We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't worth the money”

Residence Don Bosco
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Residence Don Bosco
Ranked #1,053 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This was my second visit to Rome and this time I went with friends. I did not know anything about the acommodation as it was something chosen in the last minute for a friend of mine.

Well I could not be more honest: Do not go here. Although is cheap is soooooo far from the centre that it takes almost 30 minutes to reach the centre of Rome with the tube and in the night you have to take a cab.
This is a dorm during the year and in the summer they use the rooms for tourists. Our room was quite big but really basic.

Positive thing was that we found the room and bath clean. I have just read some reviews and people complained about this. Luckily we had not this problem.

A very negative thing was the breakfast: a dirty breakfast room, plastic tablecloths, horribly coffee and just some toasts for eating. Worst breakfast in the world!

We payed 60 euro per room and night. Really, do not come here, do not worth the money. I stayed in Tritone Hotel the first time I was in Rome (you can see my review), a cousy hotel two minutes walking to Fontana di Trevi.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Halcon Viajes
1  Thank donperico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 17 April 2008

Residence Don Bosco was a little far from the city center for me. Although I am not a party animal, even I found it difficult to get back to the hotel because of work being done on the metro (it closed earlier) and the buses were extremely sporadic after 10 pm. Anyway, I would have felt safer, spent less money, and done more if I had not had to spend so much time traveling back and forth from the center of town (about 20 minutes).

The Residence itself was pretty good...clean, comfortable, and new, but very basic (tile floors, generic maple furniture). It really was very much like a dorm - but a brand new dorm with a GREAT bathroom, air conditioning controlled in the room, and satellite tv that had at least 2 English language channels. There is no internet access unless you bring your own laptop, so be warned (the site I booked through was not specific on that point so I was a little disappointed at having to use the access point in the back of a nearby market).

Breakfast was a little spare, but to be expected for the price, and the front desk staff were professional but not overly friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SoloTripper66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2007

Don Bosco Residenze in Rome is a wonderfull and cosy hostel. All is very clean just like at home, I would say you can eat here from the ground - its that clean. Great price, friendly staff at the reception, you feel very safe of course, nice large rooms (doublebed) and brand new bathroom. From all the locatoins in Europe, this was the best i have ever visited. I booked via hostelworld.com and stayed 5nights.

The subway is very close, just across the street (cca 10min walk) and there are lot of shops (incl. supermarket)near the residenze.

I would come again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MariannMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank annacritra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2007
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2007
4  Thank oihfreferfre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2007
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Gemuetlichkeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Capannelle
#751 of 1,271 in Rome
1,399 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#449 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#230 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,229 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#343 of 1,271 in Rome
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Don Bosco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Don Bosco

Address: Viale Dei Salesiani 13, 00175 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,053 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Residence Don Bosco Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing