We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A Testaccio da Max B&B
Ranked #1,408 of 3,782 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My husband and I were on our honeymoon and stayed at the Max B&B. The host, Max, was extremely friendly and helpful. He made our stay all the more comfortable and we wouldn't hesitate to stay again. The room and bathroom were exceptionally clean and breakfast just what we needed. I wish all B&B could be as reliable as this.....definitely 10/10 stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SergePep T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2011

I stayed ten days in November 2011 at this place and was thoroughly satisfied. Room in impeccable condition, everything working, extremely clean and the host very reliable. Matrass was good and the hot water coming immediately. And very important: a macchinetta coffee in the morning... Excellent hub to visit Rome, testaccio is a special place for those who do not want to stay surrounded by World Tourism.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WKOEHNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

This was the first place we stayed in our 6 week trip through Europe... and it was one of the nicest. Max was very personal and made every effort to make sure we were well taken care of. He met us at the door of the B&B, and walked us through our entire stay, and shared his thoughts on best places to see. The breakfast was traditional: sweets, pastries yoghurt, juice and coffee. Max had sandwiches on two of the mornings as well. The location is outside of the main tourist part, but it's perfect if you have a few days. The surrounding area of Testaccio is really cool to explore if you want to get to know the non-touristy Rome. We went for dinner here 3 of the 4 nights, simply because we liked it. The Pyramid and graveyards in the area are although well worth a visit. We caught a cab to the Vatican and were there in 8 mins... but mostly walked and bussed to all the other sites. You can't beat this place for the price! It was difficult to find with just the address, but if we would have taken the google map with us it would have been much easier.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsafryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

My wife and me stayed for 10 days in June 2010 at the Bed & Breakfast „A Testaccio da Max“ and it was the best choice we could do.
The B&B is located near the center of Rome, with a bus stop around the corner (cheap bus connections every 10 minutes all day!) and even within walking distance to Piazza Venezia and all the great monuments (20 minutes to walk).
The pension has three rooms on the 4th floor of a typical and clean Roman house. Room „Giulia“ is the biggest room, with a balcony and view to the street and some old ruins. It is furnished very tasteful, and it has air-condition and new noise-reduction windows like the other rooms, too. Room „Livia“ is next door and smaller, and it has it’s private bathroom outside in the lobby. Room „Massimo“ looks to the quiet courtyard.
Max is a very good host and will help you with every question you might have to ask. His English is good, and every morning you’ll get a really splendid breakfast with Italian coffee, juice and yoghurt (even at your own choice), sandwichs with ham or jam (at your coice), delicious cakes – he changes the menue every day a little.
We did enjoy our stay very much and if you are looking for a fine place to stay near the center of that pitturesque city, this B&B is really one of the best places you can find.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heiko_wippitsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2008

We stayed for three nights in October 2008, booking via a site called venere.com. We paid euros 80 per night including breakfast. About a week before the trip Massimiliano (the proprietor) called me to check if we were still coming and to advise on payment (cash only). He gave good advice on how to reach him. The day before he called again to advise us there was a transport strike, which was nice of him. We stayed in one of the two en suite rooms (the one facing onto the street). It was largish, clean and bright, with a balcony. It had air con, which you'd want in the summer. Breakfast was pastries, coffee and juice in the little kitchen. The B&B itself is in a residential block, but only 100 yards from the centre of Testaccio, which has a number of great pizzerias, restaurants and (less so) bars. We’d previously stayed in Trastevere, but preferred Testaccio much more. Without wanting to be precious about “undiscovered” places, you didn’t hear many foreign voices in the restaurants, and that was quite nice, and when we did spend a night in Trastevere, it seemed like a circus in comparison with its plethora of tourist oriented bars and restaurants. You can jump on a bus 50 yards from the door to B&B Max into central Rome (about 2Km to Piazza Venezia I’d say, so you could walk if you felt energetic). All in all we were very enthusiastic about the location, and the B&B was everything we needed, and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edward_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2008

A Testaccio da Max B&B is a great place to stay in Rome! We stayed for one week in April 2008 - and loved it. Location is great, the atmosphere is typically Roman, and we felt very welcome. The room was nice and clean. There's a lot more charm to this place than to many hotels, and we will definitely stay at this B & B again if/when we come back to Rome!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisbetHebbelstrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2007

We stayed in A Testaccio da Max for ten nights. It is on the fourth floor of an apartment building. Now there are two large rooms in the front and a smaller in the back. We stayed in this room, Massimo, with bathroom inside (excellent shower) and view on an inner court. We had tv and a good working air-conditioning. The place is very clean and quiet. No traffic noise at all!
Owner Massimiliano is very nice and helpful. He speaks a little bit English. He doesn’t live in the apartment, but you can always reach him by SMS. Every morning he comes to make breakfast: fruit juice, good coffee and cake or croissant.
Just around the corner bus 170 takes you to Piazza Venezia in about 8 minutes. It’s 15 minutes walk to metrostation Piramide. Next-door is a little restaurant where you can have a good and cheap meal. No music and only local people.
We can highly recommend this place.
Website: www.domusmax.it

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sofonisba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
7,113 reviews
Abemus in San Pietro
#1,547 of 3,782 in Rome
16 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#221 of 1,271 in Rome
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#67 of 1,271 in Rome
1,484 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#459 of 1,271 in Rome
303 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#100 of 1,271 in Rome
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Testaccio da Max B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Testaccio da Max B&B

Address: Via Orazio Antinori 7, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Testaccio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,408 of 3,782 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £53 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Rome A Testaccio da Max B&B welcomes you in the Testaccio neighborhood, near the underground line B station and the Ostiense railway station. This B&B is the right choice for business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your A Testaccio da Max B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing