We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel I've been in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anna Maria Guesthouse B&B
Ranked #2,047 of 3,779 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This hostel is located in very good neighbourhood well connected with the historic center of the city. Hosts of the appartment are really kind and helpful, and Anna Maria will prepare for you every morning tradicional italian breakfast with warm, nicely smelling coffee.
Room is very clean and has everything you need including hairdrier and museum guide.
I would recommend this hostel to everybody.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Milena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2011

My mom and I needed a place to stay for one night in Rome prior to our cruise. I wanted somewhere that had a direct connection to the Fiumicino airport and the port of Civitavecchia. Trastevere offers this convenience. Most of the budget places within a short walk of the train station cost about 100€ a night and have terrible reviews. When I discovered Anna Maria's guesthouse, it sounded too good to be true. The price was about half the cost of the other bed and breakfasts in the area. Her hospitality made us feel so welcome. My mom could not stop raving about what a great find it was. Our room was spotless, bright, and spacious. Our only regret is that we could not stay longer. There is simply no better deal to be found in all of Rome. It far exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Globalfilmmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Previous visitors and us are all in agreement that Maria Barbetti has made this bed and breakfast feels like a five star hotel. She also looks after guests like her own family and will go out of her way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. It was such a welcome to wake up and return to a beautifully decorated, spotless apartment and free running water after long hot days in town. It was simply wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yellowskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed here for three nights in April 2010.
Our hostess, Anna Maria, was warm, welcoming and friendly, with a good sense of humour, and spoke very good English indeed. She helped us in every way possible, from lending us a map, to selling us tickets for the tram, and helping us bring our luggage up in the lift, and when we arrived she made us a cup of delicious coffee.
Although Welcome Rome is about 15 minutes on the tram from the historic centre, the ride is very straightforward and goes right through the Trastevere area . There is also a bus. Our hostess and her son were happy to share their knowledge and suggested a couple of outings to us which we really enjoyed. Our room was a good size, very tastefully decorated, with good storage space and a delightful ensuite bathroom and toilet with plenty of hot water and nice towels provided.
The room is part of their apartment on the 7th floor – but there is a tiny lift so this was not a problem. Although breakfast was not provided (since it is a guest house), we were welcome to use the kitchen at any time and there are supermarkets and food shops close by – also a lovely take-away pizza place and restaurants! We were also welcome to sit out on the little balcony.
All in all we highly recommend this charming guest house and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Intonati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Anna Maria and her son Mike made us feel right at home. Anna Maria had lots of brochures in our room for things to do. She and Mike were very helpful with directions too. The location of her apartment was excellent. We caught the train just a few blocks from her building to get to any of the major sites within about 10 minutes. There's a great little coffee/pastry shop down the street too. Anna Maria just rents rooms from her apartment and it's not a B&B, so the coffee shop down the street was perfect for some chocolate croissants and lattes. You have full access to her kitchen if you want to prepare your own breakfast. We found it more fun to just stop on the way somewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The place is extremely clean and the hosting lady is very nice (and she speak English). You can use beautiful bathroom and very well-equipped kitchen (incl. oven, microwave and all pots that we needed to make dinners). The room is big and it contains a small fridge with a freezing container. In addition, there is very cheap greengrocer just 20 meters from the place.
Worth mentioning is that you need to take only one change when coming from Fiumicino airport (you take regional train FR1 to Trastevere FS and than you switch to tram nr 8).

We strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

My husband and I stay with Anna Maria late last year. This review is long overdue!

We absolutely fell in love with Rome, and I am sure it had a lot to do with staying at Welcome Rome.
Anna Maria's apartment B&B was like staying with family. When we arrived she gave us a quick tour before inviting us onto the balcony to share a cold beer. She was so great to talk to about what to see and do during our stay, about the local area and about Italian politics and life in general.
Welcome Rome is a short tram ride out of the city (buy tickets where you buy ciggarettes seems to be the general rule. Not on the tram!). It's on the edge of where the city meets suburbia. We never felt unsafe wandering home at night or ducking into the local shops for a peek. You will be surrounded by locals rather than other tourists which is refreshing.
The rooms are clean, the beds are comfy and the bar fridge in the room was really handy. Anna Maria is happy for you to use the kitchen if you want to cook dinner etc. We stayed in the room with the shared bathroom. It was shared with Anna Maria and her son (not other guests), who shower early and hop off to work, so there was never any wait for the bathroom.
We were so in love that we decided to stay and extra night, and in celebration Anna Maria insisted on cooking us a genuine Italian meal - the most amazing carbonara I've ever had with a bottle of red wine syphoned into a crystal carafe... LOVE!

Probably the best stay I've any anywhere, ever!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,107 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#226 of 1,272 in Rome
1,088 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#463 of 1,272 in Rome
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#72 of 1,272 in Rome
1,482 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#101 of 1,272 in Rome
1,264 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#112 of 1,272 in Rome
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna Maria Guesthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Maria Guesthouse B&B

Address: Via Damaso Cerquetti 67, 00152 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monteverde , Gianicolense
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,047 of 3,779 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two lovely rooms in a nice apartment in the center of Rome, beautifully furnished and very clean, to spend an unforgettable holiday. We will welcome you speaking in English, kindly and in a warm atmosphere. Cooking facilities and linen included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Anna Maria Guesthouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing