We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Best Sistine B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Sistine B&B
Ranked #1,694 of 3,692 Rome B&B and Inns
Bound Brook, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Location was great about 15 min walk from the Vatican. There are only 3 rooms. Ours was clean and comfortable. Our breakfast was brought to our room by Irene who was charming and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesV1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    28
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
61
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brighton sussex england UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We visited Rome during Holy Week in April 2012. This place proved to be an excellent choice and was about 15 mins walk to St. Peter's Square and the Vatican Museum.

An easy journey from FCO airport on the SIT bus shuttle to Piazza Cavour and a 15 min walk to the B&B. Francesca turned up on the back of a scooter and showed us into the B&B. The room was very clean and the lift up to the 2nd floor was a bonus!

The breakfast trolley wheeled in the morning by Emma was laden with food and we had plenty left over to take with us for a picnic later in the day.

In the street next door was a shop that you could buy rolls and cheese etc. Razors could also be purchased.

The Metro was nearby and an easy trip to the Colluseum was only 1 euro!

The only slight critisism was the street noise with beeping horns and revving engines at all hours but this is to be expected.

We will come again.

Room Tip: The noise off the street was the only factor you have no control over. Wear ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank montmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This is a late review!! I stayed here on JANUARY 2009! Arrived at night, so it took me a while to find the right street but the italians are a friendly lot and I was guided with some english and italian. Once there, i rang the bell and was directed to the designated floor. i was greeted by a lovely lady. The room (no2) was quaint with a comfortable bed, a large bathroom with strong water pressure. For us, breakfast was our highlight! As there was so much to choose from! Eggs,cheese,ham,croissant,biscotti,jams,butter,milk,juice etc We truly enjoyed ourselves. Not only that, downstairs you have a cafe, mini marts around, metro just few minutes away so getting to the main attractions was a breeze. They also gave a discount on our last day as we paid it cash. Sweet! I personally loved my stay!! and Rome of course : )

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Menrva26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We found the B & B very easily, but there was no-one there to meet us. However, we rang the number on the doorbell & a man was there in 10 minutes. Irene was on duty each morning & was very friendly. She brought our fantastic breakfast trolly at the time requested, & you would have to be very hungry to eat everything provided. I can recommend the scrambled eggs with italian bacon, Scrummy. We were in room 1, on the corner, & the room had windows on two streets. It was very spacious, with a lovely high ceiling. The bathroom was quite large for one in an Italian hotel but could do with a bit of a refresh as too many things were held in place by bits of card or paper. All in all this is a good place to stay as its close to all kinds of public transport, is clean, bright, friendly & you get a fantastic breakfast. The area is great as there are lots of neighbourhood shops & restaurants etc.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the corner room, so has windows on two walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raven28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Having read the reviews on here prior to making our booking, I was very much looking forward to staying at The Sistine B&B and visiting the many sites and attractions Rome has to offer. Now I am back home I feel I should share with you some of our experiences during our stay at the Sistine B&B, as although most of the reviews are very good and highlight the great things about the B&B (breakfast, friendly staff, proximity to metro/Vatican city) there are a few other issues which I feel people should be aware of...

As mentioned in other reviews, most of the staff here are friendly and helpful (Francesca and Irene deserve a special mention), and although the premises is not manned 24/7 there is a number you can call from the room free of charge and they were very helpful, even turning on the heating for us at night when we were cold (we live in Malaysia, so felt the cold at night even though it was a warm April in Rome!). However, it should be noted that the cover staff working on a Sunday morning were not to the same standard... Firstly, they demanded we return our breakfast trolley when we hadn't finished eating (which was a great breakfast btw, lots of choice, delivered to room at a time we chose). Secondly, they left at 10.30 am (supposedly the place is manned until 12pm) and didn't clean our room, make the bed, or change the towels, even though we told her we were about to vacate the room for the day as she left. I called the management (on the free number mentioned before) who said she would come back and clean the room, but when we returned that evening nothing had been done. Not great service for the best part of 200 euros a night I'm sure you'll agree!

The room was a good size, the bathroom is a little on the small side and could do with some refurbishment, but on the whole the place is nicely furnished and they provide free wifi access / a computer in the hallway. One other thing that was missing was any means to make a hot drink in the room, which was disappointing, as after a long day walking around the beautiful city we wanted nothing more than a cup of tea to relax!

In terms of location, it is a 2 minute walk from the metro, from which most of the main sites can be reached in minutes, and a 15 minute walk to the Vatican City and is away from main hustle and bustle of the city.

On the whole this is a nice establishment, though I do feel there are a few small changes that can make a huge difference to the stay. In terms of value for money it is very expensive for what is essentially a basic B&B away from the main city centre.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mnicol10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

The place seemed to have been refurbished recently. Our room was spacious with a large, comfortable bed and spacious bathroom with shower. The room, bedding and bathroom were all very clean and fresh. The breakfast was served in our bedroom and it was amazing, loads of options and home-made. The owners were very polite and helpful. The hotel is not far from the Vatican (10 min walk) and there is a tube nearby (Lepanto) which is just 2-3 stops away from the major attractions. The neighborhood isn't very touristic so it's not crowded with restaurant and other facilities but you can still find a good place to eat nearby, away from the tourist traps.

The B&B is located at the 2nd floor of a large, old building. Don't let this put you off, the rooms are very good. They also offer free wireless.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nalubh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

The service is great, a very nice young man was waiting for us when we arrived late and the woman who was there in the morning (and prepared the great breakfast) was very nice as well. After checkout they let us leave our bags there and gave us the key to pick them up after because there was nobody there. Thank you very much!
Big, cozy, bright, comfortable room and bed, nice, clean bathroom with towels and amenities. Free wireless internet, mini bar (cheap), TV.
It's near the Lepanto Metro and bus stop and walking distance from the Vatican.
Great value for what is offered.
I really recommend this one.
Have a nice stay!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsM80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Residenza I Rioni
Residenza I Rioni
#1,064 of 3,692 in Rome
134 reviews
Prati
B&B Best Vatican
B&B Best Vatican
#695 of 3,692 in Rome
156 reviews
Prati
B&B El Dorado Vatican
B&B El Dorado Vatican
#61 of 3,692 in Rome
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#366 of 1,263 in Rome
418 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,214 of 3,692 in Rome
90 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,263 in Rome
6,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Sistine B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Sistine B&B

Property: Best Sistine B&B
Address: Via Duilio, 6, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,694 of 3,692 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed & Breakfast Sistine is situated in Rome's exclusive Prati neighbourhood, within walking distance of St. Peter's Basilica and the Vatican, just a stone's throw away from the Lepanto underground station and one of the city's finest shopping streets, via Cola di Rienzo.In no time you will reach countless monuments, magnificent churches distributed in every corner, fabulous buildings, squares and fountains, creating the magic atmosphere of Rome.Housed on the second floor of an elegant 19th century building, this smoke-free property boasts facilities of a modern hotel, including complimentary wireless Internet access, luggage storage and private parking (surcharge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Sistine B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sistine Hotel Rome
Sistine Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing