We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful place to stay!”
Review of Hotel Rosetta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Rosetta
Ranked #414 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and I discovered this Inn in a Rick Steves Rome book and I am so happy we did. The rooms were great with private bathrooms and location. We requested a quiet room away from the main street and we had a room with a window facing the courtyard. You are only one block away from the colosseum and ancient Rome. There is a great little Piazza around the corner with a fountain and wine shop in the square where you can share a bottle of wine and talk about your day. We did this every night! I would also like to recommend a great place to eat near the colosseum called Hostaria da Nerone a couple of blocks away form Rosetta Inn. We used maps and had to walk around a little to find it but it was my favorite. I ordered the Linguini with Clam Sauce every time. I would definitely recommend getting the Rick Steves Rome book because our trip would not have gone as smoothly with out it. If I went back to Rome there is no other place I would stay then The Rosetta Inn. Great price, great location and nice staff!

P.S. When you tour the colosseum please pay extra and get the guide who takes you underneath the colosseum into the passage ways... 12 Euro extra but priceless. Learn about the ROMA PASS and get it. Worth every penny to pass the lines. Also look into Borghese Gallery (Will need to make a reservation and take a cab ride but my husband and I walked back to Inn) to see amazing art. There is beautiful art and sculptors everywhere. Last thing.... Best church to visit is San Clemente to go underneath into the layers of Rome and Gesu Church. In the Gesu Church just look up at the ceiling at your breath will be taken away. There are also two beautiful Bernini sculptors.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room and if you tell them you leaned about the Inn from Rick Steves Rome (Which you...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laurabelle784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rosetta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

Myself and my husband stayed at Hotel Rosetta last October for 4 nights during our first visit to Rome, Italy. Hotel Rosetta is conveniently located near Colosseum with easy access to other tourist attractions in the city as well. It is a small humble place run by a family, not fancy but, neatly maintained that is good enough for a tourists to have a comfortable stay. The best part of our stay other than convenient location was the dedication this family has to help out their guests. They really made us very welcome and comfortable and always forthcoming to help us out with museum reservations or any other information we needed about sight seeing or commute etc. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Highly recommend Rosetta for tourists.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ppan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

stayed 2 nights here and it was a great place to stay. Little ways from the train station (we walked) and i would not recommend that. The room was small but clean and the bathroom was nice. Beds were comfortable and the staff was great. The Location is walking distance from the Colloseum, restaurants and shopping. Had to take a taxi to the Vatican however. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockinnole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in Rome last year. It was lovely and had a great location (5 minute walk to Coliseum and metro). Came recommended in a Rick Steve's book and it was great. Exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is certainly a "budget" stay but overall just what we needed. We had small, basic room/bathroom but it was clean and had air condition. Great location, so close to the colloseum. Friendly staff, one member spoke little English. Would recommend and would return here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANCY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We shared a room with another couple and it was great. This Hotel is located very close to the Coliseum, Form, Pantheon, restaurants, bus and train lines. Price very reasonably for Rome. Clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at the Rosetta from Aug 12 to the 16 and quiet enjoyed the ability to just stroll on down to the Colosseum and take pictures. half a block away front the Forum ruins and two blocks to the Colosseum and Metro stop. Very clean rooms and bathrooms with lots of room for bags. We were in the second building along Cavour but were on the side on the alley. Nice and quiet. As we had pre-booked most things we did not have to ask the staff for help other than dining suggestions. There is a great little square if you behind the building and walk the "alley" which is parallel to Cavour. Great place to eat and hang out. Tip for getting there is get off on the colosso stop and as you are about to leave the station go left and up an escalator and you are at the top of the alley that will take you down to Cavour street. Lots of great restaurants around but if you want to keep breakfast cheaper eat at the bar and it it will be 1/2 the price. Also if you are in Rome for at least three days buy a Roma card and miss the lines, great for the Colosseum and Forum.

Room Tip: Rooms on the hotel side of courtyard are very quiet with some noise of water flushing.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScentOfFlowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#103 of 1,267 in Rome
286 reviews
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#260 of 1,267 in Rome
215 reviews
Monti
Hotel Paba
Hotel Paba
#324 of 1,267 in Rome
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Labelle
Hotel Labelle
#513 of 1,267 in Rome
156 reviews
Monti
Relais No9 Colosseo
Relais No9 Colosseo
#617 of 1,267 in Rome
62 reviews
Monti
Hotel Artorius
Hotel Artorius
#319 of 1,267 in Rome
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rosetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosetta

Address: Via Cavour, 295 scala B/1, Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#149 Family Hotel in Rome
#254 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £56 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Rosetta 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hotel rosetta the Colosseum and Roman forum are right around the corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rosetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosetta Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing