We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Selva Candida
Ranked #424 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good value for price”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Its a 3* hotel in the suburbs from rome. Clean hotel with friendly stuff and a big garden. The rooms a spacious and clean. The only thing which could be changed is the carpet. Breakfast ok. By car 30 min to city center. Public transport bit difficult as you have to take a bus which takes you to the next train station "Cornelia" (Line A). From there 30 min by train.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosimania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    145
    27
    6
    7
See reviews for
97
139
9
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peters Township, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We found the staff to be extremely helpful, Florian was incredibly helpful with restaurant options, subway directions, tour information, and even tended bar for us. Breakfast was nice, rooms were clean and the location was excellent with not having to drive around Rome. For the price we would definitely stay again. WiFi was horrible and after first night trying to get the ac to cool down the room we found out for the next night all we had to do was ask Florian.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leutasch, Austria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Close to the highway but just few miles to the center of Rome, easy to reach. I stayed there for a few days and it was very nice, clean, comfortable and with a kind staff. Breakfast was ok.
If you are traveling by car I can recommend this Hotel. The value for your money is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Argentinafly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stayed here on our trip to France/Italy. We opted for the ride service they provide. The driver was completely rude. He never said hello or offered to help us with our luggage. He then proceeded to turn on sports without offering conversation or asking if we had a preference. The driving was not what one would expect from a service offered from an establishment. Don't get me wrong - I speed, I like it when others speed as I like to get to places faster - I even got a speeding ticket in France. I realize driving is different other places, but I also drove through France and the rest of Italy. This being said, this guy's driving was ridiculous. If I wanted that experience, I would have taken a cab....The guy then yelled at us as we started to go in the hotel, at first I thought he was angry that we didn't tip him - we normally tip VERY high but this guy wasn't going to get anything. Apparently, we were suppose to pay him directly for the ride in cash - not the hotel that we booked it through. Luckily we had just enough. We checked in and tried to get the Roma pass that we also booked through the hotel. Apparently that was cash as well (nothing was stated online about these cash policies). The guy was very nice but short and took our word that we would pay them after we went into the city the next day. At breakfast, no one was around so we got our food from the buffet (worst we had on trip) and then got yelled at by a woman who appeared that we took too big of a table - a 4 person table. I should reiterate that NO ONE was there - not even her for the first 10 minutes we were at breakfast. There was however lots of dirty 2 person tables. We quickly took our food to go. The bus took 45 minutes to get there and it took 1 1/2 to get to the Colosseum. It also took over an hour on the ride home. The next day, we decided to just leave the hotel with all of our luggage instead of coming back for it. Luckily the bus only took 5 minutes to pick us up, but took 2 hours to get to the Vatican (closer than the Colosseum!) We had only 2 days in Rome so this put us drastically behind in what we wanted to see! I read the reviews about the bus, but didn't believe it could be that bad - it was worse!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zoochic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
effeaniballi, Proprietario at Hotel Selva Candida, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Mrs C,
we were pretty surprised to receive such a bad review 9 months after your journey. Anyway, thank you for the review that allows us to clarify some aspect about our hotel.
We use to work with two different driver companies because we cannot make directly the shuttle service from/to the airport: the drivers of these companies are usually pretty polite (that's why we work with them) but unfortunatly we can't pretend to know each of them. I cannot reply to you about the fact that "this guy's driving was ridiculous" because I didn't understand what you mean: too fast? too slow? dangerous? too prudent?
As written before, this is an external service, so that it has to be payed directly to them at your arrival because we cannot bill it. The payment maybe done by cash or cc, as you prefer, but if you need to pay by cc we need to know when you book the trasfer in order to warn the driver company to sed a car with a pos (I guess not all the cars have the pos service).
Just now, 9 month after your stay, we know what happened: we are really sorry that nothing was told us about it as soon as it happened, in order to react promptly and directly with the unpolite driver: now for us is very difficult to know who was your driver. Remeber: if there is a problem, report it immediately, so that we can do something!!

About the RomaPass, the cost is 30,00 euros. We buy it at that price and we sell it at that price, as we do with the bus and metro tickets: there is no added value on it. Then we can't bill it or accept cc payment for this service. We accept your suggestion of being more clear about the cash payment of Roma pass on our own webpage, we'll update the page. But consider that Roma pass is the only amout you have to pay in cash, the bill for the room, minibar, bar or similar can be payed as you prefer.

Our hotel is only thirty rooms and we never (ever) prefer the quantity instead of the quality. If one of our staff member should be short explaining stuff, it might be because he's busy, because there are other people waiting for him or similar reasons. As soon as the staff is less busy, I'm ready to bet that, he would be the first to relate and ask you if you'd need something. Sometimes it happen that some of our staff member spends even one hour at the check in or diring the stay speaking with our guest.

Regarding the breakfast, I just have to apologize because during that period we had a few problems. Now, 9 months later, I cannot know where the bartender was or what she was doing, if she was serving breakfast in a room or making an extraordinary fast manutenction, or she was in the depod: I dont' know, now. I have to acknoledge that for a period we had a problem with the quality of the service of our breakfast, but we fixed this problem because since september 2012 there is a new bartender helping us and from in novembre 2012 we have completely renewed the buffet.

About the trasportation to the city center, as you might already have read on the web, the roman traffic can be just horrible nad this is generally thru in Italy. We know it and there is nothing we can do about the traffic, we are not the major of the city! And, as you may read in other reviews, we tryed to move the bus stops closer to the hotel entrace (at the moment they are about 50 meters from here, 1 minute by walking), but there in nothing we can do to make the bus going faster. Consider even that taking 2 hour to go to the vatican city is a nightmare that happen only during the public trasportation strikes!! But there are two important news about it:
- in december 2012 we have opened a new entrance so that, in addiction to the main entrance in Via di Selva Candida 200, there is a new one in via Casal del Marmo 618, about 200 meters from the exit/entrance of GRA called "Selvacandida/Casal del Marmo. For who owns a car, a really clever shortcut to reach every Rome's area avoiding the local traffic jam
- starting on March 2013, we will provide a shuttle service from the hotel the closest metro/train station. It will take about 12 minutes to Battistini metro station or 6 minutes to Ottavia train station.

As you can see, we are trying to do better. I know you are not going to stay in our hotel anymore, and I'm sorry about it, but I thank you for your review that gives us the possibility to inform everybody about these innovations

Best regards

Francesco Aniballi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a two-day layover from Florence back to Portland, OR. I selected this hotel because it was located just off the A90 Autostrada (beltway) outside of downtown Rome. The room was very nice and comfortable for our two-night stay. The Italian style breakfast was very nice.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. We got excellent restaurant recommendations for dinner. Special thanks to Francesco and Lucia for their expert help. Lucia showed us how we could drive to the subway and then take it to Vatican City and return from the Colosseum. You do not want to drive in downtown room especially when you can take the subway.

We had a very pleasant stay and would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Steve_Shelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
effeaniballi, Proprietario at Hotel Selva Candida, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Stephen and Shelly,
thanks a lot for you very good review!!
In case you'll come back in Rome in future, consider that from march 2013 we'll also make a shuttle service from the hotel to the metro or train station to get in Rome much faster.

Best regards

Francesco Aniballi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Very helpfull staff in the reception and breakfast room. Free WI-FI internet, Clean and renovated (or new build) rooms and bathrooms. Free parking and easy access from the highways. Only 20 minutes drive to the center of Rome. Maybe they have to improve varity of breakfast (cappucino was perfect).

Room Tip: Our room was small, but friends room (not in main building) was bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We feel bad that we haven't posted a review before. I have stayed at the Selva Candida 3 times in the past. Once with my parents and 2 times with my wife. This hotel offers a great value and a very pleasant stay.

The location is great, away from the hustle and bustle of Rome, but still easy to get there when you want. We always travel by rental car, so I can't speak for the public transportation, but I do know there is a bus stop next to the hotel. It is in a quiet area that feels very safe.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Good size and also nice bathroom.

My favorite thing is the staff. Very nice people, especially the managers. Always very helpful and smiling.

Their bar room is really cool and a nice place to get a drink and relax. Breakfast was also very nice and offered a good selection.

We highly recommend this hotel and look forward to our stay there again next month!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank damienmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
9.5 mi away
Hotel Orto di Roma
Hotel Orto di Roma
#481 of 1,256 in Rome
277 reviews
4.3 mi away
Resort la Rocchetta
Resort la Rocchetta
#272 of 1,256 in Rome
178 reviews
11.1 mi away
Domidea Hotel
Domidea Hotel
#213 of 1,256 in Rome
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Marini Park Hotel
Marini Park Hotel
#431 of 1,256 in Rome
249 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Petra
Hotel Petra
#303 of 1,256 in Rome
126 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Genziana
Hotel La Genziana
#461 of 1,256 in Rome
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Selva Candida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selva Candida

Property: Hotel Selva Candida
Address: Via di Selva Candida 200, 00166 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#129 Business Hotel in Rome
#182 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#189 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Selva Candida 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Selva Candida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selva Candida Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing