We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family hotel in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais Pierret Piazza di Spagna
Ranked #195 of 3,721 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2008

We just returned two days ago from a 14 day trip through Italy. Our first stop was Roma with a stay at both the Relais Pierret and their sister hotel Internazional Domus. The building housing both apartment sets are located at 20 Piazza di Spagna which i would consider the 'heart' of the city. The hotel building is directly adjoing the Spanish Steps and is an easy walk to Trevi Fountain, Pantheon and many restaurants. The cab fare to the Vatican, Colesseum, and Borghese Gallery was between 6 and 8 Euros. I could not envirsion a better overall location

Overall I give this hotel very high marks and enjoyed the help provide by Giuliana and staff at the hotel. Since we were five (2 adults and 3 children - ages 9 to 15) we were faced with the typical travel dilema of how to configure sleeping arrangements where most rooms are set up for a double or two doubles.

The first day we stayed. in two separate rooms on the first floor of the building just down from the reception area. Both rooms were comfortable and sized to European standards (small). One issue was this was our first day of travel and the room directly next to the elevator got a little noisy early in the morning but then again with the time change we were sleeping a bit later than we should.

We moved to the Botticeli apartment for day two and three on the third floor of the Internationale Domus. The room was very comfortable and had a balcony overlooking the Spanish Steps which was very very nice. I would give this hotel a very strong positive reccomendation.

couple of other points:

1) Despite the busy streets outside there is no street noise in the rooms. With the AC on you feel very comfortable and it's easy to sleep.

2) the only noise we heard was internal room to room especially in the Botticelli apartment. The front sitting room with a pull out double bed shares a wall with the next apartment. The people staying next door had two small children. Theywere incredbily loud early in the morning and ran around starting at 8 in the morning. Shouting the whole works. This probably could have been managed if the room was occupied by less rude guests.

3) when you walk into the hotel there is nothing for you on the ground floor. Don't be fooled. take the elevator (very small little dumbwaiter, but very functional) to the first floor.

The hotel was fairly priced but expensive like everything in Rome. If your concerned and think maybe you should go with a safe bet and pay the outrageous charges of the Hotel Hassler up the steps, don't.

This is an excellent place to stay, very charming, great location and nice people working there. I would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2008

The Relais Pierret is the perfect place to stay.

Firstly, the staff were fantastic. Professional, but very approachable and personable.

The location of the hotel doesn't get any better. It is right next to the Spanish Steps. You walk out of the hotel and onto the Piazza di Spagna. It's right around the corner from the subway and surrounded by restuarants, cafes, and the most exclusive shopping strip iin Rome.

The rooms were beautifully clean. The bathroom was spotless with a great shower and water presssure and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The room had an LCD TV, free internet access, double glazed windows and heavy curtains to ensure you didn't wake too early in the morning.

On arrival, the hotel provided a wonderful directory of special/authentic restaurants to try which proved to be invaluable. A couple of places in particular were very very special and very very well priced. They were:

Nino - refer to the directory for the address. and details. The only thing I would add is that you must get the hotel to make a reservation. The food is FANTASTIC and the staff were wonderful.

Sora Margherita - A place you must experience for lunch. It is in the Jewish Ghetto area and the food was fantastic. Don't order off the menu, let the staff arrange the specials of the day for you. Make sure you ask Alex how to get there as it's a little tricky.

This is not a traditional hotel in the sense that they don't have a restaurant and as a consequence don't have breakfast or room service etc. However, who cares!! We never eat in hotels except for breakfast. Get out and experience all of the amazing foods that this WONDERFUL city has to offer.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Bear007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2008

We stayed at the Relais Pierret from May 3-5 and it is the perfect location. Right along the Piazza di Spagna and about 20 steps from the Spanish Steps. Across the square is a shopping haven. You have Via Condotti which has all the designer shops like Gucci, LV etc. The metro is beside Relais and the police and carabinieri are everywhere, making it safe even late at night.

The rooms are beautifully decorated and the bathrooms are spacious. The staff is very helpful and friendly. We decided to fly to Rome a day ahead of schedule and asked them if they could give us an additional night. They were fully booked but Alex was gracious enough to walk around the area just to find another hotel that was available and near the Relais just so I wouldn't have a hard time transferring to their hotel. He even called me through my mobile to arrange everything. Talk about extra service!

This is the only place I'm staying in if and when I go back to Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mitzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2008

Stayed in room with balcony overlooking the square.

Hotel efficient and friendly, and no problems of any kind. Staff happy to assist with local queries.

As others have said, the location is the crowning glory. Access to internet also a help!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bikerprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

We were lookiing for somewhere very special to celebrate my birthday and our anniversary and we found it! A fabulous property in a wonderful location with extremely helpful staff who were happy to attend to our every need. The hotel is exceptional ly clean and well maintained, a fridge with welcome drinks is supplied and also a kettle and TV.
We felt very welcome and at home! You have your own key to come and go as you please but still experience the feeling of being looked after... it is great to open the front door onto a vibrant piazza where everything is at your fingertips...taxis, horse and carriage, the metro and whichever direction you choose to walk in are within easy reach of all of Rome's wonderful sights. The Via Condotti opposite and the adjoining streets and piazzas offer something for everyone...fantastic shops, wonderful restaurants and the living museum which is Roma!

Thank Jayney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2008

We have spent 4 nights in Relais Pierret und are more than satisfied. It is not a proper hotel, cause they have appartments and just a few rooms without breakfast. But who cares, if you are in Rome, directly on the Piazza di Spagna and just around the corner you can find all the cafes and restaurants, shops, and almost all the historic sites are just walking distance. The room was good, bathroom very clean, you have almost everything you need: shoes, bath amenities, hair dryer, water cooker, caffee, tea and a couple of buiscits. Upon arrival you have two small bottles of water for free in a fridge, and that was really nice. The reception staff was very friendly and eager to help.

The only thing, that was really disturbing for us ( I suppose, it depends on in what room you're staying), was the noise INSIDE. We had some neighbours who selected the space directly at our room door as a meeting point, so you could hear everything they were discussing. The other night someone in another room was giving a private party, so I was to stand up at 3 at night to calm the people.

You don't hear anything from outside, though Piazza di Spagna is pretty crowdy and noisy, but the sound proof inside is miserable. That could be the only reason for us, next time to search for another accomodation.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kobri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2008

We arrived in Rome on April 10th and it was raining. We shared a taxi with people we knew and ran into from California who happened to be in Rome to catch a cruise. I had booked the Relais months ahead of time to ensure I got a good room for three people. When I booked, the exchange rate was $1.37 > Euro, but when I arrived, it was $1.56. Regardless, we had a nice room. We had two comfortable twin beds and a good sofa sleeper. Plenty of room and a large modern bath. Our room had a large window that looked towards the Spanish Steps but all we could see was an outdoor patio and a wall that separated the steps from the building, but you could easily see the window from the steps. No complaints.

I slept next to the open window and heard a little noise going on outside but it did not disturb my sleep. My sister is a very light sleeper and she had no problems either.

The Hotel is on the first floor (2nd floor in the States) and there is an elevator to take you up. Our room was directly across from the check in desk but it was never noisy. The desk closes at about 10:00 pm and is re-staffed at about 9:00 am. They provide you with phone numbers - just in case.

There is no breakfast but they will give you a card to go to a much overpriced tea room for breakfast (25E) and recommend other locations in the area. There is a mini refrigerator and they stocked it with three bottles of fruit juice and a basket of teas, coffee and toast- but they do not replenish it. We had to ask for coffee and tea on the third day.

There is also interest access so we were able to check weather reports, train schedules, etc.

The rain stopped at the end of the second day. We had a wonderful time in Rome and enjoyed our stay at the hotel. It was a great location and everyone was happy with the room. I would recommend the hotel to anyone. Staff was very nice and helpful.

I have been to Rome a few times and you really need to pay attention to room descriptions and locations. You can get a room that is less expensive, but if you are use to US type hotels, you may be disappointed. This hotel is much like staying at a brand hotel in the States but on a small scale. The furniture was
in good shape (not 1960's era), the wallpaper did not have any stains (common occurrence in Rome) and the ceiling in the main hall was beautifully painted. I mention this because I have stayed at many locations in Italy paying large hotel prices for a Motel 6 type room. Just keep in mind everything is expensive in a large city and this is no different that New York.

I would stay here again and recommend the location to friends. My only complaint is that I feel they should have re-stocked drinks (bottles and pkgs).

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank IVernazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#69 of 1,269 in Rome
411 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#284 of 1,269 in Rome
281 reviews
Campo Marzio
Internazionale Domus
Internazionale Domus
#184 of 3,721 in Rome
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Crossing Condotti
Crossing Condotti
#36 of 3,721 in Rome
388 reviews
Campo Marzio
Royal Suite Trinita dei Monti
Campo Marzio
Garibaldi Suites
Garibaldi Suites
#477 of 3,721 in Rome
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Pierret Piazza di Spagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Pierret Piazza di Spagna

Address: Piazza di Spagna 20, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 3,721 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £126 - £631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Pierret Piazza di Spagna 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Relais Pierret Piazza di Spagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Pierret Piazza Di Spagna Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing