We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place.”
Review of Funny Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Funny Palace
Ranked #942 of 3,617 Rome B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved this place.”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I was skeptical to stay here due to the name of this place. We were originally booked into a shared room with two other people, however we did not want to share a room. We called two days before we arrived and the manager had no private rooms available. He offered us a room inside his mother's house. It was great!! We had out own living room, bedroom, and bathroom. We had privacy. The lady staying on the other side of the house was really sweet. The owner also gave us a bottle of wine to welcome us to Italy. It was great. I would stay here again!

Note: I accidentally clicked swimming pool below. The place does not have one.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    70
    28
    12
    18
See reviews for
12
56
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

We arrived at funny palace to a warm welcome, bottle of wine and some great recommendations as to what to do in our few days in Rome. The room was clean and the bathroom was excellent with a great shower (we booked a deluxe double). Location was good but traffic noise from the road below was bad and combined with an uncomfortable bed didn't make for a good night's sleep.
The service we received from the Funny Palace was great and far better than that you receive in other establishments in Rome.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathiesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aschaffenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

we've stayed for 3 nights. The staff were really friendly. Even helped us to make plan to get the best of rome throughtout our stay. Room was fabulous! Even get discount to a nearby indian restaurant, with great food and quite cheap too! Near termini, which is good if you're planning to take public transport to go anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzlee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deep River, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

we stayed 3 days at this hostel. It was fabulous!! We were upgraded without asking for it, Free bottle of wine each day. The breakfast was just enough and good. The internet was free not only during our stay but when we returned to pick up a bag that they stored for us for free for 10 days while on a cruise! My 11 year old daughter said that when we returned to Rome we could not stay anywhere else!!! Totally clean and nice sheets on the very comfortable bed. VERY IMPRESSED WITH THIS AMAZING GEM OF A PLACE. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: For just a little more get a private room. soooo worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hedy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2013

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. The owner and staffs were so friendly, the room and bathrooms so cleaned, tidy and warm. Close to the main station in Rome and the owner showed us how to go to the best places in the city. Definitely recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danubia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2012

It was the best hostel that we've been. When we arrived, the owner gave us a free bottle of wine and he upgrade our room for free. He also gave us all the direction to see the best attraction in town. It was very clean and near the Termini. I really recomand this hostel!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markj03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

Our stay at this hotel may explain the varried reviews this place has received. Our first night was spent in an excellent room with great AC and a hot shower. The next night we were moved to a building next door where the room was well furnished but had terrible AC and cold showers. We were told we did not pay for AC so can't really complain about it however the whole Experiance felt a soar taste that free bottle of wine did not wash away.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel dell'Urbe
Hotel dell'Urbe
#556 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Esquilino
Residenza Giustiniani
Residenza Giustiniani
#2,652 of 3,617 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Tiburtino
B&B Foscari House
B&B Foscari House
#232 of 3,617 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Comics guesthouse
Comics guesthouse
#126 of 3,617 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Bed in Roma
Hotel Bed in Roma
#1,094 of 3,617 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Di Rienzo
Hotel Di Rienzo
#696 of 3,617 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funny Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funny Palace

Property: Funny Palace
Address: Via Varese 33/31, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #942 of 3,617 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here you will find really spotless, safe, and low cost accommodation in the center of Rome. Whether you are looking for Hostel accommodation in dorm beds or for comfortable private rooms in a hotel, the Funny Palace is the ideal place to stay to enjoy the wonders of Rome. Every thing you need is close by, from tours, restaurants, internet, and laundry service to air tours above the ancient city. Stay as long as you want, we guarantee your stay to be a joyful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Funny Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funny Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing