We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Versailles
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$326
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$367
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$345
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$328
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$396
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$385
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$304
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$937
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$494
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
73
68
27
11
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
68
27
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbus routesbig doortermini stationbudget hotelthe main tourist attractionsdefinitely stay here againclean bathroomair connice roomhotel is locatedeasy accessdouble roomluggagefridgereceptionistneighborhoodmap
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This charming hotel is on the second floor of a beautiful building and the elevator was out of a 50's movie. I was in love! The main lady at the hotel didn't speak much English but she was so sweet and helpful! Niceness transcends language barriers! The hotel is located within walking distance to bus stops and a few restaurants. The room was pretty big and the bathroom was very nice and spacious. The hotel was pretty affordable and very nice! The receptionist called for a taxi to take us to the airport and it wasn't just any taxi! We thought it would be a city taxi car but they might have a company that they use. The taxi was really a delightful gentleman with a Mercedes Benz that was decked out. He was so much fun, drove incredibly fast, and got us to the airport. The price was the same as a regular taxi and we had so much fun that we tipped him 20 euros. I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Versailles, Proprietario at Hotel Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Hello!
Thank you so much for your beautiful review!
All Hotel Versailles staff loves to know customers had a good time in Rome at the Versailles,
It's true, chamber maid they don't speak a good english but they do their best to help everybody, at the reception there is always somebody who speaks English..
Thank you again for your stay at the Versailles and we do hope to see you once again in Rome!
We wish you a Great 2014!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The hotel is around 10-15 minutes walk from the Termini station. Good if you are travelling in the summer morning as the weather is cool and the walking was not that difficult even with huge luggages. Watch out if you arrive in the afternoon like I did, as the 15 minutes walk seemed forever!

The hotel is located in a building with lift but you have to walk a few steps (like 10) to reach the lift. The owner is nice and very helpful in giving instructions around the city. There is a super cheap supermarket and local bakery and eateries nearby. It's also close to pizza and ice-cream places rated top at tripadvisor!

However if you are a metro person, don't stay at this hotel as it's far away from the metro. There is a bus stop around the corner of the block tho which takes you to most places within half an hour. Walking to the spanish steps takes 20-25 minutes (slightly uphill and downhill).

The room itself has an en-suite bathroom with shower and a fridge (a huge plus especially it's so hot and dry in the summer). The bed is ok and the blanket is a bit on the thin side. That matches with the air-con which isn't very strong, but it's ok as the summer is chilly at night and you can still sleep well without the air-con.

Overall an excellent value hotel. Totally satisfied with the EUR58 per night I paid. Would definitely stay at this hotel again when I come back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica_C_BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Versailles, Owner at Hotel Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Hello,
Hotel Versailles staff thanks you very much for your nice review and we all are happy to know you had a beautiful time in Rome and at the Versailles.
Just one thing in case you'll be back, the metro station Castro Pretorio is only 400 metres from the hotel but we usually suggest to go around taking one of the 20 bus line few steps from us because taking the metro means not being able to see around you. Rome is a historical city and in every corner there could be something to be seen and busses helps to see what under the ground you coulden't!!
We hope to see you again in Rome and wish you a Great 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was not a hotel with the typical meaning of the word. It consisists of two floors in an old building. Rooms were modern decorated and the staff was friendly, especialy their map of Rome was very useful. Across the hotel there were a number of bus stops with good city center connections. A good stay in Rome.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ant7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Versailles, Owner at Hotel Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Hello Ant7676,
Thank you so much for your kind feedback.
Hotel Versailles is one of that 75% hotels in Rome that are part of building.
Hotel Versailles is a small family run structure in the city center, part of a historical building coming from XVIII century.
We all wish you a Great 2014 and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Well, where can I start, what a lovely long weekend we had in Rome to celebrate our wedding anniversary belatedly. Right from the start everything went smoothly. I prebooked onto the SITBUS shuttle online, this was a 16 euro return altogether for the two of us. These buses stop right outside arrivals at the middle Bus Stop of 3, which helps if you arrive at night in rain, also it would seem that the Ciampino Airport promote these Shuttle Services, rather than herd tourists off into extortionate taxis when they arrive. The Taxi Park is placed well enough away from the terminal should someone want to use one though. The staff who represent the bus companies are also helpful as well in getting you on the right bus and their English is good. I would highly recommend SITBUS as their buses appear to be less crowded and the queues are minimal at the Bus Stop as opposed to the Terravision Shuttle Service at the stop next door. Both Bus Companies charge the same though, 4 euro per person one way to Rome's Central Bus and Train Termini Station. Once at the Station you can either walk, if you're brave, to Hotel Versailles, around 15 minutes, or catch a Taxi at between 10 and 12 Euro's.

As other reviews have said on here, the hotel can be a little difficult to find, blink and you miss it, but once in the door downstairs you walk towards the left and then up a couple of steps to the first floor where you will be greeted by a very obliging and helpful Signor Roberto on Reception. He will get you checked in and ensure you are fully versed on the different bus and train services to use in Rome for various attractions, where to eat nearby, and ensure that you take a free street map of Rome to guide you, this became our bible for the 2 and a half days we were there. The Hotel itself is very modern, clean and tidy, and all you need to spend a relaxing weekend or few days in Rome. Roberto is very good with his English, I wish my Italian was as good as his English, and the Cleaning staff try their hardest to help where possible, with the little English that they speak. The Room also was quite pleasant and comfortable, towels changed daily, bed made, and room given a light clean around everyday. Breakfast is not served at the Hotel, but there is a Bakery next door where they serve Hot Paninis with various fillings at a reasonable price, the girls who work there don't speak English, but they try their hardest to serve you and get you what you want. The surrounding area of the hotel appeared to be quite an exclusive neighbourhood of Rome on the outskirts of the city, away from the tourists, but close enough to access the heart of Rome with a bus ride of around 15 minutes. If you don't fancy venturing into the heart of the city and have a bit of buck to spend there is the famous Rinascente Italian Department Store a few doors up from the Hotel, and an array of Restaurants and Cafe Eateries catering for locals around the Hotel. One Restaurant and quite trendy place we ate at twice during our stay was Mokarabia, a couple of doors up from the hotel. This place unfortunately doesn't have very good write up's on here, but we thought it was a good place to eat serving Roman Cuisine and fairly reasonably priced and the staff try hard to make you at home and explain to you the dishes that they do, maybe it changed hands recently? I had the Saltinbocca (Veal with Sage and Proscuitto) twice, I recommend this dish, I also tried a bit of my wife's Roman Burger Meal, this was good value for money for what you got as well. They also have a highly recommended Gelateria next door on here, belonging to them, L'Caruso, the Ice Cream there is homemade and very nice also.

For High Street Shopping in Rome it seems to be concentrated along the Via Del Corso a long road running off of the Coliseum area. Behind Via Del Corso you have the Trevi Fountain and going further up the road away from the Coliseum the Spanish Steps, where there is a Metro Station. I was quite surprised for a capital city how Shopping is not Rome's strongpoint compared to other cities in Italy such as Bologna, where there appears to be no end of High Street Shops.

Overall a good break in Rome, highly recommended, you'll want to go again, which is not often something that can be said of a visit to Italy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank larnacaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Versailles, Proprietario at Hotel Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Hello,
Thank you very much for your kind review, we all are happy to know that you had a plesant stay in the "Ethernal City" and at the Hotel Versailles.
We do hope to see you again soon.
We wish you a very Happy Christmas and New Year!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed for 7 nights. We really loved the hotel, I can find no fault for us personally. The hotel staff and management were very friendly and helpful, they were full of recommendations for places to eat, and gave us a map and showed us where we were etc... The room itself was comfortable, clean, and quite spacious and had everything we needed. The wi-fi was quick, and free as well. The location suited us well; although it feels a but further out from all the main touristy areas, we really enjoyed this as most of the restaurants in the area felt quite local. The prices for meals in this area was very good. The hotel is a couple of doors down from a VERY VERY good Gelato place called L'Caruso. We went here for a treat several times during the week and it was the best artisanal ice cream we had in Rome.

The hotel is admittedly on a busy, loud, road, but for us personally, this was not a problem and the double glazing kept most of the sound out anyway. The noise was a very small price to pay for such a great value place to stay!

We felt very bad as we accidentally , somehow managed to break the toilet-roll holder in the bathroom. We tried to explain to the maids, but our Italian and their English was minimal so they didn't understand. When we told the hotel management they were fine didn't ask for any payment or seem annoyed.

Overall our stay was great, we felt very well looked after, safe and comfortable. Would reccommend to anyone who is looking for a great value for money hotel!

THANKYOU VERSAILLES!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophiejenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Versailles, Proprietario at Hotel Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Hello,
thank you so much for your kind feedback, we are always happy to know our customers had a good stay in Rome and at the Versailles.
A small unintentional damage can happen, don't worry about it, we have already repaired it!
We wish you all the best for your life and hope to see you once again i Rome!....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews