We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, will definately return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Ranked #38 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place, will definately return”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed here for a weekend break and can thoroughly recommend it. Clean and comfortable, our room was very quiet and private and the staff were really nice and did all they could to ensure we enjoyed our stay. Only complaint was that room service prices are ridiculously expensive, e10 for an orange juice, e 30 for a club sandwich! We had a lovely time here, it's in a perfect location for exploring the sights and nightlife of Rome.

Room Tip: Classic rooms are very small, but nonetheless comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerg317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Travellerg317
Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write to us regarding your recent stay at the St. George Rome.
It is lovely to read that you found accommodation very clean and comfortable and we are also delighted to listen that our staff was very helpful and friendly.
About the room service prices I can assure that are really in line with other hotels of the same category.
Once again thank you very much for your time and for choosing to stay at the St. George and we hope to see you very soon here in Rome.
With best wishes. Paolo Falchi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    272
    77
    33
    16
See reviews for
171
659
43
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We managed to stay here last Easter for a few days as we like visiting Rome as often as we can. We picked this hotel as it is pretty central to all the sights and attractions. Hotel was clean and quiet and offered a great breakfast. We liked the small but comfortable swimming pool and sauna. Staffs were very nice and attentative throughout our stay. We would come and stay here again mainly due to its location and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Filemon_194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear IMAD 123
Thank you so very much for your wonderful review, I am delighted to know that you truly enjoyed your stay at the St. George Roma.
I was very happy to learn that the overall impression of the location, the rooms and the spa was very good.
I am particularly proud to know that you found our staff very nice and attentive.
Once again thank you very much for your time and for choosing to stay at the St. George Roma and we hope to see you very soon here in Rome.
With best wishes. Paolo Falchi, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Our fourth stay in Rome, fourth hotel and the St George, located on Via Guilia has been by far the best. As you might expect from a five star establishment, all the little touches were present, from fluffy bathrobes and complimentary slippers to a kettle and English teas in the room (very welcome).

The spa was a particularly good way to relax and wind down after the rigours of strolling around what must be the World’s most beautiful city and eating some of the most exquisite food imaginable. We availed ourselves of the Turkish sauna and steam rooms as well as the spa pool – we were generally the only people there. Neither of us got round to having any of various treatments available; something we would address during a future visit.

Late risers will appreciate the fact that an excellent breakfast is available until 11am and includes some particularly fine coffee.

One thing for the ladies (and the chaps I suppose) to note is the decent makeup/shaving mirror in the en-suite. Also appreciated were the double glazed patio doors which kept out any street noises ensuring restful nights and siestas too!

Things to note;
We stayed in a classic room -
30 minutes (daily) free Wi-Fi access was available in the reception but if you wanted it from your room and have suitable appliances the hotel provided a keyboard.

There were daily papers available in reception and copies of news round-up sheets in several languages for you to read at breakfast.

The turning down of the beds in the early evening and leaving of a little cake was a very nice touch.

Ultimately, what made our stay at St George so memorable and pleasurable was the staff, every single one were friendly, attentive and discreet. Would we return? Absolutely, quite the best hotel and staff to match we have experienced anywhere, ever. Thank You or Grazie….

Room Tip: We were in a classic room and found this most pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz-likes-to-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear Liz-likes-to-Travel
I am very delighted to read that you had a wonderful time with us and I really thank you for the time spent in writing your fantastic review.
I was really pleased that you liked your room and its amenities as well as the services of the hotel and most of all I am thrilled to know that you found all the staff at the hotel friendly and caring.
I am especially happy to read about your spa experience and that you found our wifi connection very good and useful.
I sincerely hope we will have the chance to welcoming you again at the St. George Roma.
Best regards. Paolo Falchi, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The hotel is not a five star quality hotel. Room was ok. Not very big. Lots of small defects everywere. Food was far below a five star hotel level. Room service much to expensive. Cub sandwich + small mixed salad 45 €!. Parking 80 € !per day. Overall service only average. We will never use this place again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Ulrich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Ulrich R,
thank you for taking time and trouble to write to us regarding your recent stay at the St. George Rome.
We note that, your experience was not too positive and for this I am sorry.
Regarding the room as I am sure you noticed, the St. George Hotel is housed by a beautiful
15th century building which gives the hotel great character and charm, and even though it was totally refurbished due to Italian regulation we were unable to modify the shape or the size of any rooms and this is the reason why some of them may not provide generous space.
I am also sorry to learn that you found expensive our room service club sandwich € 30 and a mixed salad € 15,but as you noticed the generous size of the sandwich, that is in line with most of others hotels same categories, the same for the garage all hotels in downtown area where parking space is very limited the rate for garage are mostly a like € 60 for a sedan and € 80 for SUV.
Upon your arrival you received a letter on my behalf which said to contact me anytime during your stay, it would have been nice to share with you all these issues.
I hope that we will give us another opportunity to welcome you again.
With warmest regards. Paolo Falchi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Our room was large and comfortable. However, we had several 'in room' issues with electricity, stuck closet doors, shower...we felt we knew every staff member there! Speaking of staff, great job done by everyone! The breakfast is ample, again, when we were there (October), the eggs were cold as the heating utensil did not work. We advised the restaurant Mgr who just replied (yes, we have a problem)..and the same occurred the next day. I know they take pride in the hotel, they just need to be on top of issues like these. Also, no instruction on using the key to turn the lights on..we had a huge laugh trying to figure this out! The courtyard is closed after the summer. We did not find this information on the hotels websitte. Maybe they could add it to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear donnayvr
Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write to us regarding your recent stay at the St. George Rome.
We note that, although, you experienced a very warm welcome from my staff and the impression and the cleanliness of the hotel were good.
On the other hand I do apologize regarding some issues that accured during your stay, we had some problems with the heating utensil this is the reason why the eggs were cold, but I can ensure you that now everything is perfectly functioning.
Regarding some instructions for the use of the key card , and information about the garden closed during the winter season I have discussed all these points with my marketing director and we will make sure that all information will be given correctly.
Anyway please take my personal assurance that your comments are very much valued and to not hesitate to contact me personally during your next visit to Rome.
With warmest regards. Paolo Falchi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This was a great stay - the staff was superb (especially compared to some of the service in the rest of Rome...), the rooms clean and well designed, the bed comfy. Cosy lobby with sofas, wine bar, there is a free spa in the basement (I had a massage as well, not free of course, was very good).

Walking distance to all major attractions of Rome.

Did not try the restaurant, so cannot comment.

Would stay here again, definitely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear StephanJudge
Thank you so very much for your wonderful review, I am delighted to know that you truly enjoyed your stay at the St. George Roma.
I am very happy to learn that your impression about the location, the design of the hotel and the rooms were good.
Most of all I am very glad to hear so kind words about my staff: I will be very happy to share with the whole team your positive comments.
I sincerely hope we will have the chance to welcoming you again soon.
Yours sincerely. Paolo Falchi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed for our nights in November last year and loved every minute. the hotel is conveniently situated between the vatican and sites such as the pantheon. Even the colosseum is walking distance if you don't mind a decent walk, and theres lots to see on the way! Breakfast was ideal, the rooms comfortable and the spa was a welcome retreat post sightseeing. The hotel restaurant was a little disappointing for the price but theres plenty of well priced eateries nearby. The hotel is also within walking distance of Trastevere - a beautiful place to walk around and dine.

My only issue is that their cheapest room is only available as a double - it's odd to pay extra for a twin

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have some street noise which may annoy sensitive sleepers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stgeorgeroma, Direttore at Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear Keri E
Thank you very much for your very kind review.
I would like to thank you for the excellent feedback on the breakfast , Spa and location.
About the restaurant I can assure that our prices are competitive for a luxury 5 star hotel and in line with the market.
Once again thank you very much for your time and for choosing to stay at the St. George and we hope to see you very soon here in Rome.
With best wishes. Paolo Falchi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#3 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#32 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George

Property: Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Address: Via Giulia, 62, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rome
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#88 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#98 Family Hotel in Rome
#138 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Indigo(R) Rome - St. George is a 5 star luxury hotel located in Via Giulia right in the historic centre of Rome amidst galleries, boutiques and workshops. Our 5 star luxury hotel perfectly blends modern comforts with hints of our neighbourhood story, as the original travertine marble walls and the murals celebrating the area's long history of artistic expression. At I Sofà Bar Restaurant & Roof Terrace, which moves to the top floor of the hotel during summer, our chef Domenico Cassese handpicks seasonal ingredients and crafts farm-to-fork Roman recipes. Relax in our Roman bath including large whirlpool, sauna and Turkish bath at our wellness centre. Our outdoor event space suits 200, and we're walking distance from Pantheon, Vatican City, Castel Sant'Angelo, Piazza Navona, Campo de' Fiori and the Spanish Steps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, IHG, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing