We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but didn't live up to the glowing reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Intown Luxury House
Ranked #1,371 of 3,692 Rome B&B and Inns
York, England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location but didn't live up to the glowing reviews”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Super location just minutes from the Spanish Steps but this hotel didn't live up to expectations following reading others reviews. Clean - yes. Breakfast - poor.. Coffee was undrinkable. No curtains in room the first night. Sleepless nights sleep due to constant traffic in hallways and stairwell. No more than 3 star quality fixtures and fittings. Sky didn't work. Staff friendly but misinformed us which nearly cost us our flight home. Will certainly look at stay in this area again but will probably look at stay at the SHW hotel on the same street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest floor available to avoid noise from the stairwell and reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsGrant101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    66
    25
    7
    26
See reviews for
39
99
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eye, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

My sister, daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights from 17 Feb. It is centrally located, less than a minute's walk to the Spanish Steps and metro in what seemed to be an exclusive shopping area. The hotel is very clean, cosy and stylishly decorated and furnished. The staff were all very friendly and bent over backwards for us. The breakfast consisted of fruit salad, croissants, cereals, cheese, ham, boiled eggs, mini rolls, plenty of choice of drinks hot and cold and was more than adequate. The breakfast room could only accommodate 8 people but we rarely encountered other guests when we ate so always got a table. The rooms were peaceful at night and warm and the beds very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

My Husband and I stayed at the Intown Luxury from 2nd to 5th Feb. We booked direct and stayed in the junior attic suite. The hotel can arrange a private transfer for you for €60 each way. Little steep but very luxurious in a lovely brand new mercedes!
Perfect location, literally 2 minutes walk to the Spanish Steps and 5 minutes to the Trevi Foutain. Ideally located for shopping and getting around Rome in general.
The Hotel staff very helpful. Breakfast was light but the best coffee I have ever had. My Husband a non-coffee drinker fell in love with the cappaccinos here.
Our suite had a jacuzzi bath, balcony, seperate lounge area and a comfy bed.
Breakfast is served from 7am to 10am, recommend getting there early as is limited choice the closer you get to 10am naturally.
Small lift not big enough for people and luggage, but this is minor and did not cause us any issues at all.
Highly recommend a restaurant around the corner called Osteria, Missimo (waiter) was incredible and nothing was too much effort. Food is excellent and outside seating was lovely.
Would definately stay again at the Intown Luxury it is perfect!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the attic suite with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bhav D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

My family of three (2 adults and one child) enjoyed a fantastic 4 night stay at the Intown Luxury House. The staff were the friendliest and most helpful we encountered at any hotel during our month long trip throughout Europe. As this is a very small hotel property, it is very personalised - which tops off the hotel's brilliant location and well-fitted rooms. We had a suite which had a separate lounge area which converted into a single bed (could also be used by an adult if needed). The furnishings are modern, practical and roomy making for a super comfortable stay. Heating, wi-fi, breakfast (which can be delivered to your room at no extra cost) were all good. A staff member waited with us for our taxi as we left to make sure the taxi driver would charge us the fixed airport price - just brilliant service! Just nothing to fault at this hotel and I would stay here again without a second thought if heading back to Rome.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank clanciegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I was referred to the Intown by a friend who has been doing business in Rome for years. I left it a bit late to book and was lucky to get a Junior Suite at the last minute. Accordingly the price was a little on the high side at 450Euro per night. However it lived up to all the billing with a great room, great staff and great location.

Highlights:
1. Round the corner from the Spanish Steps (we got cab drivers to drop us at the Steps and then grabbed a gelato and wandered home with a bit of window shopping thrown in).
2. Exceptional staff - we met the owner and her daughter who were both classy and charming. Another staff member referred us to a wonderful restaurant called Taverna Trilussa, a short walk from Campo del Fiori, which was a great dining experience.
3. Excellent, generously proportioned room.

The lift is a little small and can't take you and your baggage at the same time however we found it cute and the staff do all the running for you anyway. From the moment we arrived they quickly took our bags up to our rooms (and they were not looking for a tip).

The breakfast room is also on the small side however it is another quaint aspect of this boutique hotel and the Philippino attendant (sorry forgot his name) was ever smiling and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in 302 which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bradles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We arrived on A sunday night for a night before taking a cruise. The location was perfect, the staff could not do enough for you and breakfast was good. Would definitely recommend and stay there again. A lovely modern hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

we stayed in Intown Luxury House for 3 nights this week (June). the room we had was a junior suite. the bathroom was very large and had a spa bath. the room itself was great and had an adjoining lounge area. the location was very close to the spanish steps and the boutique shops. We were able to walk to pantheon etc... also. I would recommend this Junior suite room. We arrived very late on the first night and the staff were at reception and waiting for us despite the lateness. we really enjoyed it.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sparkyette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
San Carlo Suite
San Carlo Suite
#59 of 1,120 in Rome
169 reviews
Colonna
Spagna Royal Suite Rome
Spagna Royal Suite Rome
#29 of 1,120 in Rome
400 reviews
Campo Marzio
Crossing Condotti
Crossing Condotti
#36 of 3,692 in Rome
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Rome Frattina 27
Rome Frattina 27
#847 of 3,692 in Rome
27 reviews
Campo Marzio
Les Fleurs Luxury House
Les Fleurs Luxury House
#364 of 3,692 in Rome
130 reviews
Campo Marzio
Babuino 181
Babuino 181
#28 of 1,261 in Rome
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Intown Luxury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intown Luxury House

Property: Intown Luxury House
Address: Via Bocca di Leone 7, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,371 of 3,692 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Intown Luxury House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Rome. Near the Spanish Steps, a small building hides six luxurious, light, minimalist suites. Perfect for those who feel the classic hotel to be too impersonal or a Bed and Breakfast too familiar. The perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Intown Luxury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intown Luxury House Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing