We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location nice - basic hotel”
Review of Hotel Rosetta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Rosetta
Ranked #423 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Location nice - basic hotel”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We got what we expected from this hotel...decently priced, but great location very near Colloseum. We were able to walk to every major attraction in Rome. Room was basic, as expected, with small room and smallish bathroom, but very workable, overall. Bed was more comfortable than expected. The reception is through the courtyard and up the stairs. English speaking varied based on who was there, but no problems overall. We had to print a train ticket, and they went out of their way to let us email them the pdf and print it for us, which was nice of them.

Only knocks: Wi-Fi in room was pretty shotty in terms of connection, but it worked well in the lobby, and we went there a couple of times to handle internet related stuff. Shower occassionaly ran out of hot water, but again, was workable.

Overall, if you don't expect a ton, this place is an affordable hotel in great location in Rome that will more than suffice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    90
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
47
91
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This hotel offered exactly what we expected for the price. It is a budget hotel for sure but you cannot beat the location. The Mgmt are very nice and helpful and english speaking. Less than 10 minutes to the Colosseum in 1 direction, 10 minutes to City Centre in the other direction and 5 minutes from the Metro station. So it was perfect. The beds are a bit hard and the rooms are small but the building is great, safe, secure and we were quite happy. We did run out of hot water twice before we figured out we were on our own little system in our room so we couldn't fit 2 nice showers back-to-back but again no biggie once we figured it out. It was loud with the windows open but the rooms had A/C. There was a deli a couple of doors down we just loved and spent lot's of money in. Rome is not cheap! All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scubagerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Rosetta in May. The rooms were very clean, the owners are friendly and helpful, and best of all it is in a great location - convenient to all the major sites and the metro. We walked almost everywhere, and for the few places we went that were farther away, the metro station was just a short walk from the hotel. The rooms are very basic, but for this price and location, it was a great value.
I would recommend anyone staying here not to eat at the restaurants on Via Cavour. The Monti neighborhood in the back streets behind the hotel has much better restaurants, and shops.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back of the hotel can be noisy because of the restaurants in the alley in the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sns79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Hotel Rosetta was centrally located to the major attractions in Rome, less than 5 min. away from the Colosseum and Forum, the metro, and so much more. Walking into the small lobby we were met by the family who runs/owns the hotel. Their children were being watched by their grandparents, off to the side, and it was lively. We felt the family connection and knew we were in the right place. They were so helpful, giving direction, providing a map of the city, and marking routes. Basically anything we needed, they were there for us. We stayed in a side area off from the courtyard, and it was an interesting setup--which added to the charm. The rooms were clean, and comfortable. In the lobby they sold water at super reasonable rates, which made it so convenient when heading out for the day, or returning to our room. If we come back to Rome Hotel Rosetta is where we will stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo_Ann000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

In late January we booked a 15 night transatlantic cruise from Fort Lauderdale, and planned to spend two nights in Rome post cruise, before flying home. We were torn between a standard, "big name" hotel, and a more interesting/culturally-immersive stay in a neighborhood B&B. We opted for the latter and booked through Hotels.com during the first week of February.

UNFORTUNATELY, we did NOT book with Hotel Rosetta but a nearby competitor. We received, printed, and packed our confirmation from Hotels.com. As another indicator of THEIR great service, while on the cruise, we received an email informing us that our reservation was confirmed, and no further action was necessary. All set, and good to go... or so we thought.

Our Shuttle driver dropped us at the door to this other establishment, helped unload our 4 pieces of luggage, and continued on his way. It was only then that we were told by the hotel manager that WE had CANCELLED our reservation, (I can ASSURE you this was NOT the case) and that no room was available! THIS was the moment when I started to get more than just a little concerned, and when my girlfriend started to panic.

FORTUNATELY... a VERY gracious gentleman, who owns a musical instrument repair shop next door, took pity on us and made several phone calls on our behalf. Just two minutes later he gave me directions to walk about half way around the (very small) block from where we were. At the end of that short, two minute walk, I found Hotel Rosetta and salvation!

At the front desk, I met an absolutely WONDERFUL young lady named Francesca, who quickly earned the well deserved moniker of "Ambassador Extraordinaire" for Rome in general, and her family-run Hotel in particular. She insisted I visually inspect the room prior to accepting it, and was almost apologetic that it was the largest (and ONLY) room remaining, and that the price might be higher than we would like. It WAS quite a bit larger than what we needed, but NEED it we did, AND it was only 10 euro per night more, than the room we had booked! It was also nicely appointed, comfortable, quiet, and SPOTLESSLY clean. (The ONLY thing keeping me from rating our experience a 5 was a mattress somewhat firmer than our liking.)

Hotel Rosetta is in a fantastic location less than two blocks from the Roman Forum and most major bus routes, AND less than four blocks from the Colosseum. There are HUNDREDS of quaint shops and restaurants in LESS than a 5 minute walk in any direction!

For the next two days Francesca and her family helped us with planning our sightseeing excursions, bus routes, restaurant recommendations, and taxi service to the airport. I simply can NOT say enough about the INCREDIBLY friendly and helpful service we experienced at Hotel Rosetta. I would stay there again in a heartbeat! Once again... THANK YOU!

(And if all that wasn't enough, the most delicious gelato I have ever tasted is right across the street! ENJOY!)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank navyrotorhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Booneville Mississippi
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. It is a great location and I was loaned a hair dryer so I didn't have to take one to Rome. The accomodations are simple but all one could want as most of our time was spent touring. There is a bus stop across the street from the hotel to help you get around. We didn't know this and walked to the hotel from Termini Station. We returned to Termini Station by bus with our luggage when we departed Rome. Cavour is a busy street with lots of shops and restaurants. The gelato we ate for supper every night. I miss it already. The hotel supplied a map of Rome with the main sites listed that we wanted to tour. I can't say enough about the service and the location of this hotel. It is a great value for its location.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagnoliaMS101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in while traveling. The location was prime, literally down the road from the Colosseum and also near a subway stop. We arrived early and our room was not quite ready, so we left our bags and went to explore. When we returned, the young man working at the front counter carried our bags up to our room on the second floor, which we greatly appreciated. The space in the hotel was perfect. The staff was more than friendly throughout our 3 night stay. We realized on the first night we forgot our converter in Florence and were loaned one from the front desk. They also helped us make reservations at the Vatican Museum. We had a wonderful stay, if I am ever back in Rome I will be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#219 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Monti
Hotel Paba
Hotel Paba
#321 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#90 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Labelle
Hotel Labelle
#525 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#174 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rosetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosetta

Property: Hotel Rosetta
Address: Via Cavour, 295 scala B/1, Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#149 Family Hotel in Rome
#254 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Rosetta 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hotel rosetta the Colosseum and Roman forum are right around the corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rosetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosetta Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing