We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxury bolthole in bustling Rome that doesn't quite make the grade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Ranked #30 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2009

The St George Hotel is a luxury retreat tucked away in a quieter corner of Rome. It's slightly off the beaten track but a 15 minute walk takes you to Piazza Navona. The hotel was spotlessley clean and we liked its chic minimalist decor, however for us it lacked the personal touch we would have expected from a 5 star 'boutique' style hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable but offered no outstanding features. The bathroom was on the small side. We were disappointed that some of the facilities that attracted us to this hotel (Turkish Spa & roof top bar) were closed on certain days - in a 5 star hotel we expected them to be available throughout the duration of our stay. Drink prices at the roof top bar were exorbitant, 22 Euros for a cocktail, 13 Euro's for a glass of wine - twice the price of the drinks in a bar we visited in on Piazza Navona which is reknowned for its high prices due to its unique atmosphere. We enjoyed our stay but this hotel didn't quite deliver to our expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwilsonlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

861 - 867 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2009

Stayed three nights in August 2009 and thoroughly enjoyed this small modern hotel in the heart of Rome but on a quite side street away from traffic. Consistent with other viewers I would say the highlights are location, modern clean rooms, beautiful common areas including rooftop terrace, very nice courtyard breakfast and modern (though small) spa.
The restaurant and bar were quite expensive but we easily walked to the dozens of alternatives near Piazza Navona.
It is true that the 1pm-8pm spa time can be a little limiting... we found ourselves racing to get back there one evening. The spa is incredibly refreshing after a hard day of walking tours.
I would definitely stay here again. We paid about $275/night through 1800Hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bostonlagunacommuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Not a 5 star. 4 star at best.

Nice, clean, excellent location, good service. But small and way over priced for anything extra in the hotel.

We got a good rate and as long as you don't ask for anything extra in the hotel it is tolerable. Ensure breakfast is included and resist going any further.

Also, don't bring a car. Parking will cost you about 80 a night. Lucky we rang beforehand and decided to dump our rental car early.
For example - a burger was €30 - madness

Service is top notch mind. And the beds are awesome. I would recommend this hotel BUT only at the right rate which for me would be about €120 - 150 max.

Also the spa is only open between 1pm and 8pm.. not much use to the weary tourist after a day of sightseeing. Not much use to anyone from what I can see... Bit of a joke.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawred2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

The Hotel was O.K. but only because we got a good deal. The room was one of the smallest I have ever been in. The bathroom was ridiculous. You couldn't close the door once you were in. Twp people forget it. The restaurant and roof top bar were so expensive that we never saw anyone in them the whole time we were there. 5 stars...are you kidding me?

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissingCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

this is a very nece hotel. so clean and near the main attraction in the city of Rome. The room is clean, modern and cozy. I like that place very much the only problem is that it is not well known for taxi drivers so take care from that. Breakfast is ok and the terrace viewing the dome of the saint pedro . It is simply one of the best hotel i been to in rome.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ymaraghy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We recently spent four nights at the St George. The hotel is definitely five star, looks wonderful, and is in a great location for all the attractions in Rome but is slightly off the main noisy streets. Great restaurants nearby. Lovely spa.

We had a junior suite, which though beautifully appointed, was to be honest rather dark as it faced onto the atrium of the hotel and other rooms, so we had no view. I would certainly ask for a room with a more open aspect next time. Our daughters and her partner on the other hand, had a lovely large room with views over the rooftops of Rome and again lovely facilities.

We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant, which was very expensive, but the breakfasts were great, with everything you could wish for, in a lovely sunny courtyard.

We often visit Rome and have never settled on a hotel before, but will certainly go back to the St George.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonRocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

The hotel was wonderful, the staff was helpful even though it was late in the season. The room was always warm even with the air condition running. Just down the street about a block away my wife and I found a little Italian style Ace Hardware. They spoke no english and my Italian probable sounded like a cat in the blender, but we got the fan. Room was adjacent to the outdoor breakfast area which

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i_spy1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#32 of 1,273 in Rome
853 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,273 in Rome
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George

Address: Via Giulia, 62, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rome
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#69 Family Hotel in Rome
#88 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#138 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £205 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Indigo(R) Rome - St. George is a 5 star luxury hotel located in Via Giulia right in the historic centre of Rome amidst galleries, boutiques and workshops. Our 5 star luxury hotel perfectly blends modern comforts with hints of our neighbourhood story, as the original travertine marble walls and the murals celebrating the area's long history of artistic expression. At I Sofà Bar Restaurant & Roof Terrace, which moves to the top floor of the hotel during summer, our chef Domenico Cassese handpicks seasonal ingredients and crafts farm-to-fork Roman recipes. Relax in our Roman bath including large whirlpool, sauna and Turkish bath at our wellness centre. Our outdoor event space suits 200, and we're walking distance from Pantheon, Vatican City, Castel Sant'Angelo, Piazza Navona, Campo de' Fiori and the Spanish Steps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing