given for any problems or concerns but I missed having a person there to direct you and answer your questions, especially in a huge city like Rome.
* Cute, modern decor
* mini-fridge in room was small and kept nothing cold
* Breakfast was ok. We didn't get any assortment of fresh fruit (only an apple) like other reviewers, nor did we have an option of any juice, meat or cheese. Spending 3 days there, the food was a little redundant. Also the cappuccino machine was broken one of the days.
* Walls are very thin, if people are just walking through the hallways it can be loud.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

We stayed in another B&B near the Vatican but this B&B was just as close and a much nicer accomodation. It also had the most fantastic breakfast....better than any other for the whole 30 days spent in Italy. This accomodation was also very clean and not 'closet' size. Will definitely suggest friends/family stay at this B&B. Thank you so much. Laura from Canada

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1billy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bridgford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2009

The B&B itself is very good, as others have commented, clean, good location, great breakfast. However, we had an unfortunate incident where we were kept awake most of one night by a commotion which appeared to involve someone else staying at the B&B. We reported this, on the telephone number supplied to us, and the response we had was for it to be dismissed out of hand. Two points; it brings home in a stark fashion that you are sharing an apartment with people you don't know and there are no B&B staff on the premises (or apparantly willing to come and help); and, this is the worst example of customer service I have come across in many years of travelling. I emailed the B&B after I returned - no response. I couldn't stay there again if this is typical of their behaviour if anything goes wrong.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestBBB, Owner at Best Vatican B&B, responded to this review, 1 March 2009
This is the message that we have sent to our guest:

“We truly and deeply regret the incident that has happened during your stay at Best Vatican, which has caused an unpleasant nuisance to you.
With this mail, as well as offering you our heartfelt apology, we would also like to clarify what happened during that night, as the real dynamics have become clear only the next morning.

Close to your room a couple of other guests returned to their room separately that night. One person remained outside, definitely not right in itself, that has repeatedly tried to enter into the B&B playing, as you know, the bell of the door. His companion, for some reason did not want to let him enter. So after a first attempt by the Lord, he returned again, stressing even more strongly on the doors.

After that second attempt someone advised our phone number and also called the police. The staff member on duty that night has called the owner of B&B who went to Best Vatican in the middle of the night to try to understand what was happening. When he arrived near the B&B, the police was going away and the situation was now calm.

The staff member explained later that the conversation was interrupted because of the telephone service. If the tone of his voice seemed rude to you, please accept our apologies as there was no intention to be rude with you, as you had, with reason, requested our assistance for a very unfortunate affair.

We ask you again accept our apologizes on behalf of our entire staff.
Our intent was to provide our best service and we are truly sorry if you were in some way dissatisfied of your stay.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2009

This is a great place to stay while in rome! Myself and a friend booked to stay here for 5 nights on our first trip to Rome. The location was very close to the vatican, as we actually stumbled across it on our first night there! We were quite surprised by the b&b as its situated in an apartment block, which looks a bit worrying at first, but the rooms are great, very modern and a great size, although we were asked to move rooms on our second day there with no explanation which was a bit of a hassle! Our breakfast was delivered to our room every morning and was delicious, we usually didnt need to eat again until dinner! The only problem we had was it was a bit of distance to other tourist attractions and therefore we found ourselves coming back early at nights to catch the metro. Otherwise this really is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CL1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2009

My wife and I have just returned from a one week stay in the Best Vatican B&B. We booked our room via their website which linked us to Venere for the actual booking process. My wife followed this up with several e-mails directly with the property. Each communication was responded to quickly and professionally.

We booked our own transfer from Ciampino Airport with Rome Shuttle Limousine. It was €35 and the driver had no problem finding the B&B. A girl was waiting for us on arrival and checked us with no problem. She explained everything to us in fluent English.

Handy location for the Vatican and the Metro. I'm recovering from a broken leg so we bought integrated tourist tickets for use on the Metro, buses, etc (€11 for 3 days or €16 for 7 days). I'm sure if I had been fully fit then we could have just about walked to all of the main sights without a problem.

Restaurants in the Vatican and Borgo area were not great. Better to go into the Centro Storico or Trastevere to eat.

The B&B is on the 3rd floor of a quiet (even over New Year) apartment building. The elevator is very small - a little bit of a squeeze for two of us with 2 suitcases and a day-sack. The decor is very modern and the whole place was spotlessly clean.

We had a superior double room furthest from the kitchen. The bed was very comfortable plus there was a table and two chairs at which we ate our very ample and freshly prepared breakfasts.
My wife was particularly impressed with the free Wi-Fi connection as I had bought her an iPod Touch for Christmas and she was able to play with her new toy.

The only problem we encountered was with our morning shower. Occasionally the temperature would fluctuate between tepid and hot. The B&B was pretty full so the hot water system was probably operating at its very limit. Particularly as the kitchen was in use at the same time.

Our pre-ordered breakfasts appeared on time every day. With lots of choice and plenty to eat and drink. Brilliant!

Really friendly staff. There was no hassle to pay. We just settled using a credit card with the girl doing the breakfasts on the morning we were leaving.

We would thoroughly recommend Best Vatican B&B.

  • Liked — Location, room, breakfasts, free Wi-Fi.
  • Disliked — Occasional fluctuating hot water.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pierre48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2008

We booked our room at the Best B&B Vatican through Venere, but followed up with an email to the property. They were really helpful and, like an earlier poster, arranged for a car to pick us up from the airport (I think it was 50 euros).

Here are some specifics on our stay:

NEIGHBORHOOD: The B&B is in an apartment building on a smaller street VERY close to the Vatican. We've both stayed in the touristy bits of Rome before and really liked this change of pace... mostly locals and a very different, cosmopolitan vibe from the other locations. Plus it was steps from the Vatican and walking distance to all of the major sights in Rome (at least if you like walking).

PROPERTY: The B&B basically takes up most of (I think) the 3rd floor in a quiet building. There's a small elevator, a small common living room with a sofa and free internet on a laptop, and a kitchen, where they prepare breakfast. Decor is very nice, clean and modern - the photos they post are accurate.

ROOM: We got the small double room nearest the kitchen with one window overlooking a small building courtyard. Again, decor was very modern and chic - we were impressed. Bed was comfortable with all white linens and duvet; there was a small clear plastic breakfast table and chairs, a flat-panel TV (CNN and BBC), a DVD player, the cutest honor system minibar I've ever seen, and a TINY IKEA closet unit, which worked fine for our things. It's a small room, but they do a lot with it, and it's very clean. The one big problem is that the walls are pretty thin (as mentioned before) and I would specifically request not to have our room, as it was right next to the kitchen and the cook/maid comes in at 7.

EN-SUITE BATHROOM: Bathroom was nice... decent size shower and insanely soft, huge towels. They were the best towels on our entire trip. Seriously, I wanted to buy the towels.

SERVICE: Some people have complained about a lack of service, but the gentleman who checked us in was very helpful and around in the afternoon. It is a very hands off B&B... more of an apartment, but we appreciated that, and he was great about answering all of our questions in advance.

BREAKFAST: The reviews you've read were not lying - it was almost better than the breakfast we had at our posh agriturismo. It was DELICIOUS... lots of fresh fruits every day (which they left us even after they took away the breakfast cart), breads, eggs, meats, cheeses, juice and tea/coffee. It was AMAZING! And as small as our room was, it was actually really comfortable to eat breakfast in the room.

I think that's about it. We really enjoyed our stay and would gladly stay here again in the future. 89 euros/night including breakfast was an incredible deal.

  • Liked — BREAKFAST, decor, internet access, location, towels
  • Disliked — Thin walls and maybe the size
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Slangevar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Silla
Hotel Silla
#562 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Prati
B&B 94Rooms Vatican
B&B 94Rooms Vatican
#239 of 3,734 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Prati
Sistine B&B
Sistine B&B
#1,557 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Best Pantheon B&B
Best Pantheon B&B
#621 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Vatican B&B Rome
#2,482 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Prati
A View of Rome
A View of Rome
#18 of 3,734 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Vatican B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Vatican B&B

Property: Best Vatican B&B
Address: Via Degli Scipioni 135, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #917 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Vatican B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST VATICAN Bed&Breakfast is a brand-new property situated in Rome's exclusive Prati neighbourhood, within walking distance of St. Peter's Basilica and the Vatican, just a stone's throw away from the Ottaviano-Città del Vaticano underground station, and right around the corner from one of the city's finest shopping streets, via Cola di Rienzo.Housed on the third floor of an elegant 19th century building, the property boasts sleek interiors and modern facilities, including complimentary high-speed Internet access and free national calls. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and functional and the service is highly professional and friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Best Vatican B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Vatican Hotel Rome
Best Vatican Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing