We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Ranked #36 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely experience”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Via giulia is a very convenient location from where my wife and me could easily walk to different locations. Room was big and very cozy. Staff extremely polite and helpful ,always smiling. Beautiful terrace overlooking rome's roofs where we spent our last evening drinking and listening to the music.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_harris58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear john_harris58
Thank you ever so much for writing such wonderful review and thank you for your visit to the St. George Roma. I am delighted to hear that you really enjoy your stay and that you rate the facilities of the hotel and the team who serve you in such high regard.
I am truly happy to know that you tried our roof top restaurant and that you enjoyed with the stunning view of Roma and our music.
I very much look forward to see you very soon again and we send you our warmest regards.
Paolo Falchi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    272
    77
    33
    16
See reviews for
171
659
42
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed for a week at the St George (in November), and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. (We find it hard to understand some of the adverse comments posted by other travellers.) All the staff were extremely helpful, friendly and efficient, our room was comfortable and clean (our thanks to the various cameriere who looked after it), and my wife's birthday was very kindly acknowledged by a bottle of Merlot from the manager. The location of the hotel, in a relatively quiet but interesting street, allowed us to walk to many of the sights we wanted to visit. We thought that the breakfast buffet was excellent, with a great variety of choice, although in the evening the restaurant was poorly patronised and perhaps as a result seemed rather austere and lacking in atmosphere - there are of course numerous other tempting eating places close by.

Room Tip: Our room was on the fifth floor, with a balcony overlooking Via dei Bresciani, a side road which run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caretaker99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear Caretaker99
Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write to us regarding your recent stay at the St.George Roma. I am happy to know that your overall impression about the location, hotel, the staff the rooms and our American buffet breakfast were good.
Since we have an open space restaurant throughout the lobby level sometimes if we have lack of guest the atmosphere can be poor, even if we have soft music and candles all over the area, but I can ensure you that our food is excellent also as our drinks.
I really hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you again at the St. George Roma.
Kind regards. Paolo Falchi, General Manager




Hopefully during your next visit to Rome maybe in summer time you can enjoy our Roof Top Restaurant were the atmosphere and the view are breathtaking.



Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We first stayed here when it was the Hotel Cardinal -- obviously far & away improved and updated in it's most recent incarnation. The attraction of Via Giulia has remained constant over the years; for us this is absolutely a perfect location. Our room was large and attractively furnished, everything was clean and everything worked. Towel warmer in the bathroom very comfy touch during the cold & rainy spell. Good toiletries, excellent towels and robes. Nice rooftop views from interior-facing windows. Wifi throughout, also two pcs and printer off lobby just in case. We believe the hotel was fully booked during our stay but we rarely saw anyone passing in the lobby or seated in the bar. NO storage in our bedroom, no way to unpack, no place to put anything beyond toothbrushes & deodorant in the bathroom. We could hang two coats and keep our shoes in the "closet," that's it. No luggage racks but luckily there was a narrow area off the stairs leading up from the bathroom where we could keep one open suitcase (airplane roll-on size) and a shoulder bag; the other suitcase (again, airplane roll-on size) was left near the chair & ottoman. So we basically lived out of the cases for four days. "Task" lighting was inadequate for reading unless you laid down and used the spot-lights in bed. Good breakfast buffet, excellent coffee. Very nice to have turkish bath/spa/plunge pool. Friendly doormen/bellmen, efficient folks at the front desk. Rooftop terrace closed for the season by the 1st of Nov, but it wasn't too far a walk to the Raphael's terrace. If you stay here, try Il Drappo and/or Pierluigi 1938 for dinner -- both are scant minutes from the St George.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoOneWillAnswer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear NoOne Will Answer
On behalf of the St. George Roma, I would like to thank you for taking the time to highlight your experience during your stay.
I am happy to know that your impression about the location, the design and all our services were very good.
On the other hand, I do regret you were disappointing about the size of the bathroom and wardrobe, as I am sure you have noticed, the St. George Roma is housed by a beautiful 15th century building which gives the hotel great character and charm, but at the same time , due to the Italian regulation we are unable to modify the shape or the size of any parts of the rooms and this is the reason why some of them may not provide generous space.
Rest assured that your comments are very much valued and do not hesitate to contact me personally during your next visit to Rome.
With warmest regards. Paolo Falchi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at the St. George to start our honeymoon, and were not disappointed. Big points go first to the hotel itself, which is beautifully done, and to the extremely professional and helpful staff. This was our first real trip to Rome, and every question was answered. Another big plus was the location, which was within a 10-15 minute walk of a great deal of the city sights. Within 2-3 minutes, you have a number of charming trattorias and wine bars. The only negatives are--and they are minor--noise and room size. The former was a bit more than anticipated, while the latter was a bit less, but then again, we're in Rome. A truly great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear TGD80
It was a pleasure to welcoming you and your wife at the St. George Roma for your Wedding Anniversary.
I am very proud to hear that the staff has contributed to make your stay a wonderful stay and in particular that you found the staff very helpful and professional.
As you said in your review the location is a very important feature and I am very happy you enjoyed it because the location is one of our strengths.
I really sorry that you find negatives minor--noise and room size. I really suggest to visit us again and book a deluxe roome or any of our Junior Suites.
Thank you once again for your feedback. I sincerely hope we will have the chance to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards. Paolo Falchi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

A beautiful boutique hotel, conveniently located to walk to many of Rome's most memorable sites. We arrived mid-day in time to check in, walk the neighborhood (Piazza Navona, the Pantheon, Campo de Fiori, etc), and then have drinks overlooking the rooftops of Rome, and dinner with a spectacular view of St. Peters. Morning buffet offered plenty of choices, with food kept fresh and warm. The spa offered a great break after our touring each day. The concierge arranged for a wonderful guide for a special day at the Vatican. Our room was clean, comfortable and service was terrific each day. My wife loved the spa services. Great location, perfect place for us for our visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeymooner0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Honeymooner0714
We are delighted to know that you and your wife very much enjoyed your stay with us.
I am particularly happy to know that you found our roof top terrace and spa both excellent, specially after visiting Rome. As you said, our location is perfect to explore this wonderful city, indeed the hotel is next to Campo de Fiori, the Vatican and the Trastevere districts.
I am delighted to hear that you like your accommodation, our morning breakfast and all the services provided in our hotel; in particularly we really appreciate your positive feedback on our staff.
Many thanks once again for your lovely review and I very much look forward to welcome you back to St. George Rome in the near future.
Warm regards. Paolo Falchi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This hotel is located close to most attractions. Very good rooms friendly staff. A group from Montgomery Texas (70) had a great time. We did have bus tours but a lot can be seen on foot. A great roof top bar with of city. St Peters can also be seen. Lots of restaurants and shopping close buy. We found a small wine store where we purchased our two bottles of wine that you can carry onto Celebrity ships. We did the Rome to Venice cruise which was also great. The morning meal was good and lot's of it.

Room Tip: You can get rooms overlooking a court yard which quiet vs the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerrylowrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear jerrylowrey
On behalf of the St. George Roma, I would like to thank you for taking the time to highlight your experience during your stay with us.
It is lovely to read that you found our location excellent and convenient to explore Rome and our staff very friendly.
We really appreciated your positive comments on our rooms, breakfast and roof top bar.
I hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you again at the St. George Roma.
Best regards. Paolo Falchi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Whilst this hotel is very well located close to the centro storico area the rooms are "bijou" and the facilities not really 5 star. Its nice but not brilliant. The rooms are very small, theres little space or storage for clothes and the bathroom, at least in our room, unventilated as the fan didnt work. Whilst we were there in the first week of November daytime temperatures were 20 C + and the room was too hot. Opening the window worked during the day when we were in but when we went out we had to close it. I complained that the air con wasn't working and we were told that it wasn't because it was switched off ! they did find us a fan though but that shouldn't have been necessary. So all in, a good nights sleep wasn't on the cards although the Romans might have fared better as they were all in winter coats. Also 25 Euro for 4 days of WiFi ???

Breakfast was very good but we didnt eat there apart from breakfast so cant really comment on the evening menu.

Would I recommend ? Probably not as it wasn't that special apart from the location.

Had we paid full price (360E per night) rather than TripAdvisor/ Expedia price this would have been a 2 star review

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeamusP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear SeamusP
Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your recent stay at the St.George Rome.
We are happy to read that the location and the impression on the design of the hotel were good.
On the other hand, I do regret to hear that you were disappointed with the room. As I am sure you have noticed, the St. George Hotel is housed by a beautiful 15th century listed building which gives the hotel great character and charm. Even though it was totally refurbished, due to the Italian regulation, we were unable to modify either the shape or the size of any of the rooms and this is the reason why some of them may not provide generous space.
Wi-Fi service is available at no charge for Deluxe rooms, Junior Suite and Suite. Service is at charge for Standard room: we think that 25 Eur for 4 days is a good price not so expensive.
Rest assured that your comments are very much valued and do not hesitate to contact me personally during your next visit to Rome.
With warmest regards. Paolo Falchi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#3 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#32 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George

Property: Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Address: Via Giulia, 62, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#88 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#98 Family Hotel in Rome
#138 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Indigo(R) Rome - St. George is a 5 star luxury hotel located in Via Giulia right in the historic centre of Rome amidst galleries, boutiques and workshops. Our 5 star luxury hotel perfectly blends modern comforts with hints of our neighbourhood story, as the original travertine marble walls and the murals celebrating the area's long history of artistic expression. At I Sofà Bar Restaurant & Roof Terrace, which moves to the top floor of the hotel during summer, our chef Domenico Cassese handpicks seasonal ingredients and crafts farm-to-fork Roman recipes. Relax in our Roman bath including large whirlpool, sauna and Turkish bath at our wellness centre. Our outdoor event space suits 200, and we're walking distance from Pantheon, Vatican City, Castel Sant'Angelo, Piazza Navona, Campo de' Fiori and the Spanish Steps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, TravelUp, IHG, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing