We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in Rome, (During the summer get a rome with AC)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Ranked #28 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2009

The hotel was wonderful, the staff was helpful even though it was late in the season. The room was always warm even with the air condition running. Just down the street about a block away my wife and I found a little Italian style Ace Hardware. They spoke no english and my Italian probable sounded like a cat in the blender, but we got the fan. Room was adjacent to the outdoor breakfast area which

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i_spy1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

842 - 848 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2009

The hotel is in a ideal location - a quiet, historic street close to all the action and within easy walking distance of the Vatican.
The decor is elegant and soothing and the rooms are stylish and very comfortable.
The breakfast is very good and the peaceful courtyard setting is a very relaxing way to start and end your day.
It's a pity that the roof terrace with views over the city is not open on Sundays and Mondays. Also, when it was open, the candles were not lit. It sould have been lovely, but was a bit soulless.
The spa was small but nice. It was unfortunately closed on the Sunday of my visit, which was the day I wanted to spend time in it.
All in all, I would stay again, either for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemstone4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

This is one of those trendy little boutique hotels of the type that have become so popular in big cities. Yet set in a very charming section of town with a great deal of character. Close to Piazza Navona and Campo de fiori yet not right on them (which would be too noisy and touristy)....

I totally LOVED the indoor pool/sauna and rooftop bar, plus the garden area for taking breakfast (no mere contintental breakfast but lots of fresh cheese, fruit, meet, salmon, etc.)

walking distance to almost everywhere you'd want to go -- vatican, trastavere, pantheon, and perhaps half an hour to coleseum and spanish steps.

Staff a bit too "cool" to be of much help, unlike in family-run places. E.g., woman at desk told me (on a 95 degree day in Rome) not to wear shorts to the Vatican; turns out you can as long as they are clearly over the knees.

Still, stay here and you won't be disappointed. Great digs, great area, good price.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
Thank HooferNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

We have just returned from a five night stay at the St.George. The hotel is situated in a quiet street just a few minutes walk from many tourist sites- 10 minutes to Piazza Navone, 25 minutes to Spanish Steps, 10 minutes to Vatican etc. From check-in to check-out, all thye staff - front desk, concierge, housekkeping, breakfast staff were all very pleasant and any requests we had were attended to immediately. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was totally fine - eggs, bread, cheeses, jams, fruit . It was nice to sit in the pleasant courtyard and start the day in a relaxed way over a cappucino.
My only complaint was that although our room (we booked a superior room) was very large for a European room, the bathroom was tiny and had no space to put any toiletries at all. We would definately recomend this hotel to couples looking for a slice of quiet in a very hectic pie!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minnieLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

My husband & I just returned from our 2nd honeymoon in Italy & we stayed 5 nights at the St.George! My husband was the one who chose this hotel & I was a bit skeptic but as soon as we arrived I changed my mind! The St.George is a small boutique style 5* hotel located in Via Giulia, one of Rome's most beautiful streets & is close to Rome's major attractions (Piazza Navona, The Vatican, The Pantheon...). The service is great, rooms are cleaned twice per day, the personnel are helpful & cheerful, the breakfast is nice & you can sit outside in the courtyard ... We loved it & will surely return there!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shadia72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Hotel George is a new boutique hotel located in the pretty and quiet Via Giulia, about 15 minutes walk from the Vatican. From the outside you might walk past it without noticing it. It has been decorated in a trendy cool style with lots of travertine and marble on the walls and floors (more of this later). Our room was on the second floor and to the side of Via Guilia. It was quiet, nicely furnished with a decent sized bathroom. Plenty of hanging space but it sorely lacked storage space for other clothes not usually put on hangers. The bed was very comfortable. Staff were friendly and polite. You can walk to all the main sights from this hotel. We did not eat at the hotel. At 25 euros for breakfast we thought this was somewhat expensive. We were there on a Sunday and Monday and the rooftop bar was closed so cannot comment on this facility. Did not use the Spa. Our one main criticism of this hotel is that it is acoustically noisy because of the stone walls and floors. Our room was located near the elevator so we heard every footstep of everyone going to their rooms. Even the closing of the doors resulted in a loud crashing noise. I was dreading having someone above us who walked around a lot and had on high heels or heavy shoes - the rooms have stone floors too. Luckily the people above came in and went to bed pretty promptly. Unfortunately the cleaning staff came in early and they could be heard talking and moving their equipment around. It should be pointed out to them how their voices carry in the corridors.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Stayed here for two nights. Booked 3 weeks in advance on Expedia and got a greatly reduced rate when booking the non-refundable rate. $240 USD per night. This is a insane rate for a 5 star hotel. Hotel is more trendy and contemporary than the older grand hotels of Rome. New hotel within last 1-2 yrs. Nice location. 20 minute walk to Spanish Steps. 5 min to Piazza Navona. Our room was smallest in hotel and was still pretty comfortable. Quiet neighborhood and solid windows so no noise problems. Room decor and bathrooms were as expected for a 5 star property. Good linens and comfortable bed. Hotel bar is nice. Also rooftop bar. Spa is something they are proud of although we didn't use it. Great alternative to Hassler, Portrait Suites or Hotel de Russie if you want a 5star prop/room - but don't want to spend $800-1000 USD per night.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clark_W_Griswold_III
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#29 of 1,269 in Rome
806 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#5 of 1,269 in Rome
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#35 of 1,269 in Rome
840 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George

Address: Via Giulia, 62, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rome
#13 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#88 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#98 Family Hotel in Rome
#138 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £216 - £398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Indigo(R) Rome - St. George is a 5 star luxury hotel located in Via Giulia right in the historic centre of Rome amidst galleries, boutiques and workshops. Our 5 star luxury hotel perfectly blends modern comforts with hints of our neighbourhood story, as the original travertine marble walls and the murals celebrating the area's long history of artistic expression. At I Sofà Bar Restaurant & Roof Terrace, which moves to the top floor of the hotel during summer, our chef Domenico Cassese handpicks seasonal ingredients and crafts farm-to-fork Roman recipes. Relax in our Roman bath including large whirlpool, sauna and Turkish bath at our wellness centre. Our outdoor event space suits 200, and we're walking distance from Pantheon, Vatican City, Castel Sant'Angelo, Piazza Navona, Campo de' Fiori and the Spanish Steps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Agoda, IHG, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing